We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Country House”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Raven Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Raven Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Country House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at Raven Hall Hotel and it was wonderful! The rooms look as If they have recently been refurbed however the beds are a little uncomfortable. The hotel it's self is such a beautiful place and the views are stunning!! I would deffinatly recomend upgrading to the sea view for £10 extra per night! I do however feel that the hotel could be improved so much more, just the little things that could be offered and would make such a difference, for example on check in - more information on the area/menus for the restaurant/complimentary newspaper ( a newspaper is offered but charged at face value and we did order one but unfortunately didn't receive it on either of the mornings, luckily it wasn't charged) and possibly a package that could be offered for weekends also with dinner bed and breakfast and a bottle of wine in the room would be a nice touch,

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would consider returning once the full refurb has been finished!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshirerose12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    425
    133
    59
    41
See reviews for
213
699
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay here and simply can not fault it. Every single member of staff was so friendly and helpful;you feel completely spoiled. The food was absolutely amazing. Delicious, and we have never been anywhere where vegetarians are so well catered for. The room was extremely comfortable and we had a very good night's sleep. The bathroom had been recently re-furbished. We would definitely recommend and will come back. Oh, and the views and location are stunning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCarter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We arrived at the hotel in the middle of a snow storm,very dramatic the hotel was a welcome site.
Reception staff very friendly,we were given the key to room 306,we made our way up to the room which was at the top off the hotel,on opening the room we were very disappointed,carpet had stains on it,wallpaper scruffy with bits off wallpaper stuck on in various places.
There was a sofa in the room when you sat on it your bottom touched the floor,the bed was two singles with a zip in the middle ,one half really comfortable the other half terrible,guess who slept on the terrible side.The room needs a total overall,the view amazing but we were gutted about the room.
We had a deal which included dinner, bed,and breakfast,it was a set dinner with a good choice i had chicken which was ok,my partner had the rump steak ,she was astonished when told it was a extra £4.50 or if you want sirloin a extra £8.50, what is all that about,ridiculous.Breakfast had a decent choice but when i seen the size off the breakfast plates i started laughing,no bigger than starter plates,i realise they do this to stop people gorging but even putting a little breakfast on the plate makes the breakfast so unappealing,why not do a set breakfast on a proper size plate it would look so more appealing.
Could have been so much better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wallygator43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed for one night at the end of November. We had a lovely large room (109) overlooking the bay. The room looked like it had been recently refurbished and was very comfortable. We had an excellent dinner in the hotel restaurant which again has lovely views across the bay. Service was first rate both in the restauarant and in the hotel generally. This was the third time we have stayed in this hotel and we are never disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just returned from Raven Hall and although this was our first time it certainly wont be our last .
We had booked a premier double but on arrival we were asked if we would like an upgrade to a lodge FOC ,which we did and it was well worth it ( Thank you ) . The lodges are superbly situated and the views are spectacular , they are fitted with all mod cons and are very private, quiet with a bedroom upstairs. As for the hotel the ambiance lends itself to times past , staff are very attentive ,courteous and service was faultless . The buffet at breakfast was plentiful from cereals etc to a full english with black pudding ( yum ). Dinner was lovely my sirloin was cooked perfectly, although I just wish there was more choice on the menu as after three nights I had got slightly bored . ( but that's just me ) my husband had no such complaint . The surrounding areas are beautiful with visits to Scarborough, York , Whitby ( hats off to Whitby ,it is lovely to see in this day and age a seaside town that retains its charm without endless streams of tack everywhere ). Thanks again to Raven Hall for a wonderful stay we would love to come and visit again and I would have no hesitation in recommending to family and friends.

Room Tip: Go for a lodge , a real home from home .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julianne592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

On arriving at Ravenhall we were greeted by really friendly staff, we were made to feel welcome from the start. we had upgraged to a bay view room as recommended by someone else on tripadviser, we were not dissapointed, the views were amazing,and well worth it. After exploring round the grounds before it went dark we had a quick G&T in the bar to start our holiday off,relaxing by the open fire, heaven. The evening meals we had were excellent on both nights with a wide choice and good wines. The buffet breakfast was also very good with lots of choices for everyone. Our overall experience will certainly make us return in the near future.

Room Tip: upgrade to a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was our third visit to Ravenhall in as many years, the hotel just exudes elegance and character with a good old fashioned level of service that has been sadly lost in many establishments, the staff are unobtrusive and yet with a knowing look will come over and pander to your every needs, we ate in the restaurant and once again the chef worked his magic ensuring that every ingrediant complemented the next.
We stayed in a lodge this year for a change, they're really well appointed, ours had a king size bed, a small kitchen area, large bathroom with a big bath, flat screen T.V. on the wall, large patio doors with your own terrace and of course the breathtaking view of the moors sloping down into the sea, you also have a log burner for the cold winter nights.
Our only hope is that this place remains the same, for as long as it does we shall surely keep returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenscar
9.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
2.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
9.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raven Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raven Hall Hotel

Property: Raven Hall Hotel
Address: Ravenscar, North York Moors National Park YO13 0ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Ravenscar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenscar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Raven Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel situated on the clifftop overlooking Robin Hoods Bay with Panoramic award winning views, wt in 100 acres of National Park including free 9 hole golf course, gardens, tennis courts and putting also indoor swimming pool and sauna. The main hotel has 54 en-suite bedrooms including family rooms and suites and there are 8 eco friendly log lodges with some self catering facilities within 150 metres. A perfect Wedding venue and ideal for a leisure break or exploring holidays with close proximity to Sacrborough, Whitby and the North Yorkshire Moors. A unique property in an enviable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Raven Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raven Hall Ravenscar
Hotel Raven Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing