We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay, a little warm though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Nottingham Derby
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Eaton
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic stay, a little warm though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was booked last minute for a very reasonable price, we had a double room which was spacious and well presented. Staff were friendly and it has easy access to the M1, Nottingham and Derby so plenty to see nearby.

Rooms were a little warm for a Summer night, 25 degrees on the thermostat it said, although the temperature was down low as possible in terms of heating. This did make sleeping a bit difficult but perhaps the hotel can offer fans?

Absolutely no problems with the closeness to the M1, the windows blocked the traffic noise really well so you wouldn't even know you we're next to a major motorway.

All in all a very pleasant stay and will use again and recommend to anyone who needs a place to stay in the area. Thanks Best Western!

Room Tip: The double room was very spacious so need for anything bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and you found the room was accommodating to your needs. In regards to the heating, the temperature on the thermostat shows the actual room temperature not the heating. We do not have the heating on when the weather is warm unless requested by a guest. We do advise the housekeepers to open the windows when the weather is warm.

All rooms do have a fan for guests to use, however the reception team are happy to help.

I am pleased to know that you would recommend our hotel to others and we hope you will be back to stay with us again soon.

Kindest regards,

Lorna Myers
Head Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    263
    136
    51
    13
See reviews for
147
194
31
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
york uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel to visit Derby and some local areas so the location to us was perfect. We were aware of the close proximity to the busy M1 and although road noise could be heard it did not bother us, but if an issue for light sleepers I would suggest earplugs. The room was very nice and had good décor, bedding and towels and was also very clean. the shower was of a good size in a sort of build in unit with toilet in the same room but the sink was within the main room area, good for getting water and doing teeth while the bathroom was in use, but a bit of a drainy smell that you could not close a door on. Good modern flat screen TV and free WI-FI in the rooms, with usual tea and coffee tray were appreciated. For food you go out of the main entrance of the hotel and walk a few steps to a separate restaurant, we had breakfast which was self serve and a good section of hot and cold food and the menu for other food both lunch and evening looked good and fairly priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BessyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne C, Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Guest satisfaction is something which we pride ourselves upon and I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do share guest feedback with all departments and will be sure to pass on your comments to all the Heads of Department during our next meeting.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Leanne Chapman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level Contributor
252 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is located right by the M1 Motorway. There is ample parking and it was an easy to find location. The hotel also looks very modern and well appointed as you walk inside. There is a large comfortable lounge area by the main Reception although breakfast and evening meal service takes place in the restaurant next door.

Check in was fast and efficient but little adherence to the Best Western Rewards Club since they didn't even want to see the card which means no dining discount, no welcome pack and no free newspaper etc. I think the card system is fast falling into a joke in any event so perhaps this may be why it is just not even recognised at an increasing number of locations.

The room was very good but no air conditioning which is unusual in a hotel of this standard. However, the weather was not too hot and the room was airy and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was of a good standard and everything you need for a comfortable stay is provided.

As a good comfortable place to stay I would have no problem recommending this hotel for a one or two night stop over. It's saving grace is the restaurant right next door which makes up for everything that might be lacking in the hotel. The staff there were very friendly and welcoming and seemed to be permanently smiling all the time.

The wi-fi service at the hotel is free and it worked well. This is quite important if you are on a business trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAVAKLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

On check in i am pleased to read that you received a quick and efficient service, in regards to the rewards card i will speak to the reception team to ensure they ask all guests on check in as this is part of our standards of service. I apologise for you not receiving this.

The rooms in the hotel do not come with air conditioning however a fan is provided in each room for guests to use.

I will pass your great feedback on to the restaurant in regards to the service you received as they use all feedback productively.

I am pleased to read that you would recommend us to others and we hope you will be back to stay with us again soon.

Kindest regards,

Lorna Myers
Head Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed here at the end of July with my husband and two very small children.

Admittedly the rooms were a little warm, but we were experiencing a spell of hot weather so this was to be expected. The fan in the room helped. Before staying we were a little concerned about the road noise, but it wasn't a problem for us, even with the windows open.

The lady at reception was extremely friendly and helpful. She even offered to help us carry our bags up to the room given we had to carry our small children too.

The rooms were very big and clean. We stayed in a family room which was very spacious. Yes the sink was in the room, but we didn't see this as a problem.

Breakfast was good value also. A buffet style hot selection, fruit and cereal.

We often drive up and down the country to events. This hotel is just over 2hrs from home so is perfect if we want to break the journey. So much so, my husband has stayed again at the hotel this week, and we will be staying again.

A good value hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butler32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your recent stay.

I am pleased to read that the hotel exceeded your expectations. The staff are happy to help and will accommodate to all guests needs, it is great to read that you received great service from both the hotel and breakfast. I will pass your comments on to all the relevant departments.

All rooms facing the motorway side are triple glazed to prevent any noise from the motorway, I am pleased to know that you encountered no disturbances.

It is great to know that you have stayed again since your last visit and we hope you will be back again soon.

You can call the hotel directly on 0115 9460000 to make any future bookings.

Kindest regards,

Lorna Myers
Head Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here as we were away for the weekend and needed a hotel near derby so booked it last minute and I'm so glad we picked here!
On arrival you would worry about the motorway noise but from the room we were in you couldnt hear a thing, james checked us in and was very helpful and even managed to sort our room issue of i managed to book a twin instead of a double but he happily swapped it and there was no fuss made of it.
They had also made sure there was a fan in our room which was a god send as it was warm but both windows were open anyway. The room was huge spacious and clean and the bathroom was the same, i would stay again due to the service and standard of the room I have even become a member of great best western as this hotel has given me hope others of the chain will be just as good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy0C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your recent stay.

I am pleased to read that the service you received was great and that James our receptionist was very helpful during your stay with us, I will pass on your great feedback as we use all feedback productively.

We like to ensure all guests have a great stay with us and that the quality of service is high.

When you are next in the area we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. You can call us directly on 0115 9460000.


Kindest regards,

Lorna Myers
Head Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross-on-wye
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

- Right by M1 motorway but room was hitting 28 degrees (according to its own thermometer) and there was no air-conditioning, hence the windows had to be opened and there was a lot of noise from traffic when they were

- Bath room looking a bit tired and in need of refurbishment

BEWARE: Don’t follow path round the back (motorway side) of the hotel to reception as it ends you up in the road to the hotel car park where the cars like to drive. Follow the path down the front of the hotel which ends in a security gate but is traffic free

Why I have lowered the rating for this hotel is that reception told me that:
- Path round the back was there and I should follow it. They had obviously not tried this for themselves
- I didn't have breakfast paid by my business. The people serving breakfast said I did.
Breakfast was actually very good and served by lovely friendly people. Recommend this part of the trip.

Room Tip: Try to aviod rooms opposite M1 motorway when it is hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrwold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving us feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed to read that the hotel did not live up to your expectations. All rooms facing the motorway side are triple glazed in order to prevent any noise from the motorway, alternatively we do have rooms facing the non motorway side which are quieter. I apologise for any disturbance you encountered.

The thermometer in the bedroom displays the actual temperature of the room and not the heating, with the weather being so warm the heating is turned off unless requested by a guest. A fan is placed in each room for guests to use if needed.

In regards to bathroom i will pass your feedback on to our maintenance team. The entrance to the hotel is at the front of the hotel. We do have a gate at the side of the hotel that can also be used by guests to get to and from the car park. I will pass your comments on to management as this may be something we change in the future.

I am pleased to read that you received great service at breakfast and that the food was satisfactory.

We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Lorna Myers
Head Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

On first glance the hotel is just like another branded chain of hotels initials P.I. Reception is nice and there's a nice little lounge area. The room we were given was a family room for three adults sharing. The bathroom looked a bit like it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose3284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that the staff were very helpful during your stay and the appearance of reception and lounge area were great.

We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Lorna Myers
Head Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Eaton
0.1 mi away
Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1
2.5 mi away
Village Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Donington A50
Days Inn Donington A50
#1 of 1 in Shardlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Nottingham Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Nottingham Derby

Property: Best Western Nottingham Derby
Address: Bostock Lane, Long Eaton NG10 5NL, England (Formerly Java Hotel Nottingham / Derby)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Long Eaton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Eaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Nottingham Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at Junction 25 of the M1 and only 10 minutes from Nottingham, Derby and East Midlands Airport, the Java Hotel offers everything you need for a comfortable, yet affordable, night’s stay. 101 modern, comfortable bedrooms, 2 conference/meeting rooms. Ample free parking for hotel guests (150 spaces), FREE wireless internet (Wi-Fi) throughout the ENTIRE hotel. 24 hour reception. Delicious buffet breakfast, including cooked English – 7.00am – 9.30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Nottingham Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nottingham Derby Hotel Long Eaton
Best Western Nottingham Derby Long Eaton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing