We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't stay but ate in the restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mash Tun

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberlour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mash Tun
Ranked #2 of 8 Aberlour B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Didn't stay but ate in the restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

The menu is very small & a bit pricey. Considering the wonderful local produce available I can't understand the burger & steak type menu?! Never the less we had a lovely burger & tried 2 of the 3 desserts on offer & it was very nice.
The dining/bar area is very small & can get very noisey even with only a few tables full. The outside door leads straight into the dining area & on a cold evening this can be a bit of a nippy place to be seated!
The waitresses were lovely and very attentive & they couldn't be faulted!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank jakemcdiarmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    59
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
105
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Have just been on another great week-end at the Mash Tun. Everything is just as we expected, GREAT. Everyone is so friendly. We have always had such a relaxing time there and we love it. Mark and Karen we cannot praise you and your staff more highly. My husband has special thanks for the Whisky and marmalade !! Look forward to our next stay and to get the dates right. We have never been disappointed as the rooms and food are always a high standard. Some nice shops to browse around and have coffee. Lovely walks by the river, so peaceful and quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms are all great and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HertforDshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

First class all round. Rooms were exceptional value and of a standard normally consistent with more expensive venues. The proprietors were both friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent. Nothing disappointing about the stay

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nooka_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights when visiting the Speyside Whisky Trail. The location is lovely, we stayed in the Glenfarclas room which has views over the river Spey, the room was comfortable towels, bedlinen, toiletries were all good quality, although there was a tiny old TV high up on the wall that just didn't fit in with the general standard of the rest of the room. The Glenfarclas and Glenfiddich rooms are right over the bar so it was quite noisy both the noise coming up from the bar and from people standing outside smoking, no chance of getting any sleep before 1pm, good excuse to stay in the bar till last orders though. All the staff were very pleasant and friendly and really did go out of there way to help. We ate in the bar one evening and the food was good and reasonably priced, breakfast was fine, although I did feel 8-9 o'clock was just a bit early and too short a time slot, maybe not the best selection (no pastries or yoghurt) but everything was fresh and made to order. The bar was alway busy, it's very popular with the locals and we found when we were out and about and people asked us where we were staying they always had a very high regard for the Mash Tun and it's owners. Speyside is a lovely area and the people are extremely welcoming and friendly, Scottish Hospitality at is best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

What can you say about the Mash tun that has not already been said, fantastic room with a beautiful view, this was the glenlivet room, friendly staff, good food and an amazing whisky collection. All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: I can only say the glenlivet room is excellent,you hear no noise from bar and view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in the area then look no further and don't even dream of eating elsewhere.

Husband stayed on a business trip overnight and found the staff all very friendly and welcoming. The pub is classed as a Whisky Bar and is small with the bar doubling up as the reception for the rooms in the Annex. Spotlessly clean with outstanding food and, yes, there is a limited menu but that simply means that the chef is not diluting his efforts.

Situated on the bansk of the River Spey this place must be heaving in the summer and even in the depths of winter every room was full and all nine tables in the bar area were reserved and that was on a freezing cold winter's night so that says it all!

A 2 minute walk to the Aberlour High Street and don't think about getting a breakfast elsewhere either as you will simply not beat it in the Mash Tun.

A good tip? Make sure that you bok a table in advance in the pub for dinner at anytime of the year. Excellent!!

Room Tip: Book well in advance and make sure you reserve that table for dinner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Two friends and I visited the Mash Tun for an overnight stay. The rooms were spotless and well appointed. Very comfortable and warm - outside, in spite of glorious colours, winter is definitely here!
It can be difficult to find a twin and a single room on short trips, so my two friends and I were delighted that we could be accommodated and so comfortably. Our rooms were excellent - The Glenlivet and the MacAllan

The meal was good. Choice was not extensive, but did provide a fish and also a vegetarian option.

I don't like whisky, but one of the party does, so that was fine!

But a key element of this little restaurant with rooms is the helpful and friendly attitude of the staff. Very welcoming indeed.
We enjoyed it - and I am happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberlour
0.4 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.9 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Eastbank Hotel
Eastbank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
12.4 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
4.8 mi away
Cardhu Country House
Cardhu Country House
#1 of 8 in Aberlour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mash Tun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mash Tun

Property: The Mash Tun
Address: 8 Broomfield Square | Speyside, Aberlour AB38 9QP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Aberlour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Aberlour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
View of the boat shaped exterior of The Mash Tun ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mash Tun Aberlour, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing