We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nestled in the lovely village of Les Carroz”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of la Croix de Savoie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
la Croix de Savoie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nestled in the lovely village of Les Carroz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

La Croix de Savoie is a great place to stay. The residence has been recently renovated with all new fixtures and fittings. The staff are very friendly, the beds really comfortable, the rooms cosy and warm. External electronic blinds make sure you're not woken too early! The rooms don't have tea & coffee facilities but these can be picked up from reception if you need them. The hotel has a restaurant and bar and Les Carroz centre is only a 10 to 15 minute walk for lots of lovely bars and restaurant. The negatives: no door step skiing, you need to take the free ski bus to and from the hotel. Breakfast was not included in the room rate. Only a shower in the bathroom, no bath! Non of which spoiled our stay but we did have a car!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon_Hardcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDGTD, Propriétaire at la Croix de Savoie, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Madame, Monsieur,

We looking your comments this morning and we are happy beacause you are a lovely time in our family hotel.

The hotel is just at 10 or 15 minutes to walk but we are on the very quite part of the village and the free buses are coming for 10 times in the hotel each days.

We hope to see you another time on our house.

Many thanks again and take care,

La Famille and all staff,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    83
    13
    13
    7
See reviews for
55
91
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We will look forward to returning to this lovely family-run hotel, where nothing is too much trouble.

La croix de Savoie is a lovely family run hotel. We will definitely be returning. Perfect for couples. Bit out of the night life but not a problem for us as we are here for the skiing. The hotel furnishings are seemingly brand new in a semi- scandi style-- natural colours, pale wooden fittings, huge wall canvases of mega flowers and excellent space saving design features. Our room is not massive yet has everything we could need( except a travel kettle but maybe that's just Brits Abroad. It is as good if not better than photos on the web. Quality bathroom fittings- Villeroy Bosch with trendy , simple style.
Pitch black at night due to electric shutter system.
We are half-board Breakfast is great- fruits, local cheeses, hams, homemade jams, scrambled eggs, local sausages, croissants, capuccino etc etc
High tea available then four course meal at night- home made soup and bread, then a starter, main meal and pud. It is a set menu but not been disappointed yet.
Very, very clean too. is a ten min walk down into the quaint village of Les Carroz but there is also a bus stop- line D- right outside or you can easily drive down and find a park either in the village square or , as we have done, outside Carroz Sports at the top of the village. We've hired from there. Heated locker room and straight out of the back of the shop up a drag lift to the main cable car. No huge queues even at half term.

The variety of skiing is excellent as it is easily possible to access all areas of the Grand Massif region. Could ski different runs all day long except some are so fab you just have to do them again. There's easy access down into lower villages too. Morrillon was very relaxing today. The long wide green and blue runs were busy but wide enough for it not to be a problem- if you wanted to whizz past then it was possible. Good burger at The Igloo- think it was beef. Tasty anyway.

great holiday - we will come back to this hotel, and can recommend it very strongly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alberino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDGTD, Propriétaire at la Croix de Savoie, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Madame, Monsieur,

Many thanks for your long and importante comment. All precisions are importante for the future guest. The familly is happy for you than you has been a lovely stay at the hotel.

We hope to see you another time with us in the familly hotel, maybe for skiing or in summer !

Best regards,

La Famille and all staff,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

we have recently returned from la croix de savoie.we booked a premium room which had everything we could have wished for.very tastefully finished with fantastic views of the mountains.the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpfull. the food was lovely,all being home cooked;.we were able to catch a ski bus just outside the hotel which took us to the telecabin.we were also able to walk into les carroz,which took us twenty minutes.we will certainly be returning when we book our next winter holiday.

Room Tip: go for the premium rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carolyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDGTD, Propriétaire at la Croix de Savoie, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Madame, Monsieur,

Many thanks for your positive comments. it's a very big pleasure, for us to welcome you in the family hotel La Croix de Savoie.

We hope we see you another time here.

Thanks again,

La Famille and all staff,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We've just returned from this lovely little hotel in Les Carroz, France. The rooms are lovely, the showers are fantastic and the breakfasts were excellent. We also dined in the restaurant a couple of evenings and enjoyed the food and ambiance. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

The hotel is a little walk away from the village centre but there is a good ski bus service to the telecabine through the day. There is a small bar in the hotel but we preferred to travel in to the village in the evenings where there are a good range of restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nonal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDGTD, Propriétaire at la Croix de Savoie, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear,

we are very happy when we reading your comments because we note than the shower, the breakfast, the gastronomic meal, the staff, ... are nice for you.

Our family works every day to better accommodate you and we hope to see you a other time in the hotel.

Take care,

La Famille and all staff,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just returned from a great week at this hotel. We it found it very comfortable with great walk in showers.the breakfast was top quality and staff more than helpfull.
Some reports say that it is a bit out of town ,however we found the walk back after eating out to be refreshing.We ate in the hotel two nights and found th food to be excellent .We just like to try different places when we'd re out.There are lots of good restaurants in this delightful resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Longfield369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDGTD, Propriétaire at la Croix de Savoie, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hello everyone,

This small message just for thank you very much for you very kind message.

We passed a nice moment with you and we hope to see you a other time in the hotel.

Take care,

La Famille and all staff,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valence, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just returned from 3 night stay. The hotel was very welcoming and had friendly staff. The rooms are of a high standard with superb walk in shower - lovely hot water after a hard days skiing! There is a complementary bus shuttle service to take you to the lift but if you have your own car it's easy. The owners keep the drive very clear of snow. The food also was excellent although we only ate there one night as there are many very good restaurants/bars to eat in the local town which is about 1KM walk - quite easy unless you have a disability. If I had to be critical I would say that the early awakening from the noise of the snow clearer was a little rude but only happened once commencing around 7.00 a.m. But I would stay there again!

Room Tip: Probably not room 1 as it's right by reception where everyone goes past - I would ask for an ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonVonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Hotel slightly out of the town but linked with free ski bus which runs at convenient times at start and end of day. Allows you to use the warm ski lockers at the bottom of the gondola so less hassle carrying your gear around. A couple of reasonable bars in the main square ok for après ski. Ski hire shops situated mid way between hotel and town or in the square. Book on line for best deals.
Hotel was rebuilt last year and is very comfortable. Family run with mother as chef. Breakfast provides all you need without being extensive choice. Dinner is 3 or 4 course typical menu de jour but the a la carte restaurant in the next room serves very good food. We tried the taster menu one night and the food was of a very good standard. Reasonable choice I wine a fair price. Good bar and lounge to relax in.
We were very lucky with the snow. Resort is low but had snowed and did snow every night so perfect conditions. All but beginners will need to buy the lift pas to include Flaine. Plenty of blue and red skiing with off piste areas to play in if required which seem fairly safe. Was crowded on the Sunday but otherwise quiet considering it's proximity to Geneva.
Very good choice for a short break with friends.
Would recommend th reor and the hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Carroz-d'Araches
0.4 mi away
Hotel les Servages d'Armelle
Hotel les Servages d'Armelle
#1 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.9 mi away
Terminal Neige - Totem
0.4 mi away
Hotel Residence les Servages
Hotel Residence les Servages
#4 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Les Airelles
Les Airelles
#6 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Relais du Mont Blanc
4.9 mi away
Hotel le Morillon
Hotel le Morillon
#1 of 6 in Morillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to la Croix de Savoie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about la Croix de Savoie

Property: la Croix de Savoie
Address: 768 route du Pernand, 74300 Les Carroz-d'Araches, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Les Carroz-d'Araches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Les Carroz-d'Araches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — la Croix de Savoie 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & restaurant La Croix de Savoie bids you welcome to the 1st BioClimatic hotel & restaurant of the Rhone-Alps region and the 3rd new hotel of this type in France (opened on 24 December 2010). This highly comfortable hotel provides the opportunity to really get close to nature and to enjoy healthy living in an eco-friendly bioclimatic environment, just 800m from the village of Carroz d'Arâches and 500m from the ski slopes of Flaine. Spacious, bright bedrooms, suites and family room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your la Croix de Savoie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Croix De Savoie France/Haute-Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing