We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Short Skiing Break”
Review of la Croix de Savoie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
la Croix de Savoie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 10, 2013

As older skiers we now find six days skiing a bit too much so booked la Croix de Savoie for four days as an alternative to our usual apartment based ski holiday. The hotel was perfect - excellent value for money and excellent breakfast and dinner. We didn't book half board because we know Les Carroz and intended to take dinner in the village - we ended up eating in the restaurant for three of the five evenings we were there ! The proprietors really made us feel we were welcome and that they enjoyed looking after their guests. Slight downside is the distance from the slopes but once we got the hang of the timing of the navette it was not too bad.

A bit naughty but we took a kettle so we could have tea and hot drinks as we wanted. You do get dehydrated skiing so tea and coffee making facilities would add to a near perfect package

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil F P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDGTD, Propriétaire at la Croix de Savoie, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Madame, Monsieur,

Thanks very much for your stay and your comment on this website.

The familly is very happy for you because you are happy about the room, the staff, the breakfast, the restaurant, .... and we hope you come back another time in the hotel.

Just for the tea and coffee making facilities, yes you don't have this in the room but during the holiday we propose the "afternoon tea By le Carré Bar" every afternoon with pastry, cakes, tea, hot chocolate, vin chaud, ... for you. But you said that "near perfect package" so then you say that the package is perfect for us it is very important. We note your remark and we will try to find a solution for next year.

Many thanks again,

La Famille and all staff,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 222 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my husband for 4 days the week before Christmas. It was the weekend the resort opened for the season and therefore was quite empty. The hotel was brilliant, really quite un-faultable. the service from all the staff was excellent, professional yet friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable and very well decorated. We ate in the hotel restaurant one evening and found the food to be equally as excellent. No expense seems to have been spared.
We walked in to Les Carroz centre 3 nights which was a 10 -15 minute walk, downhill there uphill back but it is a very pretty town to walk around. We drove to the lift each morning which wasn't a problem.
I hope to go back next winter!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aimee00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDGTD, Propriétaire at la Croix de Savoie, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Madame, Monsieur,

Many thanks for your message. The Familly is happy for you because you had a great time in the hotel and also during your dinner in the Gastronomic Restaurant.

Of course the hotel is just at 10 minutes to walk from the village but on the quiet part in the village : that perfect for the calm moments.

We hope to see you next year,

Best reegards and take care,

La Famille and all staff,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked last minute and this was the only place left. There is never anyone on reception. We arrived at 10pm and the front door was locked and it took us 10 minutes waiting outside until we could get someone's attention to let us in. We had told them in advance that we would be arriving at about 10pm. We paid for WiFi but it didn't work in our room and they weren't prepared to refund the cost of it. There is lots of food but its not particularly nice. Perhaps this is because we were on the half board tariff. This also meant we had to eat our evening meal in the brasserie which was more like a school canteen and even though it was almost empty they put us to sit by the doorway every evening. The worst thing was the bad BO of the manager and every time he walked by during the evening meal the smell put you off eating. Good points - bedroom was clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berylhinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDGTD, Owner at la Croix de Savoie, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Madame, Monsieur,


You write on this web site after you leave our house with a lot of compliments about your stay !!


We add for that your comment to be clear :


You stay in our establishment in January and you have expressed your satisfaction during your stay and on departure. The same day of your departure we have sent a email to say thank but also to gather your views on our house. You replied in the end of February in a message very friendly and aim with some negative points but also lots of positives. We have responded by email the next day for providing all the answers to your questions.


Today, we find that your speech is much less moderate in your mail: surprising. Even more surprising to learn that there are just the negative points from your new mail. More surprising to read your comment, given that when you leave the hotel you were very happy but now you write your dissatisfaction!

Why do not we have shared your comments during your stay but you wait to put something on the internet? What is the purpose, if it is to damage our image and hurt our family reading your final opinion?

Our family work throughout the year to accommodate you better, offer a new service, organize your transfers (like for your taxi), to buy you ski passes, to do some recommendation, ... So we accept all comments, criticisms when they are constructive! Each visitor will judge! Also each visitor remarked that you choice our hotel was made in the last option and not for the quality, for the rooms, and also not for the ecological demarche or our family!


• "the reception was closed at 22h in the evening" you can’t say you did not know because in the booking confirmation we explain the opening and closing hours of the reception and what do you do if you have a late arrival! Add that you did not stay out for the night and that solution was found in less than 5 minutes!

• "internet is not free and it doesn't work and we do not have it refunded": bad faith is complete because you just look at your bill and to see the internet has been paid for you because you have been unable to use on your tablet not powerful enough to find the signal. In fact all our computers are the signal in your room.

• "have eaten in the Brasserie restaurant and which resembled a school canteen and there was nobody." So if the school canteens like our Brasserie restaurant we would be very proud for the school children. Do you know many canteens with table service and the food on the plates by servers that pays special attention to you? Do you know many canteens with tissue chairs and a table cloth for you? ... ? Finally, regarding the people in the restaurant you came at a time when we had no many half-board menus and because we organize a big meeting with more than 35 people. Note that there has been no nuisance for you!

• "food doesn't suit you." Each user based on feedback from other travelers! And also it's surprising that you do not mention the meal prepared especially for you late arrival ... You done us, in the mail that you sent us, many compliments!

• "having problems with the manager" what strange remark! Perhaps to justify your comment and rating.

We remain at your disposal for more information and we hope the comment as more clear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

La Croix de Savoie is a great place to stay. The residence has been recently renovated with all new fixtures and fittings. The staff are very friendly, the beds really comfortable, the rooms cosy and warm. External electronic blinds make sure you're not woken too early! The rooms don't have tea & coffee facilities but these can be picked up from reception if you need them. The hotel has a restaurant and bar and Les Carroz centre is only a 10 to 15 minute walk for lots of lovely bars and restaurant. The negatives: no door step skiing, you need to take the free ski bus to and from the hotel. Breakfast was not included in the room rate. Only a shower in the bathroom, no bath! Non of which spoiled our stay but we did have a car!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon_Hardcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDGTD, Propriétaire at la Croix de Savoie, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Madame, Monsieur,

We looking your comments this morning and we are happy beacause you are a lovely time in our family hotel.

The hotel is just at 10 or 15 minutes to walk but we are on the very quite part of the village and the free buses are coming for 10 times in the hotel each days.

We hope to see you another time on our house.

Many thanks again and take care,

La Famille and all staff,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We will look forward to returning to this lovely family-run hotel, where nothing is too much trouble.

La croix de Savoie is a lovely family run hotel. We will definitely be returning. Perfect for couples. Bit out of the night life but not a problem for us as we are here for the skiing. The hotel furnishings are seemingly brand new in a semi- scandi style-- natural colours, pale wooden fittings, huge wall canvases of mega flowers and excellent space saving design features. Our room is not massive yet has everything we could need( except a travel kettle but maybe that's just Brits Abroad. It is as good if not better than photos on the web. Quality bathroom fittings- Villeroy Bosch with trendy , simple style.
Pitch black at night due to electric shutter system.
We are half-board Breakfast is great- fruits, local cheeses, hams, homemade jams, scrambled eggs, local sausages, croissants, capuccino etc etc
High tea available then four course meal at night- home made soup and bread, then a starter, main meal and pud. It is a set menu but not been disappointed yet.
Very, very clean too. is a ten min walk down into the quaint village of Les Carroz but there is also a bus stop- line D- right outside or you can easily drive down and find a park either in the village square or , as we have done, outside Carroz Sports at the top of the village. We've hired from there. Heated locker room and straight out of the back of the shop up a drag lift to the main cable car. No huge queues even at half term.

The variety of skiing is excellent as it is easily possible to access all areas of the Grand Massif region. Could ski different runs all day long except some are so fab you just have to do them again. There's easy access down into lower villages too. Morrillon was very relaxing today. The long wide green and blue runs were busy but wide enough for it not to be a problem- if you wanted to whizz past then it was possible. Good burger at The Igloo- think it was beef. Tasty anyway.

great holiday - we will come back to this hotel, and can recommend it very strongly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alberino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDGTD, Propriétaire at la Croix de Savoie, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Madame, Monsieur,

Many thanks for your long and importante comment. All precisions are importante for the future guest. The familly is happy for you than you has been a lovely stay at the hotel.

We hope to see you another time with us in the familly hotel, maybe for skiing or in summer !

Best regards,

La Famille and all staff,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

we have recently returned from la croix de savoie.we booked a premium room which had everything we could have wished for.very tastefully finished with fantastic views of the mountains.the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpfull. the food was lovely,all being home cooked;.we were able to catch a ski bus just outside the hotel which took us to the telecabin.we were also able to walk into les carroz,which took us twenty minutes.we will certainly be returning when we book our next winter holiday.

Room Tip: go for the premium rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carolyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDGTD, Propriétaire at la Croix de Savoie, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Madame, Monsieur,

Many thanks for your positive comments. it's a very big pleasure, for us to welcome you in the family hotel La Croix de Savoie.

We hope we see you another time here.

Thanks again,

La Famille and all staff,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We've just returned from this lovely little hotel in Les Carroz, France. The rooms are lovely, the showers are fantastic and the breakfasts were excellent. We also dined in the restaurant a couple of evenings and enjoyed the food and ambiance. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

The hotel is a little walk away from the village centre but there is a good ski bus service to the telecabine through the day. There is a small bar in the hotel but we preferred to travel in to the village in the evenings where there are a good range of restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nonal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDGTD, Propriétaire at la Croix de Savoie, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear,

we are very happy when we reading your comments because we note than the shower, the breakfast, the gastronomic meal, the staff, ... are nice for you.

Our family works every day to better accommodate you and we hope to see you a other time in the hotel.

Take care,

La Famille and all staff,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Carroz-d'Araches
0.4 mi away
Hotel les Servages d'Armelle
Hotel les Servages d'Armelle
#1 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Airelles
Les Airelles
#5 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
49 reviews
2.9 mi away
Terminal Neige - Totem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Hotel Les Roches & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Residence les Servages
Hotel Residence les Servages
#4 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
21 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 6 in Samoens
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to la Croix de Savoie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about la Croix de Savoie

Address: 768 route du Pernand, 74300 Les Carroz-d'Araches, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Les Carroz-d'Araches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Les Carroz-d'Araches
Price Range: $149 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — la Croix de Savoie 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & restaurant La Croix de Savoie bids you welcome to the 1st BioClimatic hotel & restaurant of the Rhone-Alps region and the 3rd new hotel of this type in France (opened on 24 December 2010). This highly comfortable hotel provides the opportunity to really get close to nature and to enjoy healthy living in an eco-friendly bioclimatic environment, just 800m from the village of Carroz d'Arâches and 500m from the ski slopes of Flaine. Spacious, bright bedrooms, suites and family room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your la Croix de Savoie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Croix De Savoie France/Haute-Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing