We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Worplesdon Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Worplesdon Place
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Worplesdon
Caerphilly
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked this Hotel as a stayover for a trip to Thorpe park. At £79 for a family room for 4 it was a great deal and the biggest hotel room i have stayed in. Im sure it was a queen size bed and two singles.(room 12) . Room was very clean and tidy, bathroom nice and clean ,beds comfortable and nice view of the gardens. Staff were very helpfull and polite. Downstairs restaurant looked really nice but we had already decided on the local harvester restaurant.(5 miles away). We did however have breakfast at the hotel which was a full english with the choice of continental . Lovely big breakfast you wont go hungry. Would definately stay again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    109
    58
    45
    35
See reviews for
92
100
24
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Went in for lunch today as been here before when was under old management and in every way it was fantastic then, unfortunately today was a compete transformation, walked in to 6 staff behind the bar just chatting, went to the counter to wait to be seated for lunch and,was just looked at form 2 staff behind bar, after some one finally can round sat out side, ordered food asked for risotto of the day from staff member, didn't knowmwhatbitbwas and had to ask others and he didn't realise that it was written on a sign right next to him on bar, staff member had no personality and seem like had better things to do than serve, food was served very quickly which once I got could see why, the risotto of the day was more like porridge of the day, bland, hardly any risotto rice, was just a pile of slogy mess, the other meal we had which was meditrinan veg and goats cheese sand which was no better as this came out to us burnt, over all was happy to leave, this cost us £25 and all in all was extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Worplesdon hotels

Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We went to the Worpleston Place as a last resort because everywhere was full up around Guildford, we wanted a 2 night stay, we managed to stay one night after a really bad night sleeping on what only can be described as a rock of a bed...so uncomfortable, the room was tiny and smelt badly of smoke, also no iron or ironing board in the room, The hotel is in bad shape and needs updating, the only good thing about this hotel was the staff who were very pleasant and dinner was of a good standard, surely at £90 a night it would have made more sense to have refurbished this hotel before opening as now as you can see the reviews are going to put people off forever.

Room Tip: Just don't book here it's awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saddaddrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I booked this as a Premier Inn paying £40. per night . I was later contacted by Premier inns and told it had been sold to Bespoke Hotels, Premier inns would pay the additional £40 making it £80 per nigh room only. I looked on their website and saw that they had only Luxury Hotels. . Well I can honestly say it is one of the worst hotels I have stayed in . Not even an easy chair to sit in. The windows would not open and we had to have a fan brought to our room. I can confirm all that the previous reviewers has said. This hotel needs an awful lot of money spending on it to even become a 2 star hotel. I am so disappointed it spoilt what was to be a wonderful break. for me and my wife

Room Tip: Sorry I do not think any of the rooms would be good until a complete upgrade is completed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northamptonpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Made 2 bookings and paid in advance for June. 1st booking for 7 nights - 2nd for 4 nights.
Hotel tired and very dated. Room overlooking patio area, which is used by staff during their break periods. Very noisy at night! Mentioned noise to reception on day 2. Night 2 - noisy yet again. Mentioned this again to reception on day 3. Very noisy on night 3 - had to shout out of window to staff to tell them we were trying to sleep! Spoke to reception on day 4, and told receptionist that we would like to claim under the 'good night' scheme. She apologised and said she would sort this for us.
Go back to day 2.......emailed and phoned by hotel, to tell us that the hotel would be closing, and would no longer be a Premier Inn, therefore they needed to cancel booking for 2nd booking of 4 nights! They would,book is into another Premier Inn of our choice. Mmmmm...as on business in Guildford, needed to stay local, so they have transferred booking to The Parkway, in Guildford. Lucky us.... They are even going to honour the rate we had already paid in advance! Have not had any feedback on refund for noisy nights.
Booked into The Oak at Petersfield for 1 night....see that review... Will also place review after stay at The Parkway next week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitzhamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Although the young lady on Reception was pleasant and helpful this is no way compensated for the very grubby state of this hotel... absolutely filthy carpets in the corridor to our room, overwhelming smells from the adjacent restaurant kitchen, noisey fan in the bathroom, noise from the adjacent room and from children running alon the corridor at 3am. The beds were the most uncomfortable we have ever slept in and the view of the garden from our room was spoilt by the broken fence and picnic tables strewn across the lawn and the plastic catering bucket discarded in the bushes. Because the walls are paper thin, our noisy neighbours could be heard until after 3am and then again just before As we left the following morning the same polite Receptionist asked how our stay had been and when I said it had been dreadful she offered to refund us. Of course I graciously accepted! Oh, I forgot to mention that the rooms in this hotel are all upstairs and there isn't a lift - you have to go up one flight of stairs then down a few, across a landing then up a few more before going down the final few steps to the corridor off which the rooms are located. What a nightmare when you have heavy cases with you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vonnie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

However pleasant the desk, some places just rub you the wrong way. The Premier Inn in Guildford is one such place.

At the cost, being served soap out of dispensers and toilet paper by the square is just wrong. As is doing everything in the bathroom accompanied by the deafening roar of a fan. No ironing board or iron (borrow at desk), no laundry services (that I noticed at least), no nothing really. Being on a long business trip, choosing this place as a base was in retrospect a mistake.

On the upside I thought I would get more ambient noises from the road but it was fairly quiet. The restaurant was alright but while the 'big/warm' breakfast part was made to order (nice) the kitchen failed in execution (not so nice); can't tell if it was the cook or the materials.

Located at the outskirts, the town center was a short walk away mainly through residential areas.

To reiterate for that ££ I would have expected more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antispin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worplesdon
0.2 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
3.0 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#2 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
5.2 mi away
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Manor House Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Guildford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worplesdon Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worplesdon Place

Property: Worplesdon Place
Address: Worplesdon Place Perry Hill, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RY, England (Formerly Premier Inn Guildford)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford > Worplesdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Worplesdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Worplesdon Place 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 29 room hotel in the beautiful rural village of Worplesdon, just 3.5 Miles from Guildford town centre and 4 miles from Woking. Close to major golf courses and Bisley ranges. Set in a 19th Century manor house, Worplesdon Place combines traditional features with modern facilities. Our fresh food restaurant is set in the main old building with period features and views out onto the terrace. We are open for food every day from 8am for breakfast through to 9:30pm for evening meals. Our modern spacious bar is on the ground floor and opens up into the extensive beer garden which features a lake and its own resident family of black swans. Function room & library available for events and weddings. Enjoy live music on Tuesdays and Saturdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Worplesdon Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worplesdon Place Guildford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing