We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facelift required urgently!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Eaton
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Shame about this hotel really. It is in a great position, plenty of car parking and a decent local pub round the corner. As soon as you pull into the car park you realise that this is a hotel that needs updating. The window curtains/netting is out of date. Check in was easy and pretty quick (it was 10pm). The room was spacious but very dated. Comfy bed and a settee, tea & coffee etc but again the kettle and cups looked like something from the 80's. Better than the ironing board that had more holes in the cover than a sieve! The bathroom was clean but very very dated. The shower was very powerful and warm. Great choice of breakfast and friendly service which I would say is the best part of the hotel. A disappoint for a Novotel and wouldn't recommend a family to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Steve W,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We have noted your constructive criticism which is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.

I am glad to read that you experienced our high levels of hospitality and breakfast offering.

We hope that you will consider using us again when next visiting the area.

Kind regards

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

The hotel bedrooms are very dated but they have tried their best to make the hotel decent within it's dated shell. The rooms are as clean as they can be with the old decor and they have been updated at some point to new beds and new tables. Unfortunately the rooms have that rather awful artexing on the walls which will make it difficult to modernise the shell and make it look good without some serious and expensive work. This Novotel is like a rather dated 1970's/1980's roadside motel. The doors as well are dated using a key system rather than a card system and you get the feeling that the handles and key locks are not exactly safe. The shower over bath was functional and clean and the toilet was seperate to the shower and wash basin. All that would have been more forgiveable though if it was possible to have a good nights sleep. What I would say about your nights sleep, is it's an ideal hotel to stay in when it's cold, because you will stay as warm as possible with two sets of windows. However it was hot when we visited and it was extremely difficult to sleep. The heat was immense. We had to open the windows because the heat was just unbearable and gave us a headache. However when opening the window there was loud traffic noise all night. It's kind of understandable considering we were next to a motorway in a roadside motel, however the fact that we didn't get much sleep in a place where the purpose was sleeping comfortably meant that we probably wouldn't stay here again. The only things that made it a really bearable stay is that the stay were friendly and good, there was breakfast available, the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Simon Y,

Thank you for posting such a detailed and comprehensive review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay.
We have noted your constructive comments which is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.
It is great to know that you awarded us 5 stars for both service & cleanliness and 4 stars for value.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting the area.

Kind regards

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

The hotel looks as though it was built mid 70s, and not much appears to have changed since then apart from installing free WiFi.

A visit to this hotel really is like stepping back in time, with the tied decor and unloved furniture and fixings. On the plus side the staff were friendly and the building and rooms were tidy if a little neglected in places.

The bathroom only just scraped as acceptable in my opinion, the amount of wear and tear in the sink made it look very dirty although I would imagine it had been cleaned before our stay. There was black mould along the seal on the bath, and I personally avoided using the bath mat and favoured the risk of breaking my neck over the risk of contracting a verruca.

Food was expensive but looked nice enough. The bar was a bit lively but couldn't be heard from our room. The beds were comfortable. Ironing board and iron in room. Room was a good size.

We paid £30 for one night in a triple room, would return for same price but not any more.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Sclv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear SCLV,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We have noted your constructive comments in terms about our product and we expect to undertake a major refurbishment in the not too distant future.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the service levels from our team and I know that they will take a great deal of encouragement and inspiration from this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you are next visiting the area.

Kind regards

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

A group of colleagues stayed here ahead of a business meeting. Booked based on photos on website the reality was very different. Very dated. Wood chip paper on walls. Very old beds and once white bedding. Carpets badly stained. Food very average.
However service was well organised and very friendly. Meeting room was not great with badly stained carpets.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLB288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear SLB228,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We have noted your constructive criticism pertaining to your stay and your feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence.

I am glad to report that we have just had the carpets in our meeting rooms commercially shampooed.

It is great to read that you found our hospitality levels of a high standard and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you are next visiting the area.

Kind regards

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on a bed and breakfast basis; breakfast was a mixture of continental English. There was great choice – frit juices, tea/coffee, pastries, fruit, cereals, cooked meats, cheese, bread rolls etc; cooked ie hash browns, tomatoes, beans, bacon, sausage etc. It is ideal for us as its just a few minutes from the motorway to get back home. On the first morning my hubby was doing a sport event and needed to leave the hotel before breakfast. However the receptionist offered us a breakfast packet to take away which consisted of a couple of yogurt drinks, fruit and pastries. Dinners: good choices. I am quite fussy and don’t each much meat and fish but there was a number of meals I could still have.

Staff were friendly, polite, and just couldn’t do enough for you.

Rooms were clean and room service daily.

The room had tea and coffee making facilities, TV, Hairdryer, iron and ironing board as well as shampoo/conditioner and soap in bathroom.

There is a barrier in/out of the car park for which you need a code to get out; however the code is written on paper on the reception desk which you can take away with you. the hotel was ideally situated for us - just a few minutes from the motorway.

If I had to say anything negatively about the hotel then it is only that I found the room very warm, even with the windows wide open. However, this was our second stay to the hotel and wouldn’t hesitate to stay again. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: we had room 250 which was quiet although hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolphin028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Dolphin 028,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post such a beautiful review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and felt it appropriate to award us 5 stars. It is also great to read that you would recommend our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Helpful & friendly staff. Room had stained carpet and room needed redecor
ting. Bed was old and uncomfortable. Breakfast was really good but dinner not so good. Food dry and tasteless. If we hadn’t been jetlagged from 24 hour flights am sure we wouldnt have been comfortable.




  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelNottingham, Front Office Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to see that on this occasion, your expectations were not met, please accept my apologies. I do hope we can welome you back to the hotel in the near future to experience a hastle free stay. Kind regards, Ryan Topper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed for one night at this hotel for a wedding and the only reason we chose it was for its location - which proved to be ideal. We didn't go in with high expectations - but actually this was a very nice stay. The check-in staff were very helpful, there was ample parking. The room was large and clean - if a little dated - and the breakfast was very good. For what it cost - this was definitely value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brit-abroad-in-Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelNottingham, Front Office Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Many thanks for your kind review. I'm pleased to see you had an enjoyable experience, and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Ryan Topper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Eaton
0.1 mi away
Best Western Nottingham Derby
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Risley Hall Hotel
Risley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Risley
386 reviews
5.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
4.4 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby

Address: Bostock Lane | M1 Junction 25, Long Eaton NG10 4EP, England (Formerly Hotel Novotel Nottingham East Midlands)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Long Eaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Eaton
Price Range: $58 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Nottingham East Midlands is currently a AA 3 star rated hotel 8 miles from Nottingham, Derby and East Midlands Airport. Ideal for a weekend or short break exploring the Peak District, Derbyshire Dales, Alton Towers, Sherwood Forest, Donington Park and the Royal Crown Derby porcelain factory. For conference guests, we offer 11 meeting rooms for up to 220 people. Enjoy room service or a meal in our Elements restaurant. The hotel also features free onsite parking for hotel residents. Please note the outdoor swimming pool is currently closed. The hotel will be having a multi million pound refurbishment of all bedrooms/bathrooms & corridors to commence from May 2015. Once complete the final product will be of a modern 4 star standard hotel and include free high speed wifi and individually controlled air conditioning plus eco power showers in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Nottingham
Nottingham Novotel
Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby Long Eaton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing