We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient and excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coill Dara House B&B
Ranked #3 of 6 Tubbercurry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“convenient and excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Only 15 minutes from Knock airport, this B&B is not only excellent but convenient. Our host Patricia was very keen to please. Tea and coffee cake on arrival. Room very clean. Breakfast wonderful - lots of choice if for some reason you didn't want the full Irish. The house itself is lovely - spacious and grand. A lounge and beautiful conservatory is available for guests. wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We've enjoyed many B&B's in Ireland over the years. Coill Dara is absolutely the best one we have ever stayed in. Patricia is a wonderful hostess. The sun room offers great views of the Ox Mountains in the distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 444JoeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smith River
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is what one dreams of for a B&B. All reviewers are correct, this is so wonderful you willl not want to leave. Newer house but reminds you of a manor house. A little out of town so very quite. Rooms are upstairs and ensuite. Beds are like jumping into a cloud. All is modern and very clean. Rooms are good size, bathroom is excellent, windows open onto a beautiful countryside view. Patricia is a terrific hostess, does all she can to make your visit an experience, and gives you a gourmet breakfast. The conservatory for guests use overlooks the fields. House is very large and easy walk into the town center. Roger is helpful with great suggestions for interesting hikes and things to see is the area. If you want to experience the ultimate in B&B you must go here!

Room Tip: Book directly at her website or call for the best deals. This house is not suitable for children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddwildbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

There is no need for further comment as previous reviewers say it all. The only problem for my group was that we only stopped one night . None of us wanted to leave after our marvellous breakfast, so thank you very much Patricia and Roger for your hospitality and for allowing us to stay in your wonderful home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisWilliamHeald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washburn, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I don't know how many times I can saw WOW!!! This was complete WOW service; Patricia has an incredible home with so many interesting parts to it, she's an incredible hostess and the showers are to die for - for weary travelers... where is the 5+ recommendation stars for her??? Though it was late when we arrived, she had a beautiful cake made and prepared tea, which we enjoyed in her incredible conservatory. She also had downstairs bedroom that my mom, with a disability, was able to use without having to navigate stairs. It was also located perfectly in route from Northern Ireland to our next days plans. Thanks Patricia for a wonderful stay! This is now one of four "must stays" for recommendations and future trips!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Tubbercurry is not on everyone's 'to see' list but if you're planning a trip to Donegal or the Galway region, this would be a fantastic place to base yourself from. Patricia is world class hostess. The place is in top notch shape, everything is well run, breakfast is much better than in most B&B's we stayed at and rooms are spacious, modern and with a great hot shower.

The town also offers a variety of dining options and pubs so you don't have to have dinner in the big towns if you're staying here. Wifi is available throughout the house and breakfast consists of an assortment of juices with a choice of the classic Irish breakfast (with salmon) or pancakes. Be sure to spend some time in the sun room, where you can enjoy tea/coffee, along with fresh home bakes cookies and cake made by Patricia.

It's a really great stay, highly recommended !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avichai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful B&B for 2 nights. Everything was great, from the garden, beds, shower, to the excellent breakfast. Best of all were Patricia and her family who are natural hosts with a great eye for detail and the needs of the guest. Our room was huge, beautiful and also very clean and bright. The view from our window was fantastic overlooking the garden and the mountains in the background. It also has everything you'd want in terms of TV, DVD, stereo, free WIFI, toiletries, hairdryer, etc... The breakfast was cooked to order and it was amazing ( loved the pancakes...). I would highly recommend Coill Dara to anyone visiting Sligo and the surrounding counties.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tubbercurry
16.8 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
17.2 mi away
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kiltimagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
16.1 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cawleys Guest House
Cawleys Guest House
#1 of 6 in Tubbercurry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Murphy's Hotel
Murphy's Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tubbercurry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coill Dara House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coill Dara House B&B

Property: Coill Dara House B&B
Address: Ballina Rd., Tubbercurry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Tubbercurry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tubbercurry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coill Dara House is a beautiful modern, period style home of character, located on a small farm on the edge of Tubbercurry (Tobercurry), Co. Sligo. Depending on seasons, you can meet sheep, lambs and donkeys in fields around the house. Located just off the R294 (Tubbercurry-Ballina Road) and N17 (Sligo-Galway), 12 miles from Knock Airport, Tubbercurry is very accessible and an ideal centre for exploring Counties Sligo and Mayo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Coill Dara House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing