We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windtown Wins!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Windtown Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cumbuco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our first trip to Brazil. Not really knowing what we are in for, it has been a wonderful experience that passed all expectations.Windtown is really the best option! The hotel is a perfect place for kiting, enjoying the Cumbuco beaches and relaxing. They are located a little outside of town, which creates a quiet setting. Fortunately, the 5 minute walk to town allows for easy access to restaurants, shops and a genuine Brazilian experience.
The grounds are beautiful, creating an oasis with prisitine beachfront views. Our room was settled right in front of the water, which was surreal. The ocean breezes blow through the rooms. The rooms are clean, the food is incredible and the staff was really the best part of our stay. This is an absolute must for your Brazilian get-away.

Room Tip: Room 6 had perfect location right on the beachside, which steady winds blowing through the room. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 209 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was my 2nd time in Windtown and after checking out different spots and hotels I decided to stay for 7 weeks in Windtown this year.

- Location is amazing; quiet on the water in front of the hotel while center of Cumbuco can be quite crowded. Fantastic sessions......4 - 5 people on the water!
- Jumping in a fresh water pool is great after a long session on the sea
- Compressor on the beach and supervised kitesurfing. Big motivator to improve your kite skills and experiment. Always someone ready to help if needed which makes you feel very safe(!). They will even rig your kite for you if you're lazy....
- Skilled staff that will always try to make your stay more memorable; organizing trips to the most beautifull spots around, big BBQ sessions and making sure the Windtown stay is an 'open' experience where you meet smart and positive people.

Cumbuco is a great place, wind EVERY day and perfect temperature. Wind starts at about 10am and drops in the evening which means you don't get blown away or sandblasted while having dinner or drinks in the evening. You basically can use your 9m kite every day, maybe using your 11m for the fairylike 'sunset session'.

I've been kiteing for 6 years now and after visiting other places I decided this is paradise, it is as simple as that!
Traveling alone you meet fantastic people in Windtown, improve your kiteskills and celebrate a good session or kite trip with a nice cocktail or bottle of Champagne.

If you like kitesurfing, meet new people or be reunited with friends that return to Windtown as well;
If you enjoy that extra bit of luxury, great kite trips and an open atmosphere;

Windtown is the perfect place!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are a bit quieter and have more wind during the night. Ground floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Lovely 14 room hotel, on the beach of Cumbuco. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Clean and spaceous rooms. Healthy food & drinks. IKO certified kiteschool.
Go there!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReisadviseurJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Wonderful and cozy atmosphere, affordable costs, nice staff.
A place to relax, practice sports and meet lovely people. I highly recommend a massage in SPA, you gonna dream with it later.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fernando L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

It's our favourite place in the world. The atomosphire, the people, the food, the rooms. It's better than being at home. We stayed there in 2009 and 2011, this time with our children. They didnt want to come back. You say Brazil and they think about Windtown. Sometimes we are at home all together and they say...today is Friday ..in Windtown are having bbq. Yes, we miss it. I really recommend this place, you will not regret it.
Ana Moe

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We spent 1 week at Windtown late Oct 11. The place is great. Directly on the beach this is a wonderful spot for kiting. Being 800 m away from town centre makes the spot less crowded. The sundeck is perfect for cooling down after a kite session. Rooms are well sized and follow a "green concept" with no airco. Breakfast (included) are good and generous. The special dinners ( thai food or bbq) are perfect to share experience and meet people with different backgrounds. We will definitely come back, and for two weeks this time!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Spoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzetteWindtown, Owner at Windtown Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Thanks a lot for your review. We're very happy you were here with us.
Glad to hear you enjoyed. We look forward seeing you back next year!
Regards from the whole Windtown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is a wonderfully understated, quiet Hotel for quiet people,
with one thing in common, Kitesurfing.
Efficiently run by Reinier and his delightful hand picked staff,
nothing is ever too much trouble and my stay of 19 days was
just fabulous and flew bye.
The Hotel sits in well manicured gardens, with Food, Rooms and Service,
all of a high quality and not to mention the uncrowded beach and great surf.
If your a large group, loud or obnoxious and don't take other peoples
consideration into account, then this Hotel is definitely NOT for you.
Neil and Louise

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzetteWindtown, Owner at Windtown Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

It was an honour to have you here amongst us. Yourself were part of the atmosphere we like the most. Thanks a lot. See you hopefully next year again.
Warm regards from the Windtown Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumbuco
0.4 mi away
Kariri Beach Hotel
Kariri Beach Hotel
#4 of 4 in Cumbuco
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Duro Beach Hotel
Duro Beach Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cumbuco
293 reviews
15.9 mi away
Marina Park Hotel
Marina Park Hotel
#22 of 96 in Fortaleza
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Golfinho Hotel
Golfinho Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cumbuco
103 reviews
1.7 mi away
Carmel Cumbuco Resort
Carmel Cumbuco Resort
#1 of 8 in Caucaia
466 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vila Gale Cumbuco
Vila Gale Cumbuco
#3 of 8 in Caucaia
3,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windtown Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windtown Beach Hotel

Address: Rua das Cavalas 6, Cumbuco, Caucaia, State of Ceara, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Ceara > Caucaia > Cumbuco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cumbuco
Price Range: $86 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windtown Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windtown Beach Hotel is a trendy and smallscale hotel with 18 rooms, situated directly on the untouched beach of Cumbuco. With one of the best kite surfing spots in the world right in front of the hotel, Windtown is a mecca for kite enthusiasts. Besides that, it's also a great relaxing place for the regular sunbather. The hotel has a spa, a pool, a beach bar, a sun deck with sun beds (with wonderful views of the kitesurfers at sea!), a restaurant that serves simple meals for lunch and dinner and a lounge area with a flat screen TV. The kitesurf school, located on the beach in front of the hotel, offers courses for all levels, rents first class equipment and organizes downwinders to the nearby lagoons of Cauípe (6 km), Taíba (20 km) and Paracuru (40 km). Windtown Beach Hotel is designed in a way that it blends into the surrounding nature: lots of wood and stones, set in a lush garden with colorful flowers and tropical birds. Because the hotel is built on the wind, it creates a natural air flow in the rooms. As a result, the use of air-conditioning is not necessary. Nevertheless, there are some air-conditioned rooms. All rooms have full ocean-, pool- and garden views, and come with a bathroom with a hot shower, comfortable beds, a safe, free wifi and a veranda with a hammock. The fresh and extensive breakfast buffet serves local delicacies and is included in the room rate. The charming village center of Cumbuco is 800 meters from Windtown. Close enough to walk and far enough to have that extra privacy and tranquility. The pristine sand dunes, where you can make beautiful walks and see breathtaking sunsets, are just behind the hotel. Also Fortaleza airport is not far away: 30 kilometers. Airport transfers can be arranged. The focus in Windtown is on personal service and sophisticated quality. The atmosphere is sporty, casual and sociable. Additionally, the hotel breathes a healthy and natural lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Windtown Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windtown Beach Hotel Cumbuco, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing