We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mash Tun
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Aberlour
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Dowans Hotel(Aberlour)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craigellachie Hotel(Craigellachie)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
177
68
14
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
68
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubthe riveraberlour distilleryglenlivet roomtop floorgreat stopthe main streetwhisky trailb bgreat foodwell worth a visitfirst rateeach morningwaiting staffburgerevening mealbooked a table
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 265 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Tucked away of the A95 down by the Spey is a lovely little pub/inn. With local Caingorm ale on the pump (we had a lovely seasonal Autumn Nuts red ale), the pub serves quite good fare. The garlic mushroom soup was wonderful, and the Hot Smoked Salmon salad with new potatoes and black pudding was a delicious combination. The rooms are well done and reasonably priced for such a central "Whisky Trail" location.

Room Tip: The Glenlivet room on the top floor had a nice view of the River Spey, a bath and a proper shower.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PapaGIle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Took friends for a snack @ lunchtime. Got in just before a coach load came in. Service with a smile, staff polite. Food great didn't have to wait long either. Great location by the river so you can go for a walk after your meal. Would definitely go back & take other friends too.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank spgnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Lunchtime on a sunny Sunday and this wee pub was very busy, however, we were greeted immediately by one of the staff and asked if we wanted food, then shown to the one remaining table. Service was prompt - but not rushed - and friendly. Good local real ale (Cairngorm brewery) went down well; as did our choice of the burgers: "real" meat, nicely cooked with chunky chips and a side salad. A real mixed clientele with some stalwart locals at the bar; families; couples; plus a 'whisky tour' group. This makes perfect sense as the pub is in the heart of Aberdeenshire's 'Whisky Country' and carries an amazing collection of Glenfarclas whisky! We're planning a return with an overnight stay to do justice tosome of those whiskies!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank HeyJude75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

A nice tidy little hotel hidden away from the main road, sitting almost on the banks of the River Spey, good spot to stop and explore the local area. Bed was far too hard for my liking and our room Glenfarclas) was quite small, but very well laid out with the space used quite well. We were welcomed warmly and settled in well. The staff are friendly and obliging - the food is excellent both at breakfast and at dinner. A tip, make sure that you book a table for dinner otherwise you could well be dissapointed and hungry as there are very few other options in this small town. Well worth a visit!

Room Tip: There are only five rooms - so booke early!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed in The Mash Tun for one night whilst in the area for a weekend. The Mash Tun is an ideal location for walking along the River Spey, walking to Linn Falls and for visiting the Aberlour distillery.

The room was good, with a lovely view over the River Spey, although the angled ceiling (roof line) did make it feel less spacious than it was.

The breakfast was great and food in the pub was good too, although it does get busy, so booking is advised!

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Overall it was a nice stay and I would return; my wife has booked to return with her siblings later this year for a weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbrooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews