We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kitesurfing heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windtown Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cumbuco
Certificate of Excellence
Aalter, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kitesurfing heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

Windtown is truly kitesurfing heaven since it is located right at the beach and near Cumbuco, probably the most reliable place for wind in the world.

The wind came everyday around 11 o'clock, at noon the latest, we had two days with good "hard" wind, the wind is the hardest at the start, most days it went down a bit and sometimes it picked up again to the end of the day.
But I could have kitesurfed every day of our stay.
One thing you need to know, is that in the winter ( summer for us Northern people ) the sun goes down at six o'clock.

I rented all my material from the club, the kites were excellent and most boards were too, some could have done with replacing.
I got some lessons and was finally able to conquer the waves and further progress in my kitesurfing.
People keep an eye out for you as a beginner and are quick to the rescue if things go wrong.

I got the chance to do a big and a little downwinder, which was a super experience, especially driving upwind from the hotel and arriving back in front of it.

There is also a flat ( sweet ) water lagoon nearby, situated a good ten minutes by buggy ride, there you can practise ( your tricks ) or see the locals perform theirs.

Windtown is a place between a pousada and a hotel, the service is excellent and the food super, the rooms are good, but basic for someone who is used to the hotel feeling.
Breakfast was super, with a wide variety of fruit, bread and pancakes, fruit juice and some of the best coffee I ever had.
A couple of days in the week dinner was organized, it included a Thai, lobster and BBQ evening.
We even enjoyed a Capoeira evening.

A good tip is, if you are prone to mosquito bites ... ask for a mosquito net to be installed in your room.

Another cool thing about Windtown is the spa, I enjoyed the kite massage very much and my girlfriend had the aroma one twice.

Another thing is, if you are a light sleeper, you will have to get used to the noise of the ocean, since the rooms use a natural airflow system and do not have air-conditioning.
We are light sleepers and had to get used to that and other noises, but since the wind only comes around noon there is plenty of time to rest before the action.

The town of Cumbuco is at walking distance and provides all you need, good restaurants, a visit to 0031 Castanha is a must for foodlovers !
Lots of shops with souvenirs, surfshops and little general convenient stores.

Concerning safety there is nothing to worry about, the Policia is literally everywhere, just stick to the general rules of safety.

Things to do can include a trip to the capital city of Ceara, Fortaleza, you can take a bus in Cumbuco center, a taxi ride back is the easiest ( we paid 60,- Real from Iguatemi shopping center http://www.iguatemifortaleza.com.br ) and a trip in the dunes with a buggy in Cumbuco ( 140,- Real for an hour, 200,- for two )

Our stay in Windtown was truly a visit to paradise.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhDJ69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    41
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
24
55
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

Unique (private kite) spot, great location (also for downwinders), friendly personel, fantastic set-up to hang out and chill, and guaranteed wind every day!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilona15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wieze
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

We were the first guests of the Season 2010, we were very warmly received. There is a beautifully decorated garden, the rooms are very nice and always maintainend year arround. Realy great!
The hosts are very warm and nice people. Service is highly valued here in windtown!! They have a professional kite surf school and a beautiful beach just for you to relax and enjoy.
we had a lovely holiday and definitely a must for everyone.
we come back, that's for sure.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spillyvanilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

We just came back from another great stay at Windtown. Two weeks full of kiteboarding and relaxing - not sure if I can get used to working again...

The view from the hammock in front of our room was absolutely splendid. Also the very friendly and efficient staff helped to make our stay worthwile. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floris25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

Very nice and relaxing place to stay.. felt like family. It's a small hotel with only 14 rooms. I was traveling alone but everybody stay togehter for breakfast, lunch and drinks at the bar/ swimmingpool/ sundeck so was nice for me!! Good food, very good service and nice people. Beautiful view, right at the beach which is perfect when i wanted to go kite: not to full because it's just out of the centre (perfect!!) but only 15 minute walk. When i come back i will go again to Windtown for sure!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2009

I spent a great week at the Windtown in Cumbuco. I went to Cumbuco to learn kitesurfing, and the Windtown turned out to be the ideal spot. The hotel is right off the beach, which makes it really convenient to go out in the water and come back whenever you feel like it. The hotel rooms are comfortable, spacious; all the buildings are made of wood, which gives the place a cosy atmosphere. There is a nice (small) pool, and the staff were really nice. You can get served food or drinks all day long, and on Tuesdays and Thursdays they have really nice barbecues.
The hotel is not in town, but it's about a 15 minute walk to the town center, where there are a variety of pretty good restaurants (try the Gaucho for nice churrasco).
If I come back to Cumbuco (which means if I manage to get better at kitesurfing !), I'll definitely choose the Windtown again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonicfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires, argentina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

Cumbuco is a wonderful windsptot, but if you want more...., than stay at Windtown, is a cute place, where you can meet great people, good accommodations, all what you need is there for you, and if it is not, than Oliver the manager will provide it.
the kite school is excellent, the equipment is great, and the staff will teach you how to improve your kitesurfing skills.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezecampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumbuco
0.8 mi away
Duro Beach Hotel
Duro Beach Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cumbuco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kariri Beach Hotel
Kariri Beach Hotel
#4 of 4 in Cumbuco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.8 mi away
Golfinho Hotel
Golfinho Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cumbuco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Marina Park Hotel
Marina Park Hotel
#21 of 96 in Fortaleza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
1.7 mi away
Carmel Cumbuco Resort
Carmel Cumbuco Resort
#1 of 8 in Caucaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vila Gale Cumbuco
Vila Gale Cumbuco
#2 of 8 in Caucaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windtown Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windtown Beach Hotel

Property: Windtown Beach Hotel
Address: Rua das Cavalas 6, Cumbuco, Caucaia, State of Ceara, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Ceara > Caucaia > Cumbuco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cumbuco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windtown Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windtown Beach Hotel is a trendy and smallscale hotel with 18 rooms, situated directly on the untouched beach of Cumbuco. With one of the best kite surfing spots in the world right in front of the hotel, Windtown is a mecca for kite enthusiasts. Besides that, it's also a great relaxing place for the regular sunbather. The hotel has a spa, a pool, a beach bar, a sun deck with sun beds (with wonderful views of the kitesurfers at sea!), a restaurant that serves simple meals for lunch and dinner and a lounge area with a flat screen TV. The kitesurf school, located on the beach in front of the hotel, offers courses for all levels, rents first class equipment and organizes downwinders to the nearby lagoons of Cauípe (6 km), Taíba (20 km) and Paracuru (40 km). Windtown Beach Hotel is designed in a way that it blends into the surrounding nature: lots of wood and stones, set in a lush garden with colorful flowers and tropical birds. Because the hotel is built on the wind, it creates a natural air flow in the rooms. As a result, the use of air-conditioning is not necessary. Nevertheless, there are some air-conditioned rooms. All rooms have full ocean-, pool- and garden views, and come with a bathroom with a hot shower, comfortable beds, a safe, free wifi and a veranda with a hammock. The fresh and extensive breakfast buffet serves local delicacies and is included in the room rate. The charming village center of Cumbuco is 800 meters from Windtown. Close enough to walk and far enough to have that extra privacy and tranquility. The pristine sand dunes, where you can make beautiful walks and see breathtaking sunsets, are just behind the hotel. Also Fortaleza airport is not far away: 30 kilometers. Airport transfers can be arranged. The focus in Windtown is on personal service and sophisticated quality. The atmosphere is sporty, casual and sociable. Additionally, the hotel breathes a healthy and natural lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Windtown Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windtown Beach Hotel Cumbuco, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing