We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our short stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asperion Hillside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Worplesdon
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“our short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We only stayed for four days, but in that short time found the hotel very peaceful ,relaxing, and restful. There were one or two things needed improvement,in the room , i.e.the shower was awkward to manage, with nowhere to put the soap etc. and the light was poor. The garden was peaceful and secluded, just the place to relax. Being from North Yorkshire, we were rather shocked at the impatience of some motorists in the south, and found that they cannot hold a candle to the behaviour of motorists in this area. We will be happy to stay at the Asperion Hillside again when next visiting our son.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JOHN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting your thoughts on your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor, it is greatly appreciated.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Asperion Hillside and found it peaceful, relaxing and restful.

We will definitely look into options for somewhere to put toiletries as well as alternatives to the lighting in the room in which you stayed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Asperion Hillside when you next come down to visit your son.

Kind Regards,

Jaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    98
    40
    12
    1
See reviews for
54
129
29
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed at Asperion Hillside in July and was one the best B&B experiences of a 3 1/2 week UK trip. Still has a B&B feel despite being more spacious and professional than most. The lounge with bar was a nice touch, the rear yard a great spot, and the breakfast was excellent. I will book in there again on any trips to the Surrey area.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Asperion Hillside, and are pleased that you found the Hillside to be spacious and the staff professional.

We aim to create the relaxed ambiance of a home away from home with our cozy lounge and bar area and our relaxing garden, and value your positive feedback regarding these and our healthy breakfasts.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the Asperion Hillside on the occasion of your next visit to Worplesdon.

Kind Regards,

Jaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has great atmosphere, attention to detail, great breakfasts, clean, comfortable, great setting and brilliant honesty bar.

This hotel has got it just right! So much better than staying in any large soulless 5* hotel.

The personal attention is great and nothing is too much trouble!



Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Franki51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on this site.

We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Hillside, and enjoyed the atmosphere, attention to detail and the setting.

Your comments about the breakfast are truly appreciated. At the Asperion Hillside, we use organic and locally sourced ingredients whenever possible, and the food is made with passion and dedication.

We strive to go the extra mile and provide our guests with everything they need. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Hillside on your next visit to the area!

Kind Regards,

Jaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Small car park to front with extra parking across the road. I have to agree with some of the comments I have read in the reviews, that the checking-in process lacks the warmth and welcome usual in a small guest house, or the bright and cheerful professional welcome of a hotel. You fill in a form and get given a key in relative silence. Then follow someone who opens your room door - and that's it. Once you have been shown to your room (which you have hopefully upgraded to deluxe) you can relax.
No evening meals are available on Sunday nights but I believe there are pubs locally which can provide food.
There is an honesty bar in the lounge area with crisps (£1.50 a packet!) and plenty to drink - with a 'tab' style account where you write down what you take.Here is a TV with seating, books and newspapers, but I have to say it did lack comfort and atmosphere.
We had room 12 which looks over the back garden, which is pleasant with a fountain and a pond, seating and trees. With my daughter we enjoyed games in the garden like hide and seek, and chase - and no-one seemed to mind.
Tea and coffee is provided in the room and little Green & Black's chocolates - lovely!
Bed was comfy and room was a good size. We upgraded to a £68 room rather than a £57 standard room - (Booking.com prices), but Rms 15 and 14 looked nicer than 12 - don't know if they cost more though. There was a coffee stain on the carpet, and an old water bottle under the place where the tea and coffee are - but it was still good value - I have stayed in a lot lot worse. My expectations were not too high and I wasn't disappointed - I thought it was a good little find in an expensive area.
The dining area looks out onto the garden which is pleasant - there are a few tables only which gives it a nice feel.
Breakfast is small but nice; pleasant selection of cooked dishes plus fruit/cereal/yoghurt and toast- all organic and healthy - no muffins or croissants!
I booked this as a stopover for taking my daughter to Chessington World of adventures for her birthday. The hotel put balloons on the breakfast table at my request, so they are willing to go that bit extra, which is nice.
Hotels in this area of Surrey were expensive or had dubious reviews for the cheaper ones, so I was very pleased with the value for money we found for this one-nighter.
I actually would return again quite happily - but I would definitely go for one of those lovely rooms, next time.

Room Tip: Rm 15 has lovely 4 poster - Rm 14 looked very nice too, better than rm 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ailismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on Tripadvisor.co.uk

I am sorry to hear that the welcome you received was not satisfactory. I have spoken with the staff member who checked you in and I can assure you that your comments have been taken on board. I am of course disappointed that the housekeepers had omitted to clear away the empty water bottle and sincerely apologize for the oversight on their behalf.

We offer dinner in our restaurant from Mondays through to Thursdays as advertised on both our website and booking.com; and we would be delighted, should you come and stay on another occasion, if you decided to dine with us. We would have been delighted to provide you with a comprehensive list of places in the local area in which to eat.

It is wonderful that you and your daughter were able to take advantage of our beautiful garden and enjoyed playing games in this relaxing setting. We are pleased that you found the Hillside to be good value for money and hope to be able to welcome you back on another occasion.

We sincerely hope that your daughter enjoyed the rest of her birthday and had fun at Chessington World of Adventures.

Kind Regards,

Jaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I try and stay at the Asperion whenever I'm in Guildford as it offers something so different to the big name hotels in the area. There is always a friendly welcome and the rooms are well furnished and comfortable. The added extras like water and chocolate in your room are so welcome along with free wi-fi - it's these touches that make this place stand out as trying to provide everything a weary traveller might need to make their stay as comfortable as possible. The food is absolutely superb - the breakfast will set you up for the whole day and one feels like nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The comfortable sitting room with it's honesty bar is the best place to end the working day! Will probably be back again this week!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestYorkshireLinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoy staying at the Asperion Hillside. It serves as a great motivator to all of us to be able to welcome guests back time and again. We do our best to meet the guests' expectations and your feedback is truly appreciated.

Our Chef and our breakfast cook will be delighted with your positive feedback regarding both breakfast and dinner. We endeavor to provide guests with well balanced, tasty and nutritious options on both our dinner as well as our breakfast menus.

It also pleases us that you find the honesty bar and lounge area the perfect place to unwind after a long day! We hope to be able to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Jaci


Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a small hotel with professional, friendly management and delicious food. The service was excellent, with nothing too much trouble.
Breakfast -- I really cannot understand the person who said there was not enough food: perhaps they had not spotted the buffet table with juice, cereals and the best organic yogurt I have ever had. The cooked breakfast was certainly worth abandoning the diet, though I expected better bread from a kitchen taking care to source their quality produce locally where possible.
Dinner -- I wished I was staying longer so that I could sample everything on the menu.
I would be more than happy to stay here again, and indeed hope to do so next time I am in the area.

Room Tip: to ensure peace and quiet, ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank carilloneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you found the hotel professionally run, with friendly staff and excellent service.

We pride ourselves on giving our guest the best possible experience throughout their stay and are sincerely pleased that you found the food delicious and plentiful.

Our bread is delivered freshly baked from the local bakery twice per week. During time of high occupancy, it is sometimes necessary to purchase bread from other sources when stocks have run out.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the Asperion Hillside in the future and hope that you will be able to sample different and equally as tempting dishes on that occasion.

Kindest Regards,

Jaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Lovely staff, good food, loved the honesty bar, bed very comfortable, nice breakfast - what more can I say? Parking is great.

This place is very convenient for the "Three Ws" golf clubs and would make a great location for a group playing there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vonireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacimostert, General Manager at Asperion Hillside Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.com.

Thank you for your positive feedback about the breakfast, dinner and the service. We are sincerely passionate about what we do, and we pride ourselves on offering high-standard service in a homely and friendly environment.

We hope to welcome you to the Asperion Hillside should you ever be in the area again.

Kind Regards,

Jaci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worplesdon
3.1 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
3.3 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#2 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
3.3 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
3.3 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asperion Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asperion Hillside Hotel

Property: Asperion Hillside Hotel
Address: Perry Hill, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RF, England (Formerly Hillside Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford > Worplesdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Worplesdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Asperion Hillside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Asperion Hillside is an independently-owned and operated four-star, multi-award winning guest house that is part of the Asperion brand. The Asperion has built a reputation on providing organic and fair trade produce and is passionate about global environmental issues. Our ethos is to be a "socially responsible, more than for profit, hospitality business." At the Asperion Hillside, our aim is to provide a friendly "home-away-from-home" atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Asperion Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Guildford
Asperion Hillside Hotel Worplesdon, Guildford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing