We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern”
Review of Hotel Cenacolo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cenacolo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as a part of a tour with students. It is close to Assisi which is why we stayed here. The hotel is in front of a monastery. It also is very easy to hear talking and noises. Guests complained to the front desk for kids just normal talking in the hallway. Despite the noise situation and expensive wifi the hotel is clean and modern. They have nice common areas to rest and relax outside of your room.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Meeshs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 670 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed in this hotel as part of a tour. It is conveniently located near the old town and basilica.
Check in was fast and problem free. Wifi was expensive, $5 euros and fiddly as you need to continually log in with a complicated password.
Breakfast was good. Dinner basic and very much much tourist class. As we know how good Italian meals can be it was disappointing. It was also very difficult to converse as the dining room had little or no acoustics.
The room was basic and white. Little or no storage or drawers but sufficient for one night, not recommended for a long stay unless you get bigger room. AC could do with some maintenance as it was not very efficient . Beds ok..

Room Tip: Enquire about AC. This can be a problem in hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyAuckand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Hotel is in a good location for visiting the Basilica. However, it was not my favorite hotel of our trip to Italy. Very modern hotel -- room décor is "minimalist." Without décor. So plain, I felt like I was in a cell. Hotel lobby nice, but breakfast/dinner area acoustics made conversations difficult. Very LOUD. As for the staff, the two women behind front desk didn't even look up from their papers when asked a question. Too busy to make eye contact & answer with a smile? However, a male staff member was very nice. Our friends had plumbing problems in room across the hall from us. I would choose another hotel. But if you like modern, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dleg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Cenacolo while in Assisi..large enough room, clean, quiet, the staff made no complaints about changing large euros to small and mailing postcards for me..they have a nice restaurant with buffet breakfast and good dinner menu..

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigbillsbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Hotel Cenacola, a former convent, looks amazing, with lots of large windows and light. Therein, however, lies its problem. We visited over a couple of extremely warm days and the place was suffocating, particularly the dining room, where the windows are not able to be opened, the walls are unadorned and the AC was inefficient, making it hot and loud! The hotel is well located, within easy reach of both the upper and lower parts of Assisi.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ouzo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

While this hotel clearly prides itself on being "modern" - the decor is the only aspect that fits the bill. The hotel is in a quiet area but its a ways from the monastery. Our room consisted of a large room with a desk with tv atop and only one chair. The bedroom had two beds but was separate from the "sitting room" -- two beds in one room but only one chair in the other? Also, our room faced the tour bus parking area--a shame because I'm pretty sure every other side of the building would have had more relaxing views.

The breakfast buffet was unremarkable and the dinner was plentiful but equally unimpressive. The service was further disappointing, particularly the exceptionally rude young woman at the reception desk.

The hotel offers wifi, at a price (I believe it was 5 euros for the night), but it was a pain to use. Only worked in the hotel room (not in the lobby, restaurant, or any common areas) and required the user to constantly re-log in with a complicated username and password (don't lose that tiny slip with the details!).

If you can stay somewhere else, do so!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling_Do_Good-er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

I only stayed in this hotel for one night when we visited Assisi with my tour group. It's modern, clean and very nice hotel to stay at. I quiet like it and plan to use it again when I will spend more time in Assisi (one of my favorite small towns in Italy) on my next trip.
This hotel is not too far from Assisi and really close to Basilica of Santa Maria degli Angeli. I recommend it.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Armen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria degli Angeli
2.2 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
694 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
1.7 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dal Moro Gallery Hotel
Dal Moro Gallery Hotel
#3 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
371 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 72 in Assisi
507 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#5 of 72 in Assisi
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cenacolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cenacolo

Address: Via Patrono d'Italia 70, 06081 Santa Maria degli Angeli, Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi > Santa Maria degli Angeli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
Price Range: $82 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cenacolo 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the first moment, entering the Hotel Cenacolo Assisi, the atmosphere is a world apart, made of simple and precious things, where hospitality meets the Franciscan tradition in this wonderful city of peace, Assisi, to experience strong emotions. The Hotel Cenacolo Assisi is the Franciscan Hotel of Santa Maria degli Angeli, where a skilful restoration has allowed us to maintain the original structure, respecting its suggestions and connotations as convent. The architectural elements and materials used, such as the stone of Assisi, along with steel and glass, are a masterful blend of ancient and modern. At Hotel Cenacolo Assisi you will enjoy some wonderful days in Assisi. Stay in one of our comfortable guestrooms including classic, superior rooms and junior suites, perfect for getaways with your partner or with friends. Likewise, you will enjoy great moments with yours in our beautiful cloister, a very special venue to celebrate your wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cenacolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ora Hotels Cenacolo Hotel Santa Maria Degli Angeli
Hotel Cenacolo Italy/Santa Maria Degli Angeli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing