We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Converted Monastory”
Review of Hotel Cenacolo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cenacolo
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Converted Monastory”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

10 min walk from train station & easy 15 ish min by bus to main Assisi town on the hill.
Hotel is clean, modern and spacious with good sized bathroom. Nice little inner courtyard & plenty of car parking if you're driving (which we weren't).
Breakfast was the best we'd had in our stay in Italy but felt the head guy at breakfast was always watching when we went up for seconds!!
Girls on reception we encountered were lovely but the guy was a little cold.
Check out the church on the other side of the train tracks, well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiHJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    241
    68
    17
    20
See reviews for
127
239
10
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We booked this hotel not knowing that Santa Maria degli Angeli was such an important place for pilgrims (off course we could have known just looking at the name). But it wasn't a bad thing! The hotel is an old monastery completely renovated to high standards you expect nowadays from a 4* hotel. Room was of normal size and bathroom had an rain shower. You can see the hotel is still quite new, because of the nice design. Breakfast overall was nice, but on Sunday morning all the family that had stayed over from the wedding that night before, caused there was not so much left after they started eating. Later on the waiters luckily brought nice cakes & bread. Overall a nice stay in a lovely area with Assisi just "around the corner".

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KavdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The hotel is nicely designed with the exterior brick in keeping with the surrounding area and new/modern interiors without being too modern. The large courtyard in the center of the hotel is an inviting and nice place to relax after a day of sightseeing. This hotel is a good option if you have a car since it is easily accessible and offers plenty of parking. It can be difficult to find hotels in Assisi or Perugia with easy access by car since they are hilltop towns and some areas in town are for pedestrians only.
The room at the hotel was impeccably clean, with a comfy bed & good size bathroom. Breakfast was generous with fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, yogurt, juices, coffee,etc.

The only small problem was that I had to keep asking the reception staff to turn on the AC in my room. There is a control in the room but the main power seems to be controlled by the front desk so the AC kept blowing hot air until I informed the reception desk and they then switched it on; I had to ask on 3 separate occasions. Also, the computer in the lobby offering free internet is very slow so couldnt even use it and the reception staff said they couldnt do anything about the connection.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YourFriendInItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed here as a mid-point stop between Rome and Venice, and absolutely fell in love with the hotel which is at the bottom of the hill from Assisi, a charming little town I didn't want to leave! The hotel breakfast was superb, staff extremely accomodating, free internet, gorgeous courtyard area. I imagine it was low season because there were not alot of guests, to the point it felt a little creepy at times. We drove up the hill to the quaint town of Assisi where the locals were all very authentic, the roads steep and cobbled, but quite the fantastic Umbrian views and many beautiful churches to explore. The room at the hotel was impeccably clean, the bathroom felt luxurious and grand. We loved every second of it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank belladolcevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
158 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We recently stayed here on our tour of Italy with the Trafalgar tour company. We found this hotel to be one of the more modern hotels of our trip. It's a convenient walk to shops and restaurants. We stayed at this hotel after our visit to St. Francis of Assisi. Dinner was included in our tour package - it wasn't the best.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbfamily4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

This is a very nice hotel. It is about 5 minutes walk from the Assisi train station. There is a bus station right next to the hotel to take you up the hill to Assisi

The room we had is very nice and very comfortable.
The morning breakfast buffer has a lot of things to choose from

The only thing I will complain about is the speed of its internet connection but again that is not that important

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MapleLeafsfanforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
462 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

This hotel is all about form with little substance. I had one of my poorest hotel experiences in Europe at this hotel. It is not easy to find as there is almost no signage along the highway. The rooms are large but with a great deal of wasted space. The advertised "free internet" never worked during our stay. At breakfast a large tour group ate all of the warm food and the staff did not replenish food nor beverage. The bathrooms have tile floors that are very slippery when wet. Lighting in the rooms is weird. When I mentioned all of this to the staff at reception all I received was a shrug. We would never stay here again and would recommend others to be aware.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank highdesertbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria degli Angeli
1.3 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
0.5 mi away
Dal Moro Gallery Hotel
Dal Moro Gallery Hotel
#5 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#4 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#5 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cenacolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cenacolo

Property: Hotel Cenacolo
Address: Via Patrono d'Italia 70, 06081 Santa Maria degli Angeli, Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi > Santa Maria degli Angeli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria degli Angeli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cenacolo 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the first moment, entering the Hotel Cenacolo Assisi, the atmosphere is a world apart, made of simple and precious things, where hospitality meets the Franciscan tradition in this wonderful city of peace, Assisi, to experience strong emotions. The Hotel Cenacolo Assisi is the Franciscan Hotel of Santa Maria degli Angeli, where a skilful restoration has allowed us to maintain the original structure, respecting its suggestions and connotations as convent. The architectural elements and materials used, such as the stone of Assisi, along with steel and glass, are a masterful blend of ancient and modern. At Hotel Cenacolo Assisi you will enjoy some wonderful days in Assisi. Stay in one of our comfortable guestrooms including classic, superior rooms and junior suites, perfect for getaways with your partner or with friends. Likewise, you will enjoy great moments with yours in our beautiful cloister, a very special venue to celebrate your wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Cenacolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ora Hotels Cenacolo Hotel Santa Maria Degli Angeli
Hotel Cenacolo Italy/Santa Maria Degli Angeli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing