We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old favourite”

Kam Koon Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 56 Restaurants in Springwood
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An old favourite”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Food and service is always good. Very friendly staff who look after their long standing customers.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoveItalian255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    5
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Let down by service”
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We read the reviews before our visit so we were prepared to pay a premium price, however we also expected the service to match the reviews. Unfortunately for us it did not.
This was a Friday night so the restaurant was quite full, some large birthday party groups, however it's not a large restaurant so the service was timely. The problem happened after our mixed entrees were delivered to our table. They had been on the table for barely a minute when the waiter swoops back in with tongs and whips one of the pieces of food from our mixed entree plate. He didn't excuse himself in or attempt to be polite - literally his hand and tongs came flying in, grabbed the piece of food from the plate and then went straight to a different table and dropped it on somebody else's plate.
I was stunned and ready to walk out of the restaurant without looking back. I have never ever been treated so rudely.
My wife however knows me and did not want to make a scene so I refrained. The remainder of the service was okay, unfortunately the damage was done.
The food was tasty and the portions generous.
It was a little annoying having charges for everything, even the water is charged by the glass. However I guess that is customary in Asia.
We won't be using this restaurant again. We rate Chin Chin better value and better service.

Helpful?
Thank MurrayCollingwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kam Koon Night Out”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Fantastic Food and the manager is a great guy who went out of his way to help us on the night

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank terratrip57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Rude Staff, No Split Bills, Cold Food.”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The staff at this restaurant were very rude and took our drinks even though they were 2/3 full. The food is expensive and if you order a meat dish like eg. chicken satay, you get satay vegetables with a sprinkle of chicken meat. Not good at almost $20 a dish. If you arrive in a group the restaurant do not split the bill. They expect to be paid cash and left a tip for poor service. Have been to this restaurant 3 times with family who live close by. We will not be back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbaneMellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute best”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

There is no better Chinese than at Kam Koon. We have been going there for as long as I can remember, even when we lived interstate we called in every time back in Brisbane. Attempt to eat there at least once a month or more due to great food, top menu,friendly service and welcoming atmosphere. Business or pleasure I highly recommend Kam Koon as a dining experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank petbrenBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kam Koon Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Springwood, Logan City
 

Been to Kam Koon Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing