We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food for a ski resort”
Review of La Croix de Savoie

La Croix de Savoie
Reserve with
La Croix de Savoie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $81
Cuisines: Diner, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: I am pleased to announce that the restaurant is rewarded in the 2016 MICHELIN guide fork, but also voted best restaurant in Europe "distinguished Tables" Logis 2015. Passionate make you live new culinary discoveries, I invite you to a unique dining experience. Fruit of my meetings with top chefs from around the world, this new card is both deliciously inspired, exotic and modern. All our menus are based mainly on fresh, selected by me for their qualities. Every season, discover new tastes, new agreements through a traditional cuisine with my inspiration and sensitivity. I wish you a good tasting and thank you for your confidence.
Italy
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food for a ski resort”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is our second visit here, having visited in the summer. We went for an anniversary meal with friends whilst skiing in flaine and the food was top notch. Don't try to get a taxi though as we asked about one and were told by the restaurant €40 each way for a 10 km trip. Service excellent

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyofFourItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDGTD, Propriétaire at La Croix de Savoie, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Madame, Monsieur,

Many Thanks for your lovely message on TripAdvisor.

We had happy to see you again this winter after last summer. But we are also happy because you had a good time and a good anniversary with us.

Yes the taxi is quite expensive from Flaine but is not to long to come by car, just 15 minutes to drive.

We hope to see you again,

Edwige, Jean-Marc & Gaëtan
La Famille

And all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    39
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We went on a Thursday evening when the restaurant was very quiet. The service was very attentive without being obtrusive. The menu is not very extensive but you cannot expect exceptional quality if the menu is spread too thinly. The food was very good and very well presented. Very extensive wine list with a variety of prices to suit most pockets. The ambience is very good even when relatively empty. Would recommend.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDGTD, Propriétaire at La Croix de Savoie, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Madame, Monsieur,

Many thank for your comment and also for writing.

You came last year in our hotel and you come back this year for the dinner time, we are very happy to see you again.

The Chef and all staff gladly welcome your comments as they work increasingly to improve the quality of our services, menu, wine list, ...

Thanks again and we will be happy to see you another time,

Edwige, Jean-Marc & Gaëtan
La Famille

And all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Average food priced at London top-rated restaurants”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Service: pleasant and polite but amateurish: l ordered white champagne, l got rose one; serving bread and they forgot my son and we had to ask twice for them to come back; we had to ask for the bill 3 times.

Food: very good presentation to high standards, but not so good choices in terms of what goes with what: foie gras with chocolate...pigeonneaud topped with a sort of pink icing sugar crumbs...dessert was a beautiful pyramid...tasted a bit like shampoo.

Atmosphere: perfectly acceptable but nothing exceptional.

Price: 350 euros for 2 adults and 2 kids. For that price everything should be perfect.

Overall: a disappointing experience in a restaurant that charges very high prices but is not quite up to the standards.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandrine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDGTD, Propriétaire at La Croix de Savoie, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Madame, Monsieur,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion about our restaurant. With a constant focus on quality and so that other travelers have all the elements to judge us we take the time to respond.

We regret your mixed experience of our Restaurant despite all the positive points that you highlight. Indeed we welcomed you into our restaurant for Christmas Eve and you have long expressed your satisfaction during the dinner.

Let me explain, you have chosen the tasting menu (amuse-bouche, entree, main course, cheese, pre-dessert and dessert) for 3 persons (2 adults and 1 teenager) and a child version of the tasting menu. Menus adults with a selection of wine by the glass (5 glasses of wine) discretion for each course. It was your choice as Christmas Eve because the rest of the a la carte was available. This is what justifies the price of 350 € for 4 people.

Then each waiters and sommelier came to you to present the following course and wine ... on each occasion you have expressed your satisfaction, especialy when the sommelier asking you! Therein lies our surprise today when reading your comment. More Sir, it is met with a member of our family to tell him of his admiration for our house, the ecological approach, ... he even leaving the property desired good luck for the season and thanking us for the evening.

Concerning an aperitif before meals we have proposed several house aperitif and you chose one. After tasting you did tell us that he was not to your taste and you have wanted to change ...
Please note that we have replaced it with a glass of champagne without charging you first aperitif. You point it was served a glass of white champagne while you ordered rosé, we are sorry but there had to be a misunderstanding and we have once again changed it.
We note that the dishes were not to your liking and we are deeply sorry.

After these statements, each travellers judge about the price and service that we did.
In the meantime, we remain personally available to speak to us +33 450 900 026 and hope to welcome you in our house to make you live another better experience.

Best regards,

La Famille and all staff,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor menu and bad service”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The stuff doesnt speak english and they arent friendly.
Poor menu and its not "Value for Money".
Fondu wasnt delicious like other places in the area!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fepcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDGTD, Propriétaire at La Croix de Savoie, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Madame, Monsieur,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion about our restaurant but we regret your mixed experience of our Restaurant despite all the positive points that you highlight.

You said the staff don’t speak English but we sorry but all staff speak English, maybe not perfectly but they speak English ! That not too bad because you are in France and is not an obligation to speak English. When we come in England everybody just speak English and when you have a probleme if you don’t speak english nobody try to speak French !

You tell us about the "Value for Money", this is your opinion, but for all futurs travellers the Fondue with Amuse-bouche, big plate of cooked meat and the dessert is just for 33 € … So each judge.

And you said the Fondue is nice, so that more important no ? So we don’t understand your note but we accept your comment.

In the meantime, we remain personally available to speak to us +33 450 900 026 and hope to welcome you in our house to make you live another better experience.

Best regards,

Edwige, Jean-Marc & Gaëtan TIRET
La Famille

And all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dinner on the terrace - what a view!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had an excellent meal on the terrace one late August evening. The service here is second to none. Prompt, courteous, knowledgeable. A fantastic wine list to boot! I only wish the location were more convenient so I could return often!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LivingAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDGTD, Propriétaire at La Croix de Savoie, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Madame, Monsieur,

You try our Restaurant last summer on the terrace and you don't book the table before, ... you came because you had seen some pictures on the website.

That the lovely time with you. We are happy to read your positive comment about the Gastronomic Restaurant. We tell all staff because this is very importante for them to see your comment for the future.

We hope to see you another time ....
Best regards and many thanks again,

Edwige, Jean-Marc & Gaëtan,
La Famille

and all staff,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Croix de Savoie also viewed

Les Carroz-d'Araches, Grand Massif
Les Carroz-d'Araches, Grand Massif
 
Flaine, Grand Massif
Les Carroz-d'Araches, Grand Massif
 
Les Carroz-d'Araches, Grand Massif
Flaine, Grand Massif
 

Been to La Croix de Savoie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing