We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, if a little noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Nottingham Derby
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Long Eaton
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Checked into the BW at gone 11pm, I had no problems, and thankfully they had not overbooked leaving me with nowhere to stay!
The room was very modern, large and clean. Big bed, sofa and chair and big TV. The Shower was great, lots of hot water.
My only complaint was that the road noise was constant. By 5.30am I had given up trying to sleep, and by 7am I felt like I was actually sitting on the M1. You would have thought that I had a room facing the M1, no it was actually facing the resturant!
Would I stay here again, well the rooms were good, but no the hotel was far too noisy, and lacked any cosiness. I would class it as a slightly nicer Premier Inn. I would say it was perfect for a work stopover, but there are plenty of other nicer alternative locally for a holiday stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Well_travelled35_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJohal, Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I'm pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us.

I notice your comments regarding the noise you experienced whilst here. The hotel has some rooms which face completely away from the motorway, if these would be your preference please do let me know and I can arrange for you to be allocated to one of these rooms should you stay with us in the future.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0115 9460000.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Leanne Chapman
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 670 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

This hotel is what you expect it to be - ideal for a quick stopover! The rooms are fine and thankfully a new restaurant has opened so dinner was great! Breakfast, however, was a bit of a shambles, the coffee machine wasn't working, the juices seemed watered down and the waitress seemed very hassled when we asked for hot drinks and cooked breakfast, which was fine when it arrived. But the hotel was great for what we needed and would stay again if I needed a stopover in the Nottingham area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IHearttNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJohal, Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

I apologise for your experience with breakfast, please be assured that your comments will be passed onto the Restaurant Manager to be looked into.

Should you need any further information on the hotel in the future please do contact me on 0115 9460000.

Thank you for your feedback.

Yours Sincerely

Leanne Chapman

Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

staff in this hotel could not be more helpful or friendlier they go out of there way to make your stay a very pleasant experiance,food in the restaurant is very good and keenly priced not to be missed, not worth the bother going anywhere else to eat.

Room Tip: all rooms seem o.k. as we had 3 on different sides with no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertM251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJohal, Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

I'm delighted to read your comments regarding the members of our team who were working during your stay, please be assured that I will pass on your comments to each department.

Should you need any further information on the hotel in the future please do contact me on 0115 9460000.

Thank you for your feedback.

Yours Sincerely

Leanne Chapman

Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Overnight stay following function. Very modern and comfortable, with efficient & polite reception.
Had the opportunity to eat the newly refurbished adjoining restaurant - The Grill.
Food was very good with good menu choice and price and wide choice of drinks at the bar. Very tastefully refurbished and would appeal to local residents as well as hotel guests.
As we had to leave early the following unable to comment on breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJohal, Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

I am pleased to read your comments regarding our new restaurant the Grill at Twenty Five, I will be sure to share your comments with them.

Should you need any further information on the hotel in the future please do contact me on 0115 9460000.

Thank you for your feedback.

Yours Sincerely

Leanne Chapman

Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Everything the title says and the food is lovely there too!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJohal, Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank your for taking the time to review our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I'm pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the experience in our restaurant the Grill at Twenty Five. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0115 9460000.

Kind Regards

Leanne Chapman
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I was worried about the noise of the motorway - right next to the southbound M1 but no need- rooms were very quiet. Tea/Coffee in room. Fast/reliable/good signal on wifi. Free of charge.
Room was clean. Big bed (i booked a double), cute wc/shower room, plenty of hot water and not the regimented ONE TOWEL only rule either. The windows open for fresh air, iron, ironing board.

TV works.

Receptionist super helpful - no issues with check-in, directions, etc.

Only 10 mins from East Midlands Airport - no aircraft noise that I could hear ....

Good storage space, work desk, plenty of light, very clean and well thought out. Modern decor and in quite good condition too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rugbysw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJohal, Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I'm pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0115 9460000.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Leanne Chapman
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with several family and friends as we were going to a party in nearby Beeston on the Saturday night.

We received a warm welcome at Reception.

I was initially disappointed because I had expected our Executive room to have a bath, something I rate highly.when away from home. Instead it had a large walk-in shower, with seating. I would have asked to upgrade to a room with a bath, but while at reception I overheard the receptionist telling another guest that the hotel was full.

Our room was large, on the 3rd floor and with a large seating area with settee and 2 armchairs. Our bed was very comfy and I was delighted to have feather pillows! There was plenty of storage space, 2 separate hanging areas, room for cases, iron and ironing board, hairdrier, full length mirror, good free Wi-Fi and last but no means least - adequate lighting. I usually find with modern hotels that the lack of central lighting lets the room down.

Although next to the motorway, I didn't really notice the noise at all and slept really well (unusual for me) on both nights. My husband, however, found the constant traffic hum very disturbing and didn't sleep well either night.

My only small gripe about the room is the strange arrangement wherby the basin isn't in the bathroom, but outside in the room itself. The lighting for the basin area comes on when you switch the bathroom light on. This means that if you need the loo in the night, you are bound to disturb your partner as the light comes on in the room. Also, the lightswitch is oddly a fair distance away by the main door. As I said, just a small gripe, but rather irritating.

I'm giving this a 5 star rating for the hotel room and staff. However, the eating area sadly lets the place down. I am surprised to read in other reviews that this has only recently opened, because the state of the table that 6 of us dined at suggested that it was due for replacement. We sat at a large round table that had a mind of its own! Not only was it wonky and unstable but the actual table top was rotating! I suggested we held a seance! The food choices were limited and uninspiring and both my husband and I hated our food. We both had stomach upsets the next day.

Breakfast was no better. I couldn't eat my "cooked" breakfast. The tomatoes were almost raw, there was no bacon and the scrambled egg was very watery. The coffe was OK. Breakfast on the second day was no better. I opted for toast and fresh fruit. I was reprimanded by a young waitress for putting my bread through the toaster twice; she said I could have set fire to the toaster. I tried to make a lighthearted joke, but she was too disgruntled with to me to smile.

I didn't enjoy the fresh pineapple. Although it looked OK, it tasted awful, and again I had an upset tummy for 48 hours after booking out. (Obviously I can't be certain that it was the pineapple that was responsible)

The reception staff deserve a mention because I constantly witnessed how pleasant they were, even when handling a dissatisfied customer. There was one female in particular, but I'm afraid I don't recall her name. (I think maybe it was Lianne)

All in all, a very good, pleasant stay. Apart from the food, I would happily recommend this place and would readily stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KillerQueen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJohal, Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

I am delighted to read your comments regarding the hotel and we do share these with the team here. As you mention the Grill at Twenty Five is newly refurbished and I apologise that you did not have the experience intended. I will pass on your comments to the Restaurant Manager to be looked into.

Should you need any further information on the hotel in the future please do contact me on 0115 9460000.

Thank you for your feedback.

Yours Sincerely

Leanne Chapman

Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Eaton
0.1 mi away
Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1
2.5 mi away
Village Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
1,560 reviews
0.9 mi away
Risley Hall Hotel
Risley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Risley
355 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Trowell M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Nottingham Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Nottingham Derby

Address: Bostock Lane, Long Eaton NG10 5NL, England (Formerly Java Hotel Nottingham / Derby)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Long Eaton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Long Eaton
Price Range: $50 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Nottingham Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at Junction 25 of the M1 and only 10 minutes from Nottingham, Derby and East Midlands Airport, the Java Hotel offers everything you need for a comfortable, yet affordable, night’s stay. 101 modern, comfortable bedrooms, 2 conference/meeting rooms. Ample free parking for hotel guests (150 spaces), FREE wireless internet (Wi-Fi) throughout the ENTIRE hotel. 24 hour reception. Delicious buffet breakfast, including cooked English – 7.00am – 9.30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Nottingham Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nottingham Derby Hotel Long Eaton
Best Western Nottingham Derby Long Eaton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing