We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get away from it all”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Constanza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Pajon, Eco-Lodge in Valle Nuevo
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“get away from it all”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a great spot to "detox" from our modern lives. A trip back into another era, when gas lamps and full moons provided romantic evening light, when rain water was collected on rooftops and used for showers (lukewarm at best, but not that we minded) and flushing toilets, and when your next meal was right across the street. And it literally is, as ValleNuevo is a rich agricultural area, and strawberry, potato and onion fields are about one kilometer away. Even getting there is an adventure by itself, taking about one hour from the nearest city, which is prctically on the center of the island. Despite being a tropical island, the setting practically ensures cool nights year-round and starry skies. If you need to "escape", turn off your phone (cell phone coverage is very spotty at its best) and contemplate nature for a while, this is your destination.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank corozalwien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura G, Public Relations Manager at Villa Pajon, Eco-Lodge in Valle Nuevo, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your time in writing this wonderful review.
We hope to have you visit us soon. We are always eager to have your groups stay and lend us your friendly hand!!

Thank you dearly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    7
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

you have to be prepared there's no electricity, only candles, but it's very romantic. there no restaurant, only itchen, so you have to buy everything, and the road there is very bad, so you need 4*4 and you have to cross a realy deep river... but when you get there it's worth it, there is very cold, and you have there a hot shower. really recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilana1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura G, Public Relations Manager at Villa Pajon, Eco-Lodge in Valle Nuevo, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and for your ratings! Its true we don't have a restaurant yet, but we do offer cooking services if you rather not do any kitchen work.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Romana, Dominican Republic
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Was there with a group at the beginning of August 2013. The weather was perfect. Low 60's at nite and low 80's during the day. My idea of retirement! Complete tranquility in a breathtaking setting. The accommodations were better than expected. Each cabaña has a fireplace, which we did not use because we rented the kitchen and dinning hall for the two nites we were there. The bed was confie and enough blankets to keep you warm. Hot water plenty and our cottage was lit by a propane lantern which was more than enough to light up the kitchen and living room. We stayed in a two bedroom with one bathroom. Had a small kitchen but we did not use.
The common kitchen is large and has a freezer that runs on propane gas. There was a problem that during the day time there were more flies than usual so we had to eat indoors.

The gardens were spectacular. Full of flowers and for the first time I was able to eat a prune in the DR right from the tree. Never had seen a prune tree before in the island. That was a nice treat just to step outside of the cabaña to pick a prune! The property has a small vegetable garden with strawberries and herbs. My suggestion to the owners would be to offer organic meals and vegetables juices to guests. The way is set up right now is that you have to bring your own food. Since they already have the know how of a commercial farm operation of potatoes and carrots it seems that the value added for them and also for the clients would make a big difference.
Great place and want to go back soon!
Staff was very helpful and nice.
The place is 16 miles south from the town of Constanza.

Room Tip: Ask for one cottages with a view to the plantation
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haitises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura G, Public Relations Manager at Villa Pajon, Eco-Lodge in Valle Nuevo, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in Villa Pajon. It is always gratifying to read that guests enjoy the scenery. We’re sorry you suffered the inconvenience of the flies; it’s something we are working on, since it is a plague that affects the entire zone.

We accept your suggestion; it is something we want to work in the near future. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Villa Pajón is simply my favorite spot on the island. It takes a while to get there through the winding dirt road from Constanza, but when you arrive you realize how worth it the trip is. Just 7 simple, cozy and beautiful cabins surrounded by tall pine trees, diverse crops and gorgeous landscapes everywhere you look.

I like to go there at least twice a year and I stay almost exclusively in cabin #3 "Los Agapantos", which is a bit separated from the others. If you like truly escaping to remote areas, this is the place for you, but bring as many supplies as you need because the closest supermarket is 1 hour away in Constanza. And if you think you'll be roughing it here, think again. These cabins have running water, gas heaters for the showers and the majority have solar powered inverters, which you hardly need because a huge part of the experience involves getting in touch with nature and the surroundings. It's not a 5 star hotel, but I assure you it's a 5 star experience.

There is always something to do in Villa Pajón. You can rent a horse, go hiking or biking on one of the many trails, spend time with the animals in the small petting zoo, have an outdoor bbq, relax by the fireplace or play board games in their lovely common area and at night you can lay on the ground and look at the stars, which can be seen clearer than anywhere else due to the lodge's remote location.

I highly recommend getting away to Villa Pajón with friends, family and whoever can appreciate this truly unique place in the hot and humid Caribbean!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alejandro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lali G, Public Relations Manager at Villa Pajon, Eco-Lodge in Valle Nuevo, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your incredible review and for being so detailed. We are so happy to read how much you enjoy visiting us!

We are always delighted to have you coming back for more. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Though the road to Villa Pajon is daunting (don't even dream of trying it without a 4X4), the jarring drive is worth it all in the end. Set on a working farm high in the Highlands of DR, Villa Pajon is serene. Functional cabins, complete with fireplace and a kitchen come in a variety of sizes. We stayed in a 4 person cabin, with a lovely view of the surrounding countryside. Trailheads start on the property for a pleasant walk up the mountain. There is no electricity in the cabins (gaz light ad stove), though there is heated water in the shower. Be prepared to bring a cooler with you for fresh food, and layers of clothing, as it can get quite cool in the evenings and after it rains. This is not a full service hotel, but local caretakers are friendly. A peaceful spot for simple pursuits (reading, walking, eating, talking).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neelanthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lali G, Public Relations Manager at Villa Pajon, Eco-Lodge in Valle Nuevo, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
I am very sorry it took us so long to thank you for your wonderful review! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do have two cabins with lighting from solar panels, cabins 3 and 4, for future visits.

Thank you once again, we hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constanza
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
#2 of 5 in Jarabacoa
253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Altocerro Villas, Hotel & Camping
0.0 mi away
Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel
Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel
#1 of 9 in Jarabacoa
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Constanza Villas & Club
0.0 mi away
Jarabacoa River Club & Resort
0.0 mi away
Villas del Lago
Villas del Lago
#1 of 4 in Santiago de los Caballeros
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Pajon, Eco-Lodge in Valle Nuevo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pajon, Eco-Lodge in Valle Nuevo

Property: Villa Pajon, Eco-Lodge in Valle Nuevo
Address: Valle Nuevo, Constanza, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Vega Province > Constanza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Constanza
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Pajon offers seven distinctive cabins and a central dining area. Each cabin has been carefully renovated to preserve the original details including stone fireplace, stucco walls and pine beams.- Well equipped kitchen- Hand-made furniture- Comfortable bedrooms- Bathrooms with hot water- Terrace with outdoor grill. MAIN CABIN: Ideal for group entertaining. Fully Equipped Kitchen- 50 person Capacity- Bathrooms- Living Room and Fireplace- Outdoor Terrace and BBQ - CHILDREN'S PLAY AREA. ACTIVITIES: - Nature walks in a variety of ecosystems- Horseback riding- Bird watching- Mountain biking- Blackberry picking (in season)- Bathing in mountain streams- Stargazing- Exclusive Group activities- Relaxing in a beautiful natural setting- Visits to: Local farms, Aguas Blancas waterfall, La Piramide monument, Interesting geological formations, Monument to Francisco Caamano Deno and more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing