We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming country house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cardhu Country House
Ranked #1 of 6 Aberlour B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The prettiest place we have stayed in Scotland. The house is beautifully restored with tasteful decor. Fresh flowers ever where (from the lovely garden perhaps!) the breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The hosts welcoming and attentive. Can't recommend this place enough and it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julierubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 420 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 and had booked a a particular room via Private House Stays. On arrival we were shown to an attic room with a roof light where the bed position did not allow my husband to sleep on the side he preferrred. When I queried the room allocation i was told that the agency had mixed up the room photos and that the room we had chosen cost much more than the room we had been given. Didn't quite understand the logic of this as our room booking clearly gave the name of the room. Shower room was good.The dinner was good as was the breakfast and the host was helpful and informative. Wouldn't stay there again as we didn't fell that room we had was good value for money.

Room Tip: Make sure the room you book is the room you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mousiechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Owner at Cardhu Country House, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

Reading through this review I thought that I would provide an update since we bought this business in 2014. We have updated the room in question, which now has the benefit of a king-size bed that can be accessed from both sides, which should alleviate your issue. Plumbing remains at least as good as before, as does the quality of the food offering. Perhaps you may consider your accommodation if you visit Speyside again. We would love to meet you and amend your initial impression of Cardhu Country House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Fantastic dinners, fantastic breakfasts, fantastic hosts and fantastic house. Room was very large and Tina and Norman were wonderfully friendly. Fantastic location in Knockando, perfect Speyside setting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CnDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very charming hosts, beautiful rooms in a lovely old house. The rooms are individually decorated and have enSuite bathrooms. The house walking distance to Cardhu Distillery.
The breakfast is fabulous but do not miss the dinners, try the homemade bread!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cordelia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have spent six nights at Cardhu Country House and the title of my review says it all. Since I knew I would arrive late after a long journey, I had agreed for a light salad . I was greeted by Tina and Norman with a wonderful plate including delicious quiche, salmon, vegetables and a glass of wine. That was just the beginning. My spotless room was very fascinating with fireplace and wood flooring and very nice tweed decorations. Fluffy bath towels and even bath robes completed a modern and new bathroom. There is a special atmosphere about this place. For one thing you can tell Tina and Norman, the owners, have a passion for their activity. They make their guest feel at home and take pleasure in an evening chat and a dram. Not to mention that they go out of their way to suggest places to go and even book for you. My son and I had dinner one night and again it was delicious. Doubtless I will go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bassodonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed two nights whilst we visited the whisky trail. Great location, only 10 mins to Aberlour. Very friendly hosts and a nice house. We had dinner the first night which was very nice. Breakfast was also ver good. The room was large with basic necessities but could do with some more hanging space. Our shower wasn't working but we had a nice bath so it didn't matter. I would recommend Cardhu house for anyone visiting the area.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Leon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This wonderful house is run by Norman and his extremely friendly family. The food is to die for ! Even though we had food from the number 2 cook :-) These hosts can't do enough for you.
Thankyou ever so much for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishypro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberlour
4.7 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
253 reviews
6.4 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
602 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
556 reviews
16.5 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Eastbank Hotel
Eastbank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rothes
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardhu Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardhu Country House

Address: Knockando, Aberlour AB38 7RY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Aberlour
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Aberlour
Price Range: $138 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardhu Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive rural retreat in Speyside Whisky Country offering luxury bed and breakfast, self catering and fully catered and serviced accommodation. Cardhu House is at the very heart of the Whisky Trail where more than half of Scotlands malt whisky distilleries are to be found. Situated a mile from the River Spey, famous for its salmon fishing, and the Speyside Way, a long distance walking and cycling route linking the Cairngorms to the Moray Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Cardhu Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardhu Country House Aberlour, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing