We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior room very poor and well below standard”
Review of Worplesdon Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Worplesdon Place
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Worplesdon
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superior room very poor and well below standard”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We booked this hotel for a couple of nights whilst we had building work carried out to our house. We know the location very well and stayed there overnight for a function a few years a ago and it was fine. Unfortunately this time in April 2024 t
he experience was not good at all. When we arrived mattresses were being carried around the back. When we got to our "so-called" superior double room we found the double bed pushed against one wall so that you get just get into the bed from one side. There was no room for a bedside table either side of the bed. The rooms next to us were still under renovation and the fire exit door opposite our room had been left open. The whole area was freezing. Worst of all when we returned to the hotel after a meal out we discovered that the central heating was not working and we spent a freezing and uncomfortable night. This newly refurbished room obviously had not been checked properly. Also odd arrangement where the only sink was in the wet room so if one person wanted to use the sink whilst the other was showering you would get wet!
At breakfast the menu promised berries and yogurts but they were not available. Also to make tea or coffee guests had to use a couple of hot water dispensers. My husbands poached eggs were hard and indelible. We complained and were relocated to a garden room which was much better but still a little rough around the edges. There was no plug provided in the sink. The hotel rightly refunded us for the first nights stay. I was told that they are no longer advertising the room we stayed in on the first night as a superior double so I hope this is the case. Basically the hotel should not have advertised this room for sale. At present at would not recommend this hotel at all. Maybe things will improve after further renovation but there is a long way to go. Staff were friendly but no one was obviously in charge and the whole place had an amateur feel about it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    120
    64
    51
    35
See reviews for
105
108
25
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We hadn't been to the Worplesdon Place for a while ,so as it was a nice evening we thought it would be a good choice with the pleasant surroundings available. As we approached the Bar i noticed the Ale on offer was exactly the same as a previous visit London Pride and Wychwood neither of which is to my liking so we left.
They always used to have a Guest Ale alongside the Pride but that seems to have changed with the new management which is a pity.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a decent pint of Real Ale this is not the place.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Worplesdon hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We booked accommodation well in advanced for a wedding. Some months after the booking we were emailed to advise our reservation was cancelled due to overbooking, which leaves us with little time to find new accommodation. Very poor service and the email cancelling the reservation also contained errors.

Very dissatisfied

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Si B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Booked this hotel as an overnight stay to break up a journey. Check in was quick the receptionist very helpful and gave us more milk and coffee for room. Room was a good size for 3 adults. Had all you would need toilitries, hairdryer the only negative about the room would be possibly a couple more plug sockets.
what can I say about breakfast, was excellent choice of cereals, then you could choose items of the cooked breakfast list, if you have porridge ask for a small bowl my dad ordered the porridge and the portion was huge, you certainly wouldnt leave hungary.
if you want an overnight stay or a few days I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debs t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, General Manager at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thankyou for your kind review. We are certainly trying hard to improve our facilities through our constant refurbishment. So your positive feedback is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2014

title says it all really - we also ate in the bar / restaurant on a supper/room deal which was amazing value and the food was "surprisingly" good. recommended.
The family room is big enough to play a game of 5 a side football in !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, General Manager at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Delighted to hear you had a lovely afternoon. And you enjoyed afternoon tea. As the weather gets better you will able to enjoy the afternoons in our extensive gardens by the lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frimley Green, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

If you fancy a high quality afternoon tea at a very reasonable price then look no further than Worplesdon Place. My wife and I had spent a very pleasant time in Painshill Park and were returning home but feeling rather 'peckish'. On the off chance we stopped at Worplesdon Place for afternoon tea. We were absolutely delighted by the service and both the quality and quantity of the food. We thoroughly recommend anyone in the area to try it - you will be pleased that you did!

John & Sandra Collins

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandSCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I arrived later than planned and was pleased to see that check in was swift and easy.
I was in a very pleasant, spacious and very clean room with all of the amenities that I needed. The linen was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.
I ate in the bar/restaurant and the food was excellent. The environment is relaxed, modern and all of the staff were attentive and professional.
The cooked breakfast was as good as I have had anywhere and certainly sets you up for the day.
I would thoroughly recommend the hotel to anyone who needs to stay in this area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ainsworthian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, General Manager at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay, especially in one of our newly refurbished rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worplesdon
0.2 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
363 reviews
3.1 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#6 of 11 in Guildford
1,894 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
453 reviews
5.2 mi away
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Manor House Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Guildford
796 reviews
3.0 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worplesdon Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worplesdon Place

Property: Worplesdon Place
Address: Worplesdon Place Perry Hill, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RY, England (Formerly Premier Inn Guildford)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford > Worplesdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Worplesdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Worplesdon Place 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 29 room hotel in the beautiful rural village of Worplesdon, just 3.5 Miles from Guildford town centre and 4 miles from Woking. Close to major golf courses and Bisley ranges. Set in a 19th Century manor house, Worplesdon Place combines traditional features with modern facilities. Our fresh food restaurant is set in the main old building with period features and views out onto the terrace. We are open for food every day from 8am for breakfast through to 9:30pm for evening meals. Our modern spacious bar is on the ground floor and opens up into the extensive beer garden which features a lake and its own resident family of black swans. Function room & library available for events and weddings. Enjoy live music on Tuesdays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Worplesdon Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worplesdon Place Guildford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing