We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Again very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Raffaello Park Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Zeeland, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Again very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

Visited the hotel for the second time. In the meanwhile the owner has changed. This is very nice hotel nearby the big church. Rooms are spacious and (as the rest of the hotel) very clean. Bathroom is quit small and the shower very small and difficult to enter. Room has airconditioning and nice windows with shutters, Breakfast is Italian plus, comparable with American Continental breakfast, but then without plastics. Restaurants nearby. Internet available, but at 2 euro per hour.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    55
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
74
89
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

I visited Assisi during the festival of Calendimaggio and, although it would have been nice to stay in the town of Assisi proper during the festivities, I greatly appreciated returning to the peace and quiet of Santa Maria degli Angeli at the end of the day. This little hotel is superbly located close to the train station and busses (several of which run every 30 min. or so to Assisi – about a 10 to 15 minute trip) and is a short walk from the Church of Santa Maria degli Angeli (and the lovely Porziuncula within). The sleeping accommodations are excellent as are the fantastic breakfasts and fabulous cappuccino…the cost is very reasonable…and I won't hesitate to rebook with them on my next return to Assisi.

  • Liked — the cost and the service
  • Disliked — a little out-of-the-way for a solo traveller
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylMav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2007

This is a fantastic hotel - and not just in terms of great value for money. Our room was wonderful - wooden floor and painted walls and ceiling, clean and spacious: the breakfasts were great with a very wide choice of fare, and the staff, led by owner Francesco, were courteous, very friendly and helpful.
We stayed at the hotel for 6 days, using it as a base to explore the area - Assisi (just about 3 km away), Perugia, Gubio and Spello - just using buses and trains which were totally reliable and very good value for money. Not having a car did not hamper us in any way.
The other great find was La Basilica restaurant just behind the Basilica in Santa Maria degli Angeli, a short walk from the hotel. The owner Claudio and head waiter Francesco were great hosts and the food was wonderful and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RogerMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carbondale, co
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2007

This was our favorite stay over a two week tour of Italy. We arrived by train in this little town of Santa Maria Angeli, which is at the base of the hill on which Assisi sits. It is about a 10 minute walk on good sidewalks from the station to Villa San Raffaelo....We asked for directions at the station in very poor Spanish, and they kept telling us that it is not called "Villa San Raffaelo PARK" but that it sits IN a park. Nevertheless, their directions were good and yes, it really does sort of sit in the middle of a park. Just go out the door of the train station where the buses pick up and turn left. When you are across from the McDonald's, turn left again, go past the Basilica, and at the roundabout, bear right...then take the next left at the corner where all the tour buses are parked and you will be there. We found that there was a bus stop both at the Basilica, AND at the corner near the tour bus park that took us to Assisi in about 10 minutes, with tickets purchased for about 80 cents at the Tabacchi shops just across from both bus stops. We did this several days in a row, and it was great. There is also a laundromat across from the roundabout that is great for a traveler.

We had a gorgeous, huge room at the back of the hotel with our own terrace overlooking the "park". Breakfast is wonderful, with any drink you want made to order. One lady speaks fairly good English, otherwise, not....but it was no problem at all. Our bed was at least a queen, comfortable. We had tv, a mini-bar, wardrobe, and large bath with shower, and its own shuttered window. It was a great place to dry hand laundry because of all the windows/terrace. There are emergency buttons by each side of the bed, and separately controlled reading lamps. The high ceilings are frescoed beautifully. The only downside is that because of the wood floors and all the high ceilings, every little sound echoes, although I can't say that I was bothered by anyone else's noise.

This little town, Santa Maria Angeli is so very friendly, and more like a normal place one would live than a tourist town. We also can highly recommend "La Rosa" restaurant on the street parallel to the Basilica. We had the "touristico special" two nights, and both were delicious. No English spoken, but we sure had fun with charades.

Some of the reviews sound like it is a problem without a vehicle, but we travelled two weeks by train and bus, and had no problems whatsoever...especially not here.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Soccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2007

When we arrived at Villa Raffaello Park Hotel, Santa Maria degli Angeli, we were taken to Hotel Panda - just across the road. We never did find out why this was, perhaps because it was the Easter weekend. We found the staff at both Villa Raffaello and Hotel Panda to be very friendly - the hotel manager at Villa Rafaello was so friendly and polite (even though he couldn't speak a word of English and we were just as bad at Italian). Our room at Hotel Panda was clean and tidy. Our breakfast (which was included in the price) was at Villa Raffaello Park Hotel which we walked to each morning. There was a great range of yummy cakes and pastries as well as a selection of cereal, fruit and yoghurt. Coffees were made freshly to your request and gorgeous little chocolates set at every breakfast place. Alfredo, the hotel manager took a lot of personal pride in his business and was extremely helpful and polite despite the language barrier.

You could reach Assisi via the local bus which left outside the basillica or walk up the hill (which takes about 45 mins - at an easy pace - stop to admire the view along the way if you're not as fit as some).

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Room mix-up
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustralianCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2006

excellent location and friendly staff.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Leahalbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taipei
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2006

We have to say it's the best hotel we'd ever had in Italy so far. The best and the cheapest. But there is one small problem with the hotel, it is a little bit far away from Assisi DT. If you don't travel by car, then maybe it's not your choice. But if you do, then it is your own choice.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamie&jeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria degli Angeli
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
2.0 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dal Moro Gallery Hotel
Dal Moro Gallery Hotel
#5 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#4 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cenacolo
Hotel Cenacolo
#4 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Raffaello Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Raffaello Park Hotel

Property: Villa Raffaello Park Hotel
Address: Via Diaz 6, 06081 Santa Maria degli Angeli, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi > Santa Maria degli Angeli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Raffaello Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Raffaello Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Raffaello Park
Villa Raffaello Park Hotel Italy/Santa Maria Degli Angeli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing