We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous sunset”

Down the Hatch Seafood Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Spencer, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous sunset”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had a wonderful mahi dinner in this casual setting on the water during Daytona bike week. Watched the sunset while enjoying drinks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DMAtractorlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    226
    119
    77
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NSB
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Handicap Parking Very Bad”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were at this location 3/12/2013 at 1: 25pm to have dinner with friends from Pa that are handicapped.
We pulled in the HC parking lot and this rude female employee comes out the door and said you can't park in this area because it is for motorcycles. Now keep in mind there was not a vehicle in the parking lot. She said if you want you can drop them off and park across the street. We had the HC card on the mirror and she said that the HC parking signs that are at your location don't mean anything during bike week. We are from NSB and have been coming over to your restaurant for at least 10 years at least 4 times a month. I am going to report this to the agency that enforces HC people parking.

Thank You for taking time to read this review

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JayNsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed Customer”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I went to Down the Hatch over 20 times from 1993 through 2003. Went back this year and was so disappointed. Evidently, the ownership has changed and with it, the great food. Used to be that you could get the great smoked fish dip with some crackers at your table, no cost. Now, they charge for this, although a generous portion. I ordered a burger, it was about $11, which is not bad, but then, add cheese, $1. if you want fries, $2 more. I would have preferred that you charge $13 for the burger and give it all it should have, instead I felt that i was being nickel and dimed. The burger, when i received it, seemed to have been a patty already made up and purchased. Not much flavor, and overcooked. My girlfriend got fish and chips. Looked great, excellent portion. When she bit into the fish, it was mushy. The fish fillet had to have been thawed and refrozen. So disappointing. The restaurant is beautiful, the location is awesome. The food....the service....not there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dyeatts67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanzey, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great dockside restaurant!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We went with a few friends for dinner, nothing fancy, but the service was good and our seafood was great. Started to get a little cool sitting out over the water so they let us move in under the tent (near the bar) where they had the heaters going and we were quite toasty! Band was just setting up so didn't get a chance to listen to them do more than warm up but they sounded good. We'll definitely go back!

Helpful?
Thank From Swanzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Time!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Live music and good food and drinks - what more could you want? We enjoyed our second visit as much as our first. Friendly staff and good customer service.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank summertraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Down the Hatch Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Down the Hatch Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing