We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meuse-Argonne American Cemetery and Memorial
  
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
62
12
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
62
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews visitor center meuse argonne final resting place american cemetery world war out of the way medal of honor recipients buried here rows and rows who gave their lives who lost their lives americans europe offensive visitors flags information
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is world class in its honouring and tasteful in its purpose.
The impressive facades and grounds do justice to those who fought, died and survived the horrific conflict that brought them here.
We came away appreciative of a well kept memorial, impressed at the educational display and pleased to see an attempt to right the wrongs of past oversights to honour every soldier.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019 via mobile

Impressive cemetery, like the American one in Normandy at Colleville -sur-Mer and other memorial American Cemeteries.
Each one of them designed exactly alike.
14.000 soldiers dead. Incomprehensible.
The place is peaceful and very beautiful. Almost to make you forget the cruelty and ugliness of death, destruction and warfare. There’s no such thing as a glorious death for these young men.
Never make war again.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank julaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2019

We happened across this cemetery on our way to Verdun, purely by chance. On turning the corner and seeing the magnificent entrance, we were blown away. Never before have we felt so humbled by the scale, care and respect shown to the fallen as here. We met the man in charge, and he was so helpful and friendly - we cannot praise this place enough. Spent a long time just walking through the grounds - everyone should visit such a place, it certainly puts life into perspective. These brave men should never be forgotten, and all should be honoured in the same way.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank LauraJJ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2019 via mobile

This is largest cemetery for American service personnel in France and possibly outside of the US. It is a serene, well maintained, and fitting memorial for US soldiers and largely from Meuse Argonne offensive during last month of the Great War. Make the trip if you can.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Int_Bus_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019

I recently finished a book about the Meuse-Argonne offensive, and visiting this cemetery was my small way to pay tribute to the many brave young Americans who lost their lives in this battle in WW1. More than 14,000 American soldiers are buried here. The renovated visitors center has is welcoming and has a display about the cemetery and the battle. There is also a lovely chapel. The grounds are well maintained. A fitting memorial well worth a visit.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews