We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Friendly Hosts and Quality Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dowans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dowans Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aberlour
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Hosts and Quality Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I'm just home from a lovely Saturday night at this hotel.From the moment we walked in until the time we left the owners and staff were excellent. They were all very friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 15 at the top of the stairs which was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Just watch your head on the low ceiling as you walk down the stairs!!
The hotel is under going some renovation and upgrading but this did not detract from our stay.
The food in the dining room was very good as was the breakfast in the morning.
Would we return to this hotel? A very resounding yes. I hope the new owners make a success of the business and I look forward to returning later in the year to see the upgrades that have been made.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjmacAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurrayFamilyDowans, Owner at Dowans Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we very much hope that we see you later in the year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    34
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
40
68
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberlour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Dowan's as part of a Valentine's package. Very friendly new owners who made us feel very welcome. The room and dinner were excellent and the service was great. Enjoyed a few drams in the well stocked whisky bar. The bottle of bubbly and choclate covered stawberrries in the room were lovely. The hotel will get even better as the new owners have big plans for improvements. We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aberlour11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDowans, Owner at Dowans Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your romantic break with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed for one night and could not have been made to feel more welcome. Our 2 children thoroughly enjoyed their stay, the food was fantastic and they went out of their way to accomodate our childrens requests. We will be booking for another stay as soon as possible but not just for the night.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDowans, Owner at Dowans Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We so enjoyed having you to stay with us, your children were just delightful and we hope that you return for another visit...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stay local & eat out most weekends so had to comment on our latest visit last weekend when we had dinner,i must say this is one of our favourite places to eat in all moray,everything is cooked fresh & well presented .The hotel has not long changed hands & the new owners made us feel very welcome & plan some exciting changes,the atmosphere is so different from other places around,being able to retire to the lounge & sit by the fire after your meal is a treat.If you stay local & havn't already been id highly recommend as this is a wee gem right on our doorstep !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDowans, Owner at Dowans Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your very welcome review....long may you feel this way...we look forward to your next visit...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We checked in on 31st December 2012 for a New Year break. The hotel has been operated by the new owners since 18th December, so this was their 13th Day. The owners comprise of a husband and wife and their two grown up daughters. They were all very pleasant and hospitable.

We decided to eat in the hotel and the menu choice consisted of about three or four dishes for each course. The quality and preparation of the food was very good. We learned later the chef has been there about three years, and I note people have complimented the food in the past.

Being Hogmanay we received a complimentary drink at midnight (mainly malt whisky or champagne). The atmosphere in the bar was very good with everybody very friendly. There is a large selection of malt whiskies. Maybe the hunting and fishing fraternity were missing that evening.

The room was pleasant and the beds very comfortable. The toilet and bathroom (separate) were in need of rejuvenation and the towel rail was not working. So the bathroom was rather cold both in appearance and temperature. However the new owners have only been in place two weeks and will no doubt carry out some renovations.

The bar had a good and welcoming atmosphere but it would have been nice to have had a real fire burning in the lounge. In fact most residents and visitors were in the bar, but might have been encouraged to use the lounge if the fire had been lit.

The hotel has an attractive garden, through which there is a short cut to the village. About a 15 minute walk with a steep hill up on the way back. All in all it was very pleasant, an improvement to the en suite facilities would add the final touch.

Room Tip: View of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinKABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberlour
2.2 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Eastbank Hotel
Eastbank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
12.6 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cardhu Country House
Cardhu Country House
#1 of 8 in Aberlour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dowans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dowans Hotel

Property: Dowans Hotel
Address: Dowans Road, Aberlour AB38 9LS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Aberlour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aberlour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dowans Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high above the picturesque Spey Valley, overlooking the village of Aberlour and the River Spey below, The Dowans Hotel offers a rare opportunity for guests to relax and enjoy the elegance of a fine Highland hotel. Built over 100 years ago, now converted to a first class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dowans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dowans Hotel Aberlour, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing