We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An atmosphere of a charming bygone age. Good value.”
Review of Raven Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raven Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed for two nights in July and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Brilliant location and a very warm welcome on arrival. Our room on the second floor was spacious with fantastic views. The decor is a little tired in places but this does not detract from the atmosphere of a charming bygone age.
The restaurant was good with a varied menu and again excellent service.
We will be returning again in October for another short break.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

845 - 851 of 1,279 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here for the third time in recent years and was disappointed. Without the dramatic location, it would be just two stars. There were two main differences from a year ago: the room and the restaurant service.
This year we were in a top-floor room which was built into the eaves with a small dormer window. Light was consequently poor. Hanging space for clothes was OK for a short stay only. The ceiling intruded to the extent that I could not stand fully upright in about 20% of the main area. In fairness, I should say that my wife, who is below average height, was untroubled but I found it claustrophobic. Another problem was wind noise, particularly on the first night. True, it was windy, but this was August and I would hate to try to sleep here on a stormy winter's night. My feeling was that the upper rooms should have been at a meaningful discount to those on lower floors which we had previously enjoyed.
As to the restaurant, breakfast was OK with most of the expected items, though short on fresh fruit. As to the dinners, the dishes were good if and when you got them. Slow service on the first night was mitigated by the fact that a wedding was also being catered for and the hotel was clearly full. There was no such excuse the second night when wine ordered at the outset only arrived with the main course and after some prompting. Worse still, my wife's main course had been completely overlooked which came to light only when everyone else's (a party of 6) had already arrived. The offer of her waiting 20 minutes more for what she had ordered, or possibly 10 minutes for an alternative dish, didn't really work for us but I should record that the staff did make an effort to compensate which was appreciated. It seemed to me that the issue was communication/supervision; if there was a head waiter/maitre d', I did not notice him which was in contrast to our previous visit when he was very much in evidence and on the ball.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart Rhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The best thing about Raven's Hall Hotel by far are the views. We stayed in a 'Finnish Lodge' over the August bank holiday weekend with our dog. Everything else was medicore. The Lodge smelled faintly of cheese, the floor was filthy and the bed linen and towels had seen better days. The sound proofing in the Lodges is non-existent and we were kept awake by our upstairs neighbours - not their fault. The food was average. The internet and tv signals went down for 2 days, and we were fobbed off by the hotel staff, who said it was due to a drop in pressure - we did laugh. The hotel staff clearly don't care about service - ker-ching!! We wouldn't go again - it's a shame, as this place could be fantastic. It's expensive for what you get for your money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

On turning up I thought we had got it wrong..they weren't going to let us stay here with our two dogs?! Our 1 night stay was wonderful..a big old country pile,oozing class from a bygone age,a wonderful room with the biggest bed I've ever seen (room 3) great views,lovely grounds & first class food & service..will definatley return (without dogs) and make the most of the amenities ..tennis courts,pool,croquet lawn,sauna etc..& in a great location for visiting the coast.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a great weekend and wedding at the Raven. Location great and staff very helpful. Food at the restaurant outstanding , only fault breakfast needs sorting had to wait for table then ran out of bacon sausage etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed one night bed and breakfast. Room was quite small considering the price we payed but it was really nicely decorated and furnished, the bed was really comfy!
Fantastic views and lovely grounds. Our evening meal was lovely and the breakfast food and service was really good.
The best thing is the views, absolutely breathtaking and so quiet and relaxing. Would defiantly return, even though the hotel is expensive it's worth it for the setting.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank FunkyKat133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We attended a Wedding at this Hotel and felt that the food served at the reception was only average in quality,I think the vegetables served up had no more than 30 seconds in the hot water before being offered.What angered the guests was that after the reception when guests settled down for the evening many of the guests did not want the disco and instead just wanted to chat with fellow guests,however we were ushered out of the lounge area into a dingy room with hard seats to sit on and within noise distance of the disco.but the biggest dissapointment must be for the Bride and Groom is the sea fog that circles this Hotel,so much so that the Wedding Photographs will be ruined.

Room Tip: Do not waste money on a sea view room as you may not see the sea due to the fog that circles this Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hutton25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenscar
9.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,129 reviews
2.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
841 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
776 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,935 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raven Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raven Hall Hotel

Address: Ravenhall Road, Ravenscar, North York Moors National Park YO13 0ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Ravenscar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Price Range: $86 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Raven Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel situated on the clifftop overlooking Robin Hoods Bay with Panoramic award winning views, wt in 100 acres of National Park including free 9 hole golf course, gardens, tennis courts and putting also indoor swimming pool and sauna. The main hotel has 54 en-suite bedrooms including family rooms and suites and there are 8 eco friendly log lodges with some self catering facilities within 150 metres. A perfect Wedding venue and ideal for a leisure break or exploring holidays with close proximity to Sacrborough, Whitby and the North Yorkshire Moors. A unique property in an enviable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Raven Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raven Hall Ravenscar
Hotel Raven Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing