We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Eaton
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for about 5 days. It was generally good (clean, etc.). Staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. The only issue I had with the room was that you have to pay for television/internet access (unless you only want basic cable). I found this quite odd for a large chain hotel. Overall a good experience, however. The food was pricey, but that is to be expected in the U.K.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Nina55555,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am also pleased to inform you that we now have free internet available in all the hotel bedrooms.

Hope you had a safe trip back and we hope we can welcome you back again next time you visit the UK.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

626 - 632 of 979 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

My sister and I had a great weekend in the Midlands, meeting up with friends at Alton Towers and then for dinner at Restaurant Sat Bains in Nottingham

We were on the hunt for somewhere reasonably priced to lay our heads for the night around Nottingham. Expedia threw up this Novotel with a great rate for B&B and its location just off the M1 junction 25 made it ideal for accessing both our theme park and restaurant

I'll get the negative out of the way first. The building is a bit dated though the staff do work hard at keeping it clean. The whole place could do with some updating and lick of paint. If I had paid the rack rate I saw on checking in, I'd have been disappointed but the Expedia price point was fair

Happily, I can report on a yummy buffet breakfast. The staff worked very hard to keep everything stocked up and guests supplied with coffee and tea. There was a good choice of hot food - all components of an English breakfast were available together with a small selection of continental style cheese and ham. The cold counter had fresh fruit salad, cereals, yoghurts and pastries and I appreciated having a range of fruit juices available. Sadly, the friendly staff were once again let down by the infrastructure - the old bread toaster acted more like a bread warmer

When my friends and I braved the outdoor pool (it was totally freezing in the British mid summer), the real gems of this hotel came to light - the staff, especially the female waitstaff from the restaurant, who were super friendly, chatty and made us feel at home

To the management of Novotel, the staff in your hotel is top class. They have elevated what would have been a 3 star rating to a 4 star review. Please back them up by giving them surroundings to match their 5 star service!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Yeegan,

I am pleased to see that the team at the Novotel Nottingham East Midlands impressed you with their service. This is something we aim to do and your feedback will only encourage us to do better. Sorry the pool was not warm enough for you. It is heated but the outside temperature does play a part too sometimes. I note your comments about the toaster, I assure you that this does work perfectly and I have asked the team to keep a more regular eye on the temperature settings, as people can change these to their own preference.

Finally, I would like to also assure you that we do have a published, rack rate, however the rates on the day (like most hotels) is dynamic, and you will always find the best rates by calling the hotel or going on the Novotel website.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we do look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

A nice comfortable hotel , books last minute so got a great deal.

Rooms were a little dated but very clean and a very comfy bed.
Bar area was very nice and bright with friendly staff.
Reception staff were very welcoming.

Outdoor pool was closed due to weather.

Breakfast was lovely and plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanandDebbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear AlanandDebbie O,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Nice to see you found the staff welcoming and friendly. The pool is now open till September and we hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Clean large room, very comfy bed, nice to see a bath, very pleasant staff, all fine and functional as one would expect from a Novotel..
Well located for M1, Nottingham and surrounding areas.
Reasonable value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McCeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear McCeeBee,

Appreciate you comments regarding your recent stay. I'm glad to see that it was convenient and we hope to welcome you back next time you are on business in the area.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Spalding, United Kingdom
22
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Staff were very friendly and made to feel welcome. Rooms a little dated, TV picture poor but bed very comfortable. Excellent breakfast offering.

Overall, excellent staff, beds and breakfast but hotel needs a makeover.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Pleased you enjoyed your sleep and had a good breakfast in the morning. We are planning on updating the TV system very shortly. Thank you very much for your review, the team is delighted you enjoyed our service and we hope to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The water was running black. Could not shower and stomach upset just from brushing my teeth. Sure this must be a temp problem. Staff lovely.rooms clean. Staff welcoming. Bar area small but modern . Children seemed to enjoy the pool. No time for us to use. Quite a lot of noise from smokers using the fire exit to go out to smoke very late and again very early.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Fran P,

Thank you for your review. I can assure you the matter was an isolated one that affected very few bedrooms and it was quickly rectified. Please feel free to call me on 01159465111 or email me on h0507-gm@accor.com to discuss this further.

Thank you for your comments about the staff; hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and we hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Perfect location for my meeting in Ilkeston. Upon arrival the front desk senior staff was very welcoming and extremely polite and helpful, by ensuring I was positionin a room near reception, so I could use WIFI.
Room clean and comfortable, breakfast excellent. Good VFM
I shall definitively be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bab0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelNottingham, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Bab0510,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Novotel nottingham East Midlands. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
Genaral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Eaton
0.1 mi away
Best Western Nottingham Derby
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
1,532 reviews
6.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
4.4 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby

Address: Bostock Lane | M1 Junction 25, Long Eaton NG10 4EP, England (Formerly Hotel Novotel Nottingham East Midlands)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Long Eaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Eaton
Price Range: $58 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Nottingham East Midlands is currently a AA 3 star rated hotel 8 miles from Nottingham, Derby and East Midlands Airport. Ideal for a weekend or short break exploring the Peak District, Derbyshire Dales, Alton Towers, Sherwood Forest, Donington Park and the Royal Crown Derby porcelain factory. For conference guests, we offer 11 meeting rooms for up to 220 people. Enjoy room service or a meal in our Elements restaurant. The hotel also features free onsite parking for hotel residents. Please note the outdoor swimming pool is currently closed. The hotel will be having a multi million pound refurbishment of all bedrooms/bathrooms & corridors to commence from May 2015. Once complete the final product will be of a modern 4 star standard hotel and include free high speed wifi and individually controlled air conditioning plus eco power showers in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Nottingham
Nottingham Novotel
Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby Long Eaton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing