We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chalet Le Palane
Nearby Hotels
la Croix de Savoie(Les Carroz-d'Araches)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Les Airelles(Les Carroz-d'Araches)
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Flocons Verts(Les Carroz-d'Araches)(Great Value!)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Ferme du Lays(Les Carroz-d'Araches)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel National(Cluses)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$52
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Bergerie B&B(Les Carroz-d'Araches)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Odalys Sunotel(Les Carroz-d'Araches)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
98
6
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
6
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 105 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Just back from week snowboarding the Grand Massif with old friends. Stayed at Le Palane, welcomed like family into this cosy chalet with attentive hosts. The home cooked food is superb, from fabulous vegetarian curry, via fiery pizza piquant to sumptuous French food loyal to the provence and using local ingredients. After a filling breakfast as early as you want walk up to the nearby Sarbotte blue run and glide down to the Telecabine in Carroz. Ride all day and get back and leave your kit in the large warm boot room with a boot drier. Sit by the log fire and have tea and home made cake before a long hot soak in the corner bath. Chat and watch UK TV, play games before 3 course dinner with good wines or beer. Sleep soundly in a comfortable warm bed before getting up and doing it all again. Sometimes in life you get so much more than you pay for, this trip was one of those times.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ifknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Slightly out of town , but none the worse for it, as access to & from the piste was a very short walk away (& certainly easier than the 2 minute walk/5 minute ski bus journey).

I consider myself a bit of a foodie, but that didn't prepare me for the standard of the evening meals, which were outstanding! No jars of sauce or ready made pastry here! It may take me a few days to work off the Tartiflette, but it was certainly worth it! The teatime cakes also more than welcome for the early finishers (you know who you are....).

The living room is large & comfortable (with British TV pour les Anglais), bedrooms simple and adequate for an all round tranquility.

Very good service from the staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiplinggroove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I've just got back from 8 nights at Chalet Le Palane, while snowboarding the Grand Massif. I've been skiing / snowboarding many times and always had some kind of compromise, like poor food, quality of accomodation, hard to get on the slopes, hard on the slopes etc, but this time was excellent all round. The chalet is warm and homely (great log fire), my room was a good sized double, cozy with dvd player, great view of the mountain from the blacony's (from the sitting room and my room), excellent food (cooked with love), nice touches like tea and cake apres ski. Sean and Mark (hosts) are happy to be involved if you like, but also happy to be in the background. So easy to get up the mountain, a quick few minute drive (hosts happy to take you or bus outside the front door) to a couple of lifts, no queues at any of the lifts, even at the weekend (unusual for the French!). While I was lucky with great snow and sun, the piste's were kept in great condition, plenty of off piste opportunity and areas with plenty of space, new or experienced, there's plenty of fun to be had. Went out in Les Carroz a couple of times, good vibe, a few bars, places to eat etc, but prefered to be at "home" with Cassoulet and vino! Loved every minute of it, planning a March rematch right now.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Visited Les Carroz whilst staying at Chalet Le Palane, in the 2nd week of Jan 2012. The snow and sun were the best I've seen in years of being out every season and awesome amount of on and of piste to explore and on occasion my friend and I walked to the slopes from the chalet itself. The Chalet was brilliantly catered, met all of my needs and more, whilst the hosts also provided a laid back relaxed environment, which is always needed after a long day on the piste. Only 50 minutes to an hour from the airport the transfer was easy and efficient. The best holiday I've had in years.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed at the Chalet Le Palane in Les Carroz for 6 nights for a pre christmas ski. I could not have asked for more. Arriving on my early morning flight to Geneva, the transfer time from airport to resort of only 50 minutes meant I was in Les Carroz and on the slopes by 1.00pm for my first afternoon of skiing. Sean and Mark, my hosts quickly helped me sort out my rental equipment at the nearby 'Garage Du Ski' and got me to the nearby lifts at Les Molliets.

The Chalet Le Palane is in a beautiful location and can sleep 9. My double room was spacious, clean and warm and after a hard day on the slopes i was greated with a beer by Mark followed by a fantastic home cooked three course meal. This is where it is hard to do justice with words, the local dish of tartiflette was beautiful, the beef bourginon tender and feel apart in my mouth but my personal favorite was Seans 3 pork chilli followed by his 3 milk cake - unbelievable!!! All washed done with local red wine, the glass was never empty. then time to relax with more wine, movie, nintendo wii or short trip into les carroz to one of the bars.

The skiing was fantastic, helped by Sean who acted as a guide on several occasions. The chalet is ideally located to get to either Les Molliets lift or strap on your board/ski and cut through the trees to a red slope that takes you to the main Les Carroz DMC . on blue sky days head over to Flaine,however if the weather closes in the tree lined slopes of Les carroz, Morillon and Samoens have more than enough to keep the advanced skier/boarder busy.

can't wait to get back out and have already started looking to see if i can a long weekend in the end of feb.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews