We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mash Tun
Nearby Hotels
$153
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dowans Hotel(Aberlour)
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eastbank Hotel(Rothes)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel(Elgin)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Norlaggan(Aberlour)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveler rating
177
69
14
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
69
14
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubthe riveraberlour distilleryglenlivet roomtop floorgreat stopthe main streetwhisky trailgreat foodwell worth a visitfirst rateeach morningwaiting staffburgerevening mealbooked a tablesmall place
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 264 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

First class all round. Rooms were exceptional value and of a standard normally consistent with more expensive venues. The proprietors were both friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent. Nothing disappointing about the stay

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nooka_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights when visiting the Speyside Whisky Trail. The location is lovely, we stayed in the Glenfarclas room which has views over the river Spey, the room was comfortable towels, bedlinen, toiletries were all good quality, although there was a tiny old TV high up on the wall that just didn't fit in with the general standard of the rest of the room. The Glenfarclas and Glenfiddich rooms are right over the bar so it was quite noisy both the noise coming up from the bar and from people standing outside smoking, no chance of getting any sleep before 1pm, good excuse to stay in the bar till last orders though. All the staff were very pleasant and friendly and really did go out of there way to help. We ate in the bar one evening and the food was good and reasonably priced, breakfast was fine, although I did feel 8-9 o'clock was just a bit early and too short a time slot, maybe not the best selection (no pastries or yoghurt) but everything was fresh and made to order. The bar was alway busy, it's very popular with the locals and we found when we were out and about and people asked us where we were staying they always had a very high regard for the Mash Tun and it's owners. Speyside is a lovely area and the people are extremely welcoming and friendly, Scottish Hospitality at is best.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

What can you say about the Mash tun that has not already been said, fantastic room with a beautiful view, this was the glenlivet room, friendly staff, good food and an amazing whisky collection. All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: I can only say the glenlivet room is excellent,you hear no noise from bar and view is wonderful.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in the area then look no further and don't even dream of eating elsewhere.

Husband stayed on a business trip overnight and found the staff all very friendly and welcoming. The pub is classed as a Whisky Bar and is small with the bar doubling up as the reception for the rooms in the Annex. Spotlessly clean with outstanding food and, yes, there is a limited menu but that simply means that the chef is not diluting his efforts.

Situated on the bansk of the River Spey this place must be heaving in the summer and even in the depths of winter every room was full and all nine tables in the bar area were reserved and that was on a freezing cold winter's night so that says it all!

A 2 minute walk to the Aberlour High Street and don't think about getting a breakfast elsewhere either as you will simply not beat it in the Mash Tun.

A good tip? Make sure that you bok a table in advance in the pub for dinner at anytime of the year. Excellent!!

Room Tip: Book well in advance and make sure you reserve that table for dinner!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Two friends and I visited the Mash Tun for an overnight stay. The rooms were spotless and well appointed. Very comfortable and warm - outside, in spite of glorious colours, winter is definitely here!
It can be difficult to find a twin and a single room on short trips, so my two friends and I were delighted that we could be accommodated and so comfortably. Our rooms were excellent - The Glenlivet and the MacAllan

The meal was good. Choice was not extensive, but did provide a fish and also a vegetarian option.

I don't like whisky, but one of the party does, so that was fine!

But a key element of this little restaurant with rooms is the helpful and friendly attitude of the staff. Very welcoming indeed.
We enjoyed it - and I am happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews