We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Skiing”
Review of Chalet Le Palane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Carroz-d'Araches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Le Palane
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at chalet le Palane in Les Carroz from Thursday 21st to Monday 25th March and had an extremely relaxing weekend break.

Lexi and Sean are great hosts and we were very well looked after throughout our stay. We travelled on the early BA flight from Gatwick and were met at Geneva by the transfer taxi (Go Massif) and left for Les Carroz with no hanging around. An hour later and Lexi and Sean met us at the chalet and we were soon enjoying a nice cup of tea after which we got changed and were then driven down to the ski hire shop by Sean to get our skis and pick up boots from a friend’s apartment nearby – we were skiing tree-lined runs in the sunshine by 1pm!

Le Palane is a very comfortable chalet in a lovely elevated position overlooking Les Carroz. We skied hard and then relaxed, ate and slept very well. Sean and Lexi’s cooking was excellent, everything was freshly prepared with more than enough to go round. The bedrooms were quiet, spacious and warm with plenty of storage and hanging space. Beds were nicely firm, comfortable and duvets were cosy. Bath and shower rooms were always clean with plenty of hot water and fresh towels. There was a spacious ski room with boot warmers and plenty of space to get ski-togs on and off and dry things out. The lounge area was an ideal spot for pre and post-dinner relaxation in front of the roaring log fire and a glass of wine to hand. The whole chalet is a haven of peace and so relaxing which I really appreciated after a stressful year at home.

Having skied most of the major French ski stations that have become overcrowded and horrendously expensive, I love the friendly feel of Les Carroz and the extensive snow-sure skiing, together with the short transfers and easy access….I will definitely be back next year (hopefully with my two little ones ) to stay with Lexi and Sean, thanks again for a great time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, Manager at Chalet Le Palane, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Mike,
Thanks so much for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to return this year.

Unfortunately, we are sad to say that we wont be running the chalet in the future. After 2 wonderful years of building the business up from nothing, we have decided to move on to new opportunities.

Thanks for your business and we look forward to offering you hospitality again in a new venue.

Very Best Regards,

Sean & Lexi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 105 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

This review is as much about the Chalet Hosts Lexi and Sean as Chalet Palane. I cannot recall whether I found the Chalet from a Les Carroz-d'Araches Tourist Office or TA recommendation but either way it was recommended - other factors being within an hour of Geneva and a modest single room supplement. Anyway from initial contact, to booking, paying, showing up, hosting and general good company Lexi and Sean were great. The Chalet is on the outskirts of Les Carroz on climbing road to Flaine so ideally you need a car or use the Ski Bus. Lexi and Sean rent in the ski season from the English owner and know the area well. The accommodation is cosy, warm and just like a home from home – more like staying with friends. The Chalet can accommodate around 14 at a push the limiting factor being the extending dining table rather than the beds. There are no en-suite but a family bathroom and two shower rooms plus a separate toilet so not really an issue. There is a cosy lounge area with log fire, comfy sofas and TV so you can all get to know each other or just pitch up for dinner and keep to yourself. Sean is in charge of dinner and is an accomplished home cook and Lexi does continental breakfast and yummy afternoon cakes for tea. There is a large ski boot and drying room plus parking. In theory you can almost ski back to the Chalet down Pleine Soleil and cut through Plan Moulin then walk down the road but you may be better to ski down into Les Carroz and get free Ski bus up to stop nearby. Highly recommended – assuming Sean and Lexi remain as hosts!

In terms of Les Carroz the Le Marlow offers good bar, legarageduski gives Chalet Palane guests a good rental rate plus the Casino and Spa supermarkets are well stocked. If you have a car you are well advised by your hosts to drive the 3 kms towards Flaine the Les Molliets Chair Lift where you can buy a ski pass, use the toilets and park for free. If you drive same distance again you reach Vernant Chair Lift which is better if you just want to get into Flaine ski area. I imagine it is not worth going the whole way to Flaine unless that is where you want to ski – but in that case why not stay there?! Lower parts of Les Carroz, Morillon, Sixt and Samoens are not snow sure late season so everyone migrates to Flaine which is highest ski area. There is plenty of skiing for a week – perhaps not for two weeks – and I thought it suited me as an intermediate skiers but could be challenging for beginners or not challenging enough for really good skiers. Bizarrely the best beginner runs are up high in Flaine – problem is getting to them! There is a lovely blue – weirdly named “Travesée damant noir“ but equally there is a short nasty red run named “Satin” as many runs are with devilish connections. My favourite piste in Les Carroz was Blanchot into Pleine Soleil, in Morillon was Bergin down into the Play Zone and switchback short Stade, in Samoens it was Marmotte and in Flaine it was Serpentine down from Les Grandes Platieres. I had good food in Le Marlow (après ski) and Chalet Le Molliets in Les Carroz, Le Blanchot and the new for 2013 La Pente à Jules in Flaine.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorFeelgoodDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, Manager at Chalet Le Palane, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you very much for such a positive review. We are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and would look forward to hosting you again this winter but sadly we will not be remaining as hosts.
If you do return to Les Carroz in future, we hope that you have a wonderful winter break.

Very Best Regards,

Sean & Lexi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at Chalet La Palane for a long weekend from Thursday 14th March to Sunday 17th March and had a great time. Les Carroz is well situated for a weekend skiing its just an hour from Genevea airport. We left Gatwick at 7.30 in the morning and whilst in the taxi going to the chalet called Sean at the Chalet and he was ready to drive us down to the ski shop where we sorted out skis and boots and were skiing by 12.30!! Sean and Lexi are great hosts and very relaxed, they have a passion for excellence and it shows in all they do . The food is great, plenty of it and imaginative. I have been used to ski and and ski out and whilst the chalet is not too far from the bu sstop that is a bit of a pain - but saying that if Sean is free he will run you down to the sloapes. The ski area of Les Carroz is very pretty and lots of nice runs . We skiied over to Flaime every day which is only 40 minutes where there is very extensive skiing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a relaxing ski break with Lexi and Sean in Chalet le Palane, surrounded by home comforts, beautiful and wholesome food and good company (and plenty of snow!!). We spent each day on the slopes after a delicious continental breakfast, and returned to a lovely 3 course dinner each night with plenty of wine which helped us relax and unwind in style! The views from the chalet are stunning and the village of Les Carroz has everything you'll need from little shops, bars and ski hire. The ski bus runs regularly to/from very close to the chalet. We can't wait for next year!!!! Thanks again both of you :)... (Natalia and Andrew from Bristol)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

There's only one place to stay in Les Carroz and that's Chalet Le Palane. It has everything you need if you're serious about your boarding /skiing, want to enjoy a relaxed atmosphere with friends, and what I can only describe as a week of the finest dining I've ever experienced. The chalet is clean and spacious with a good kit drying room, powerful showers with plenty of hot water. You can get onto the slopes via either a 5 minute walk up the hill or on the free bus into town, either way your very close to the action. At the end of every day there was a rush to get back to see what superb cake Lexi had conjured up. If you're on any sort of weight-loss program I suggest that you suspend it for the time that you are staying in the chalet or you'll miss out on Seans seriously good cooking - 3 courses of heaven! Both Sean and Lexi quite obviously put in a lot of work running this first class operation, but are always laid back and happy to help, which all feeds the relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed at Chalet La Palane with eight friends Sean and Lex were great hosts nothing was too much trouble and they are helpful in sorting out your every need. The food is lovely too and in plentiful supply I think I may have put on pound or two on by the end of the week. The resort of Les Carroz has some great skiing too with some thing to challenge all abilities.

If you want a hassle free time in the alps in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere then I cant recommend Chalet La Palane highly enough.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Tim_Jim_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Of all the ski joints in all the towns, in all the world, you have to walk into this one.
Top drawer location, atmosphere and dwelling, but absolutely peerless cuisine. Hard to drag myself away after a week of fine eating and convivial hosting. The skiing was great, but the memory that lingers is that wooden dining table with meal after meal of delights served upon it. Thank God for the skiing and activity though or I'd be a full stone heavier.
The hosts are intelligent and charming, without being overbearing or fussy - perfect balance.
I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulAdeyemiAdeleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Carroz-d'Araches hotels
0.2 mi away
la Croix de Savoie
la Croix de Savoie
#2 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes du Soleil
Pierre & Vacances Premium Reside...
#1 of 16 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Flocons Verts
Les Flocons Verts
#2 of 16 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Les Airelles
Les Airelles
#5 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel les Servages d'Armelle
Hotel les Servages d'Armelle
#1 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Residence les Servages
Hotel Residence les Servages
#4 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Le Palane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Le Palane

Address: 2100 Route de Flaine, 74300 Les Carroz-d'Araches, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Les Carroz-d'Araches
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Les Carroz-d'Araches
Price Range: $59 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Le Palane, a comfortable alpine home away from home, with great cooking, a relaxed atmosphere and access to some of the most reliable snow in the Alps. The Grand Massif is France's 4th largest ski area with 265km of piste. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Le Palane France/Haute-Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing