We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Stunning..exceeded all expectations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa San Crispolto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2008

As we got married at Villa San Crispolto, I have written the review from that perspective. However, I would have no hestitation in recommending the Villa for a holiday destination, and would certainly hope to return for a vacation in the near future.

At the beginning of our search for a wedding venue in Italy, we came across the Romantic Italian Weddings website, but it seemed too good to be true, especially given it was one of the first websites we found. But no matter how many other websites we looked at, we kept coming back to this one.
Having read the testimonials, and seeing the stunning pictures we made the decision to have our wedding at Villa San Crispolto, and we never once looked back.
With 9 months to go to the wedding, I expected alot of stress, but I have to say that the 8-step guide, along with Marco's utmost professionalism made it a joy to plan the wedding. Marco took care of everything and answered any questions in a prompt fashion.
After 9 months of planning, we finally arrived in Passignano for the wedding itself. I knew that the Villa looked lovely from the photos on the website, but seeing it in person when we arrived, far exceeded any expectations. From the intricate detail with which Marco had furnished and decorated the villa itself, to the amazing panoramic views from the grounds, everything about it was simply stunning!
As for the wedding itself, everyone had the most amazing day. The suppliers were nothing short of fantastic, everyone was extremely professional.
The entire day went exactly as planned, and even the sun came out, contrary to what was forecast! Friends and family are still talking about their week at San Crispolto, and a special thanks to Marco for organising a meal for us in Passignano, as well as the wine-tasting at the Villa. And a particular thanks for the lovely gift, it has pride of place in our home, to remind us of our special week at San Crispolto.

Although our wedding in San Crispolto has come and gone, we have many fond memories of our time there, and we certainly hope to return for a holiday at the villa, in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BelfastTaddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 117 of 117 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2008

I cannot recommend Villa San Crispolto highly enough as a location for a holiday or a destination for a wedding. We got married September 2007. The wedding planning took place over many months between myself and the villa owner Marco.
Marco was wonderful to deal with, his email replies and service were always prompt and professional. Marco couldnt have made it more straightforward, although correspondance was mainly via email and his brilliant 8 step tool, if he thought it would be better/helpful to talk on the phone, he would just ring.

It is stressful organising any wedding I'm sure, organising a wedding abroad can be tough just because in our case, we did not see the villa or the town hall or any part of Italy before we turned up for our week there! So you dont know what to expect and rely on email and the web, which was a knew experience for me.
Marco was more than happy for us to visit and indeed while we were there another couple did visit (exterior only and not at all intrusive). However, visiting before was not something we were personally able to do. So being honest, I did spend over a year fretting in case it wasnt what I'd hoped. Marco was amazing, and I never once felt any less than looked after and a valued customer. It was just because I had not seen the place with my own eyes. And when I did....it took my breath away.

We walked up the drive, were met by Marco, the sun was blazing down and the villa looked stunning. It is fantastic, with everthing you would ever need, including a fridge full of wine at very reasonable prices!! I cannot explain how amazing the villa is, exquisitely restored, with views that photos cannot do justice to. And the sunsets...
As soon as we arrived, after a tour, we had a meeting to discuss the wedding arrangements, Marco contacting suppliers to confirm everything and told us exactly what to expect, and we also met our wonderful caterer (Renata) to decide exactly how we wanted the rececption to go.
During the week, we went to Cortona to have a wedding rehearsal and sort out the legalities. Cortona is beautiful and the town hall is also beautiful. There were 30 in our party and they occupied the pews to each side of us when we got married, which felt very intimate.
On the wedding day, Marco was always on hand, he very efficiently and effectively and subtely ensured the event ran smoothly. He is very experienced and you can have total faith in him, in terms of doing business with him and in him delivering.
I think its important that you realise that you are not alone(!), even if you feel like that organising the wedding from hundreds of miles away. Marco is there on the wedding day and whenever you need him and he is a thoroughly genuine and helpful person to deal with.

So the wedding went without a hitch. The reception was brilliant, the food outstanding (wow, home made Italian wedding cake). We all danced the night away, got drunk and silly (as you do) and had the best day of our lives. The following day, all our friends came from their respective local hotels and lounged around the pool with us, recovering. Perfect.

This place is heaven on earth, the whole week we spent there, (oh yeah, I recommend the wine tasting night you can have at the villa), was amazing. We would love to go back for a holiday.
To get married there was a total privilege and the best decision we ever made.
I shouldnt have worried and I know its easy to say but neither should you, the villa and the whole experience will beat your biggest hopes and dreams.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank emsiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2007

I burst into tears of joy and excitement the moment I arrived in the driveway of Villa San Crispolto, I could not believe I was there, after a long day of travel, not only had we arrived for vacation, but we were having our wedding there. Upon my arrival, I walked into the Villa that was filled with beautiful antiques and exquisite décor. Every room I walked into was breathtaking, and wonderfully furnished and comfortable; the overall feel of the villa was warm and inviting. The villa had far exceeded my expectations – it is absolutely gorgeous.

We find ourselves talking about our trip constantly, everyone who stayed at the villa and attended our wedding have nothing but wonderful compliments to share. We had 23 guests stay at the villa comfortably.

We hope to return to Villa San Crispolto again some day as it has a special place in our hearts – we plan to return to Umbria and Tuscany for many Anniversary celebrations. Villa San Crispolto is a true "Gem" and it's owner Marco is great to work with when arranging your trip. He takes great pride in this villa and makes sure the guests are completely happy.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bellabride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2007

When we planned our wedding to be in Italy, we were worried about how to ensure all the arrangements for our day went smoothly and as we had dreamed - until we came across Marco's website for Villa San Crispolto offering the most wonderful venue combined with his 8 step process to wedding planning coordination. His fantastic knowledge of local suppliers and attention to detail made the lead up to the wedding a relaxed and enjoyable time.



Whilst the lead-up was brilliant, nothing prepared us for the true potential of the package offered by Villa San Crispolto - breathtaking Italian Villa and grounds and local suppliers combined to give us the wedding dreams were made of. Marco's attention to detail meant that the day not only exceeded our expectations, but also gave our guests a wonderful time. From allowing us to visit the villa twice before the wedding, sending a gardener every day to make sure the grounds were perfect, to arranging a Tuscan feast for close family to get together at the villa before the event.



The wedding service was beautiful, the reception was great, Marco did a wonderful job - as did all the suppliers involved. The service was excellent. I will highly recommend, and have to others, Villa San Crispolto for weddings. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank londontownLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2007

The prospect of planning a wedding abroad seemed at first to be an extremely daunting task. How would we find reputable suppliers that wouldn’t let us down on the day? How would we be able to arrange everything when we live in England and everything was happening in Italy? How would we cope with the language barrier not being able to speak Italian? Would we get the wedding we dreamed of, or would we arrive to find everything was different to that we anticipated?

However with Marco and Maria Rita as our hosts and wedding planners, all of our fears were completely laid to rest. We had not to worry about a thing, as Marco’s meticulous wedding planning strategy put everything that needed to be arranged into simple steps that guided us through the whole process – without letting us forget a thing! – Yet at the same time allowed us complete control. Marco and Maria Rita ensured that the organisational steps were completed in good time ahead of the big day, and in such a way that there could be no possible misunderstanding or misinterpretation. It simply wasn’t possible to arrive in Italy and find out that something wasn’t as we had understood or envisaged.

Where a particular aspect of the wedding wasn’t arranged directly by Marco and Maria Rita or one of their associates, they put us in contact with local reputable professionals who could. Marco is a perfectionist it has to be said, and would not recommend anybody to provide a service unless he is 100% confident that they will provide nothing less than an excellent service that meets his own high standards. When we first met Marco, he told us that he would always reply to our emails within 2 working days. More often than not, we had a reply that same day. In fact, so organised was the whole process, that in the month leading up to the wedding, we spent most of the time trying to figure out what had been forgotten as there was so little to arrange… And on the day Marco was always there in the background to make sure everything ran smoothly. Both during the planning stage and on the day itself, we were always made to feel special, that it was about us and what we wanted. We don’t think the process could have been more relaxed, or more perfect.

Classical, romantic, luxurious, exquisite, refined, sophisticated, cultured… stunning. Words simply can’t sum up the experience of having your wedding at Villa San Crispolto. The villa itself is truly amazing. They say that when people view a house, they make up their minds in the first 12 seconds… This was certainly true upon our first visit to the villa. With its rustic charm and the stunning backdrop of Lake Trasimeno provided by it’s hilltop position, we instantly knew that there could be no where more perfect to have our reception. Marco and Maria Rita should be truly proud of their achievements in restoring the villa.

With such a setting as the villa, along with the classical charm of Cortona, Marco and Maria Rita provided us with the perfect day that we will reassure for the rest of our lives. We really can’t recommend the Villa enough, and we along with our family are looking forward to hiring the villa again for a family reunion..!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JustMarried-April07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr Philipp H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Passignano Sul Trasimeno
6.4 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 2 in Piazzano
776 reviews
3.8 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#2 of 6 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
674 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Paradiso Village
Villa Paradiso Village
#4 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
#1 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
470 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cavalieri
Hotel Cavalieri
#10 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
545 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villaggio Albergo Il Gabbiano
Villaggio Albergo Il Gabbiano
#8 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Crispolto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Crispolto

Address: Via San Crispolto 2, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Price Range: $42 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Villa San Crispolto Hotel Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Villa San Crispolto Italy/Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing