We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Nottingham Derby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Nottingham Derby
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Eaton
Wiltshire UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Just needed a hotel near the motorway and near Nottingham for a night and this fitted the bill. We were worried that it might be noisy being right next to the motorway but didn't find the noise a problem (our room was at the other side to the motorway though). Had a pleasant evening drink in the bar next to the hotel. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was all buffet with the usual choices - cooked food plus toast/cereal etc. Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B0nB0nJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJohal, General Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0115 9460000.


Yours sincerely,

Leanne Chapman
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    260
    136
    51
    12
See reviews for
146
192
31
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night in March having booked on price and the promise of free wifi. I arrived mid evening and received cheerfully by Helen on the desk. My room on the first floor was spacious clean and tastefully decorated. The bathroom looked felt like a plastic pod (along the lines of a steam room) containing a quite large shower and a toilet. The wash basin is in the room which I didn’t find to be a problem. The only annoying thing was the fan in the bathroom was noisy (even with the door shut) and took quite a long time to turn off. The bed was a little hard but I managed 6 hours sleep so I had no complaints. The wifi was easy to connect to and much relatively fast. Dinner was in the grill next door which I will rate separately.
Overall I was pleasantly surprised and the rooms were much better than that of a well know budget chain I have been staying in recently

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cltboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJohal, Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

Should you need any further information on the hotel in the future please do contact me on 0115 9460000.

Thank you for your feedback.

Yours Sincerely

Leanne Chapman

Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

It was a shame that we had not been notified at the time of booking that the new bar/restuarant would not be open. We were therefore at the hotel with a limited menu ( which we were not inspired to eat at) with waitresses who had to go over to the new bar to get drinks, which taseted dusty. Therefore we were forced to go somewhere else to find an atmosphere and something to eat and drink.
However I must add the room we stayed in was lovely.
Breakfast was interesting, we were checked in by someone who claimed "I should not be working" and was not in uniform. It was OK.
Moan aside our room (which was an executive one was fantastic)
The bath was deep enough for a swim and the shower was lovely. It was great that there was a seating area and I loved the fact that there were bottles of water. That ups the anti a bit!
Although we only had one packet of biscuits in the room.
Would definitely return to give the dining another chance.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterfly34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJohal, General Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I'm pleased to read your comments about the hotel and am glad you had an enjoyable stay and liked the room.

I apologise that you were not informed of the restaurant being closed and us operating a more limited menu. We are now fully open and would be delighted to welcome you back to see the improvements.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0115 9460000.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

Leanne Chapman
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Can't believe the high ratings. We booked a 'Deluxe' room but had to decline. Smelly from old smoke and noisy from the motorway. Very, very bad. So we moved to a regular room which on first impression looks ok. Less smell and away from the motorway, but still very noisy. The bed however is an insult. It is completely worn and the springs make noises just sitting down. Once you lay down every spring can be felt. A desaster. Every one of the premier inns we have been to was better. Would never return to this hotel! Be good to yourself and stay away!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank -_--_---_--_-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJohal, Front Office Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We practise courtesy calls to guest’s shortly after check in to check the suitability of the room, and also check with guests on check out as to how their stay was. I wasn’t made aware of any issues of this nature. As you state, as a rule our feedback is excellent and we take pride in our high standards, I sincerely apologise that in your case these standards were not met.

Should you wish to discuss this in more detail with me please do contact me at the hotel on +44115 9460000.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Chapman
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

I stayed whilst working in the area for 4 nights the hotel is under new management and they have spent a lot of money updating the hotel but the staff are In many cases the same,they are very helpful and go out of their way to look after you. The hotel is quiet but very convenient to the M1 and Derby and Nottingham there is a new restaurant owned by the hotel opposite although not open during our stay it will be open in February it looks very luxurious and modern will try it on our next stay

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barry n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJohal, Front Office Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests.

I am delighted to read your comments regarding the service you experienced, I will be sure to pass them on to the team here who will be equally pleased. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

If I can be of further assistance please do contact me on 0115 9460000.

Yours Sincerely

Leanne Chapman
Assistant Manager

BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
199 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

Stayed here for two nightsa large De-luxe room on the third floor. The room was superb, warm, comfortable and very stylish, having recently been refurbished. Large flat screen TV and blue ray disc player, comfortable sofa and chairs, loads of desk space, king size bed and a great range of tea, coffee, water etc. The lighing in the room was excellent. The bathroom was amazing. Large two person bath with separate power shower cubicle. Everything was spottlessly clean and one of the nicest rooms that I have stayed in. Staff were friendly and helpful. Although close to major roads and the M1 motorway the noise levels were in no way obtrusive. The hotel only provide a limited range of food between 6pm and 10pm and an order at the table bar service. I did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the qualityof the food. Drinks were reasonably priced and breakfast at £7.95 was also reasonable. I will certainly stay here again. The hotel is very well located midway between Derby and Nottingham and right by the M1. My only negative comment is that on departure I was not asked if my stay had been a good one.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoogieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJohal, Front Office Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

Our Deluxe rooms are new rooms created during our refurbishment in 2011, so it's great to hear your comments. I'm pleased to read that the team were friendly and helpful during your time with us and they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0115 9460000.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

Leanne Chapman
Assistant Manager

BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Tried this hotel for the first time last night and was very impressed. Whilst being close to the motorway there is almost no noise in the room and I had one looking onto the motorway. The hotel is very modern and I believe just refurbished. The rooms are neat and tidy and free wifi is a great addition as I am a business traveller. Room I had only has a shower, no bath, but that wasn't an issue for me.

I ate in the restaurant with a colleague, the manager said they had just opened the new refurbished area, and some of the bits were still to be finalised, but you couldnt see where these were. The food was lovely, we had the 3 courses for £20 deal, a bit of a bargain.

Every person I met was friendly and helpful, and I got straight back onto the motorway, for my next journey.

Just note there is no lift to the upstairs rooms so anyone with difficultly on stairs would want a ground floor room.
Scrambled eggs at breakfast were delicious also.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJohal, Front Office Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

I'm pleased to read your comments about the hotel and am glad you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0115 9460000.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

Leanne Chapman
Assistant Manager

BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Eaton
0.1 mi away
Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1
2.5 mi away
Village Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#7 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.9 mi away
Risley Hall Hotel
Risley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Risley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Donington A50
Days Inn Donington A50
#1 of 1 in Shardlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Nottingham Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Nottingham Derby

Property: Best Western Nottingham Derby
Address: Bostock Lane, Long Eaton NG10 5NL, England (Formerly Java Hotel Nottingham / Derby)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Long Eaton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Eaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Nottingham Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at Junction 25 of the M1 and only 10 minutes from Nottingham, Derby and East Midlands Airport, the Java Hotel offers everything you need for a comfortable, yet affordable, night’s stay. 101 modern, comfortable bedrooms, 2 conference/meeting rooms. Ample free parking for hotel guests (150 spaces), FREE wireless internet (Wi-Fi) throughout the ENTIRE hotel. 24 hour reception. Delicious buffet breakfast, including cooked English – 7.00am – 9.30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Nottingham Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nottingham Derby Hotel Long Eaton
Best Western Nottingham Derby Long Eaton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing