We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful staff and superb food”
Review of The Mash Tun

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberlour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mash Tun
Ranked #2 of 6 Aberlour B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Took my husband and daughter as a birthday present and we all loved our stay. The owners Karen and Mark an their team couldn't be more helpful or friendly. We stayed in the aberlour suite which was perfect for a small family. If u like whisky this is the place to go and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 256 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were really lucky as the weather in Scotland in mid-June was fantastic. We stayed in the Aberlour suite above the Mash Tun Whisky Bar and really enjoyed it. Sure, it's above a pub/bar and it was a little noisy on Saturday nite but not too bad.

The view from the bathroom over to the Spey River was very special as was the entire village of Aberlour. The staff were all really nice and helpful and the pub grub was as good as it gets.

The Aberlour Distillery tour was worth every penny and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We loved the Aberlour Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiscretePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We came upon this establishment after an 18 mile day walking the Speyside Way. We had heard good things about it, and were not disappointed. Although we had no reservation, we got one of the last two rooms. The rooms are named for different single malts, and we stayed in the Macallan room on the top floor, with a great river view. The room was tasteful and spotless. The service staff, which doubled in the restaurant, was most efficient and courteous. We had dinner here as well, and it was tasty, reasonable, and well prepared. The selection of single malts was one of the best we encountered. Highly recommend. Hint: check out the original charming Walker's shortbread shop, about a block away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolinaTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Found this by using trip advsor it is down by the river lovely quaint whisky pub we got there for 6pm we did not book asked for table for 2 waitress said ok as long as we are finished for 7.30 which was fine we just had the main course and we were brought fresh bread with butter and drinks while we waited for our meal.The food was excellent my wife had gammon and I had half rack of rib.Very reasonably priced atmosphere and service excellent would go again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zidan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here for an impromtu overnight stay in June 2013, stayed in The Aberlour Suite, which was very charming, lovely cosy and comfortable bed, nice bathroom and seperate living area. TV's a bit tiny and old but kind of added to the charm and we weren't there to watch tv anyway! Ate in the bar - could not fault the food or the service. Loved that dogs were made welcome (wish i brought mine - i will next time!). Whisky collection was brilliant and staff were very knowledgable about it.... my bf enjoyed a 1968 Glenfarcus and was very impressed. Beautiful surroundings, definately take a (very!) short walk down to the old suspension bridge. Breakfast choice impressive and delicious, would definately recommend a night here if you are in the area. Thank you to everyone at The Mash Tun for making us so welcome x

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fi_abz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I've been here a number of time and always found the food and service to be very good. It's a great place and even on a Monday night it was busy with a good atmosphere. It would be beneficial if there was more choice on the menu but with food cooked to order maybe better as it is.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archibald70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Eaten here a few times, small pub but perfectly formed. Great atmosphere and staff great. Try the hand cut chips! To die for.
Nothing much more to say other than location, on speyside way so great for walks to and fro' scenery great.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberlour
0.4 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
253 reviews
1.9 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
602 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
299 reviews
20.3 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Cardhu Country House
Cardhu Country House
#1 of 6 in Aberlour
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mash Tun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mash Tun

Address: 8 Broomfield Square | Speyside, Aberlour AB38 9QP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Aberlour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Aberlour
Price Range: $73 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
View of the boat shaped exterior of The Mash Tun ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mash Tun Aberlour, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing