We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second stay and I'll be back for a third”
Review of Chalet Deux Freres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Carroz-d'Araches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Deux Freres
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“My second stay and I'll be back for a third”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My 11 year old wants to build a snow cave when we come back and sleep out for a night, Sophie (staff member and permanent Les Carroz resident) thinks this is a fabulous idea and is going to scope out a spot and gather up some gear for us when we come again.
This sums up the Deux Freres experience, lovely enthusiastic hosts, fabulous food, the ski slopes are really close and there is something for everyone in the area.
This is my second visit to Deux Freres from South Africa and I came back with 8 friends and family - all of us were impressed: great slopes for all levels of experience; snow shoeing for the hardened hikers; freshly baked cakes for afternoon tea; a short walk to the villiage for a drink in a friendly bar; and a limitless supply of Nutella for the kids.
We all plan to come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiologycouk, General Manager at Chalet Deux Freres, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Aw thank you. It was lovely to see you again and thank you for brining us such a nice team of people too. Glad to read that you had a good time and I will get on the case helping Soph to find a good location for that snow cave! Dom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our group of 9 spent a week here for Christmas. The chalet was fantastic, the hosts were polite, efficient and excellent chefs and the location is great for the main lift up to the ski area.
The chalet's facilities are perfectly suited to groups and the food was brilliant. Skiology's relationship with ski hire in the village was great, resulting in a mini van being sent to transport all of us dow to the hire shop and ferry all of our gear back up!
Les Carroz is a great little town with a really authentic feel. The use of the ski lockers at the base of the lift is highly recommended - although the chalet is a very short walk from the lift, it is easy and convenient!
The ski area itself was throughly enjoyable with plenty of accessible skiing and access to the other villages in the Grand Massif.

Overall, great hosts, great chalet and a great holiday!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiologycouk, General Manager at Chalet Deux Freres, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Really happy to read that you had a good time. I will let the chaps from ski-set know that you enjoyed their service too. Looking forward to seeing you again next year. Dom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our family group enjoyed a superb 5-day break at Skiology's excellent Chalet Deux Freres in the stunningly pretty, quiet, very French Les Carroz resort this Feburary. Deux Freres, perfectly located just 5 mins walk from the main Kedeuze gondola, was spotless, warm, comfortable and well-equipped. Great hospitality, and food/wine of excellent quality, were provided by our friendly, articulate chalet host, Sandy. Skiology's arrangements, for our Geneva transfers (<1 hour), ski-passes, and Skiset hire, worked well for a smooth trip that maximised our skiing.. Deep, fresh snow just before, and during our visit meantsuperb skiing across the beautiful tree-lined Les Carroz pistes, and the Massif pass connected ski villages of Morillion, Samoens, Sixt, with Flaine above. Most pistes and lifts were often near-empty without queing, except on a bright Sunday. Mountain restaurants/cafes were outstanding/good value, and the village a delight.
Owners Steph and Dom, friendly/helpful. throughout, have a great formula here. Really excellent!

Room Tip: Bedrooms all of decent size, differ only in bath/shower access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKanalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiologycouk, Manager at Chalet Deux Freres, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it has made my week! Hope to see you again soon. Dom and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Seven days of heaven and our party are were not there to ski or snowboard. Just got back (Sunday 13th January)... what a fantastic week. Chalet Deux Freres is perfectly situated in the village for access to ski lifts, the centre of the village with its shops, bars restaurants bakeries etc. The Chelet is first class with a great cozy atmosphere. The hosts Sophie and Sandy were very professional, providing us with delicious meals, clean tidy enviroment, advice and support. These young people are high caliber individuals in their own right, so this mixed with Skiology's high level of professionalism gives a wow factor. Steph and Dom have created a business that commands respect, this was so obviously reflected in the way the local people and businesses treated us. We have not had a winter holiday like this before but we very much hope to be back..... this time with skis and snowboards. Don't be misled by this comment, we non skiers went to all the pistes and saw all the sights so do not be put off. WELL DONE SKIOLOGY. From Ian and Suzanne

Room Tip: Front of chalet with views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiologycouk, General Manager at Chalet Deux Freres, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Aw thanks Mr H. Really glad to hear you had a good time especially as a non-skier, well soon to be skier. Sophie and Sandy are absolute stars. Sorry that I did not get to see you this time. Thanks again for supporting what we do. Dom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 day ski break in Les Carroz. Our stay in the Chalet Deux Freres made the trip extra special. Dom and Steph ( ably assisted by Gid ) were superb hosts - every request and query was facilitated and dealt with in a positive way. The chalet was comfortable with a lovely atmosphere. Breakfasts were great, with Gid's porridge my fuel for the day, and the evening meals were prepared with amazing attention to detail and to a very high standard.
Steph and Dom have a passion for their business which is very obvious.
The chalet is a short walk to the cable car and there are quick ways to almost ski home

Room Tip: Request en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Little to add to previous reviews - high standard of service from owners who have a commitment to excellence. Catering very good, varied, fresh/local ingredients, imaginatively cooked.
Dom, Steph & Gid could not have done more to help out during a 3 day ski break - in fact went well beyond what I would normally expect. Less than 5 minute walk to lifts, similar into small (busy) village centre.
Interesting ski area(s) ; 3/4 days possibly enough for active skiers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LimpetScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We have just returned from a 5 day skiing break staying in chalet deux freres in les Carroz. Dom, Steph and Gideon were wonderful hosts, providing great food and ski hire, passes etc. looking after our every need in a most unobtrusive way. It definitely deserves the 5 stars previous reviewers have given.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorkHibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Les Carroz-d'Araches hotels
0.7 mi away
la Croix de Savoie
la Croix de Savoie
#3 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel les Servages d'Armelle
Hotel les Servages d'Armelle
#1 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cgh Residences & Spa Les Chalets de Leana
Cgh Residences & Spa Les Chalets...
#8 of 16 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Les Airelles
Les Airelles
#6 of 7 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes du Soleil
Pierre & Vacances Premium Reside...
#1 of 16 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Flocons Verts
Les Flocons Verts
#2 of 16 in Les Carroz-d'Araches
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Deux Freres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Deux Freres

Property: Chalet Deux Freres
Address: 96 Route De Grangettes, 74300 Les Carroz-d'Araches, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Les Carroz-d'Araches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Les Carroz-d'Araches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built when only the best plots were available. 200M from the telecabine. The closest catered chalet in Les Carroz to the telecabine and just a short walk from the centre of the village. Deux Freres has guests coming back time and time again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Deux Freres France/Haute-Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing