We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Asperion Hillside Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Worplesdon Place(Worplesdon)
$74
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gorse Hill(Woking)
$53
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel(Guildford)(Great Value!)
$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Guildford(Guildford)(Great Value!)
$91
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Asperion(Guildford)
$134
$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
$140
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$81
$78
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveler rating
228
114
47
16
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
114
47
16
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty baroverlooking the gardenpleasant gardenlovely little hotelcreaking floorboardsfour posterhonor barhome from homesmall hotelgood sizebreakfast was excellentsitting roomboutique hotelguildford areawedding receptioncomfortable bedlovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 407 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our trip was based around theatre tickets in Woking as we couldn't find any decent hotels in Woking and knew the Worplesdon area we chose this hotel, different for us as we usually choose large and contemporary and not small and friendly, However we found the hotel suitable for our needs and a very pleasant change, we had a room out the back of the hotel with a view of the garden a really bright sunny room although a little warm at night even with the window open. The bathroom although small was clean, fresh and bright. The stairway to the bedrooms could do with a rail on the wall as quite difficult to carry a heavy case up and downstairs with nothing to steady yourself on. The breakfasts were more than adequate although being a vegetarian none egg eater I did miss out but that's my fault for being fussy. The lounge is nicely laid out with an honesty bar and I do hope that people are honest!
My only real complaints are the slope at the entrance to the hotel, the suitcase started to roll away whilst waiting to be let in and a big issue I do have is the fire doors being wedged open most of the time not just when they were cleaning the rooms, I was seriously tempted to remove the wedges, please, please Asperion take them away. Overall a nice hotel in a lovely setting.

Room Tip: Room 11 is nice and bright, bathroom a little small but bright
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacimostert, Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comment about your recent stay on this website.
We are very pleased that you found us a pleasant and friendly change from your standard large and contemporary properties. It is lovely to hear that you found your room clean, bright and sunny.

Regretfully being an older property it is fairly well insulated and for this reason we provide desk fans in our bedrooms. Being an older property all of our rooms and bathrooms vary in size as we have had to make the best use of the space available. Thank you for pointing out the fire doors were left open, we are investigating this and hope to resolve the issue soon.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hillside should you visit area again.

Best regards,
Dagne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Lovely room, spotless and modern with all facilities. Some bathrooms come with spacious corner baths! Worth requesting! Dinner and breakfast was delicious with added benefit of local organic produce. Hard to see how they do it for the price. Definitely a place to revisit if in the area.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank ffordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

A big thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.com.

We are delighted that you found your room spotless and modern with all the amenities you desired during your stay with us. All of our rooms are individually decorated and as such, some will have showers and others baths with showers over.

We are delighted that you enjoyed both our dinners and our breakfast and found the locally sourced organic ingredients to be tasty as well as nutritious.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Asperion Hillside in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Jaci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I stayed only one night at this B&B and not for leisure unfortunately but I could enjoy the kindness of the staff and good level of service. The food is great and you can tell it's locally sourced. My only comment is for a 'mediterrenean' like me it'd be nice to have some croissants/pain au chocolate and similar (although I thoroughly enjoyed their cooked breakfast!) but overall a great place to stay. I'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you have heavy suitcases better go for a room located on the ground floor as it may be a bit awkward to carry luggage along narrow staircases.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SilviaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Guest,,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor, it is greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your positive feedback on our food. We take great pride in providing our guests with high quality fair-trade coffee and tea and using organic and locally sourced ingredients.

Our preference for organic food, combined with our staff’s attention to detail, make our breakfasts and dinners healthy and delicious.

We are delighted that you found the Asperion Hillside to be a well run property with approachable and kind staff.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Asperion Hillside.

Kind Regards,

Jaci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Very comfortable rooms with rural countryside view. Very friendly and informal management. Public lounge/TV area has an honor system bar and snack supply, Breakfast was excellent. We had a rental car so it was easy to see the surroiunding area or to get to the train to visit places further away. We spent three days here but it coulkd comfortably have been three weeks,

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, it is greatly appreciated.

Thank you for choosing the Asperion Hillside as you 'home away from home' during your visit to the UK. We are of course delighted to hear that you found the staff friendly and your room comfortable.

We always go the extra mile to deliver the best possible service to our guests and are thrilled that you found our breakfast to be fantastic!

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the Asperion Hillside should you ever visit the area again.

Kind Regards,

Jaci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I had a night away and were surprised how smart the place was inside. Staff efficient and loved the honesty bar. Room was smart, clean and comfortable with a lovely view of the back garden. At breakfast I asked if they had any Gluten free bread for toast and they did! A lovely surprise for me. Wished we had realised the evening meals were as good as we heard then we wld not have booked elsewhere.

Room Tip: Sorry there was no fitness centre and i cldnt clear it once id pressed the circles, so it was not terrible!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vickie4087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that you were pleasantly surprised by your stay with us. We are absolutely delighted that you found our staff very efficient and the premises smart, clean and comfortable with lovely views over our back garden.

We are also thrilled that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast, including our gluten free bread and that your overall experience was a memorable one.

Thank you again for your comments and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back for another stay along with dinner on the occasion of your next visit to the area.

Kind Regards,

Jaci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews