We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Paradiso Village
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Anyone looking for a quiet and peaceful retreat from everyday life would absolutely love it here at the Paradiso, though it's certainly not somewhere I'd receommend for families with young children. The hotel itself is just stunning with two beautiful pools surrounded by gardens and shaded under olive trees. All meals are included when you consider the packed lunch as well, which to be fair wasn't something we had often although it's worth picking up for the bottled water. The breakfast and dinner however were excellent with a variety of choices. Breakfast was either hot or cold with both scrambled and bolied eggs always available. The bacon and sausage was as you'd expect typically European and not cooked as in the UK but nevertheless tasty. Apart from that the variety of continental style options was wide and should suit most peoples tastes. The only complaint was that there was no fresh fruit juices, although there was still plenty of choice otherwise. Dinner also covered a wise choice each evening with 3 meat/fish choices and 3 pasta each night as well as soups and salads if you preferred. A good choice of sweets and ice creams was also available afterwards so there should be no food problems. As stated there is flowing white and red wine as well as a very drinkable beer during dinner.

The hotel rooms are not large but have everything in them, excellent showers and good working aircon, which was just as well as it was in the low to mid thirties each day and very, very hot with lovely warm evenings and we were consequently grateful for the free soft drinks, water and tea/coffee on tap all day in the bar. The staff are very friendly though don't speak any English. This is also true of the town itself as it is a very uncommercialised area of Italy with mainly Italian visitors, which I actually prefer.

The town of Passignano itself is a delight, particularly the old town with it's plethora of lovely bars and cafe's. The ice creams are obviously excellent but with meals included we obviously didn't get much chance to sample much more, although the crepes and toasted sandwiches are excellent for lunch. Both food and drinks are excellent value and much cheaper than elsewhwere in Italy at around 1 euro for a much better cappuchino than you'll get here, plus the ambiance thrown in for free. Sit at a lakeside bar sipping one and feel the relaxation. Priceless.

All in all the holiday there with Inghams was first class and we will definately go back. We didn't do many trips, preferring to lie by the pool, but with trains and buses so close to the surrounding larger towns of Assisi, Perugia etc it's no problem. One trip I would advise is to the Island of Maggiore which takes about 25 minutes on the ferry and is absolutely stunning for a morning out. You can go to other venues around the lake but if you're lazy like us, it's 12 euros return for both well spent. In fact you'll find it hard to spend anything anyway unless you travel out because you have everything you need at the hotel and in the town. It's absolutely blissfully peaceful so why not give it a try, I don't think you'll be disappointed at all.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frankie069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
There are newer reviews for Villa Paradiso Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 516 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2010

Just returned from a week at this hotel with Inghams Travel. We were on a half board tariff with free wine and beer at dinner, free packed lunches and free mountain bike hire.
The good points are: Wonderful food, beautifully presented in a lovely dining room, Nice pool and surrounding gardens, plenty of sunloungers. Mostly friendly staff. Very clean rooms and bathrooms with plenty of good quality towels, nice bedding. Good reception area and bar (although the bar staff could have been friendlier and they do not take cash you charge to a card which is paid at the end of your stay and when we tried to pay at 10.15pm on our last night we were told off as bills should have been settled by 10.00pm
does this mean we were not supposed to drink after 10.00pm on our last night?
Bad points (not really bad but could be improved) The rooms are not of a 4 star quality quite basic, no kettle or teamaker in room. No entertainment at all for the whole week although this is advertised as being piano bar 3 times a week.
It was a good holiday and we came back feeling refreshed, it is not a lively place and very quiet at night so those wanting lively bars would be dissapointed. We went by train to Assisi which was wonderful and only cost 19 euros for two of us for the train which is just a few minutes from the hotel and about 1 hour away. There are boat trips to 3 other places which are enjoyable and reasonably priced but only a few choices of bars and coffee shops for snacks and drinks. The age group was between 45 and 70 although there was one family and one honeymoon couple who seemed to enjoy it. The one thing that would stop us returning is the three hour coach journey from the airport

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

This hotel was very clean, rooms average and the staff very friendly and helpful. It is located only a few minutes walk from the train station where the staff could speak good English and were very helpful. We visited Florence, Assisi, Peurgia and Pisa.

Breakfast and dinner were buffet style, the only two complaints was that the restaurant was very noisy when groups of school children were staying and the hot food needed to be hot! not luke warm.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EGDDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Just returned from an 11 night stay at this hotel. I found the hotel to be very busy,with many children screaming and running around un-supervised. Evenings around the reception area were reminiscent of the school playground, screaming ,shouting and charging around with no regard for other guests. The restaurant was large, brightly lit, and once again, noisy. Meals were buffet style. Breakfasts were limited, with the dreaded tinned fruit rearing its ugly head,on a regular basis. There was never any fresh juice, and coffee was served via a vending machine. Dinner was served 7-30 until 9. Everyone descended on the buffet at 7-30,talk about under starters orders! The food was pretty basic, the highlight being cold sprouts! Needless to say we chose to eat out most nights. There are a few good restaurants in the town,but beware Lucianos! They tried to pull a fast one twice, with our change, they even gave us 20 euros back claiming we didnt understand their cover charge.!! This hotel claims to be a 4 *, but it really doesnt meet the criteria , which is a shame as it could be really nice , given several tweaks here and there!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guccigirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Just returned from a happy week with my partner and her 9 year-old son. Whilst this hotel doesn't really warrant four stars for rooms or fine dining, we had a great time - especially as we had picked up a fantastic half-price deal with Inghams online.
The experience was really like an attractive holiday camp, with the best part for us as a family being the pool and excellent kids activity club, which operated 9.30-12.30 and 3-6pm plus 8.30-10.30pm. Our boy didn't use it until half way through the stay, but made friends and really blossomed once he had got over his reservations about the different ages and languages. Grown-ups can also participate in stretching, fitness (water aerobics) and dance classes, plus sports (water polo, volleyball, tennis, football), and free mountain bike hire was also included - not taken up in 36-38 degree heat!. There is fairly tame/lame 'entertainment' at night, either karaoke, a piano bar (dodgy), or cabaret involving guests and staff alike.
Our 3-bed room had a pool view, air conditioning, and an adequate shower room, about 3-star standard and size - no complaints given the deal we had. It was kept spotlessly clean by excellent staff.
Meals are extremely well-organised - you have the same table each night and they operate a plentiful four-course buffet-style system; extensive cold antipasto plus a soup, three types of pasta, three main courses (two meat, one fish), and a cold dessert table. The menus were quite varied, some might find them a little 'rustic' but there is enough choice to please most palates - however, if your children are used to more processed food they will find little to satisfy them! There was free house red and white wine (again, a bit rustic...), Poretti beer, and a few soft drinks on tap also. Breakfasts were more rigidly Continental and we found that the choice didn't really vary, but again there was plenty (one quibble - the machine coffee was really not good considering it was Italy!). We also took advantage of the free packed lunches most days so one could get through the week without breaking the bank!
Passignano itself is a little lakeside town which wouldn't occupy most for more than half a day, but its handy location for sightseeing via lake and rail made it a convenient choice - had it not been for the searing heat every day we would definitely have done more exploring, with Perugia and Assisi both under 1 hour away.
Overall - not a luxury break, but for a family who want a great-value holiday with lots of on-site options, then it was hard to beat.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NantwichMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

We spent a wonderful week at Hotel Villa Paradiso from 8th July, and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Our room on top floor was clean, spacious with a lovely view over the town to the lake. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, from the room cleaner to the head waiter.

We booked through Inghams Travel Agent, and the basis was half board. This was a buffet breakfast (ham, cheese, eggs, cereal, yoghurt, toast, croissants, tea and coffee) and big choice of dishes at dinner. Buffet starter from huge platters of cold salads/meat, or choice of 3 hot starters (usually pasta/rice), then 3 choices of hot main course, meat, veg and fish. Dining room busy and full of families, so quite noisy, but they had a section at the back for couples, which was quieter. Soft drinks/wine/beer was on tap to help yourself at dinner, and throughout the day there were soft drinks on tap by the pool. We were also given a packed lunch every day.

Pool was busy and quite noisy, loads of German and Dutch visitors, but there are sunbeds on the lawn above the pool which was very peaceful. Tennis court on site (rackets/balls provided free), and we hired bikes to cycle to Tuoro along the coast, (cycle path between sunflower and corn fields, beautiful). There is a beach at Passignano with pedaloes.canoes, sunbeds. Can swim in the lake but it's a bit murky.

Ferry trip across to Isolo Maggiore and Castigliano well worth it, train transport cheap, visit to Perugia and Assisi within easy reach and not expensive.

We would recomment this hotel to couples and families. Quite a few elderly guests, but it is a walk uphill from town. Not a lot for teenagers, town is very sleepy and entertainment is family-orientated. Wonderful place to unwind and see Umbria.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank homebird60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed here for a week on a Half Board Basis. Breakfast's were good but could do with fresh fruit rather than tinned and fresh orange juice. Evening Meals buffet and very tasty and hot. Room was a nice size and very comfortableand Good size bathroom. Hotel only 10 min walk to town, which was large enough and lively. Train station only about 5/7 minutes away and we went to Assisi for only €20 in total, including bus trip. Gentelman in train station very helpful. All staf friendly and helpful, especialy Lorenzo and his wife Audelia who ran the bar. Free soft drinks and tea and coffee from 10am to 6pm and cake from 5 to 6pm. Free wine and beer during meal times, Two pools one for children and one for adults. Plenty of sun loungers and nice garden. Local people friendly and welcoming and have beautiful gardens with fantastic flowers. Only recomendation is that hotelshould provide towels for the sun beds. Boats bring you all around the lake and hotel provide free mountain bikes. Very good stay and would come back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starmcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Passignano Sul Trasimeno
0.3 mi away
La Vela
La Vela
#2 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
#1 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
459 reviews
3.2 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#6 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Trasimeno
Hotel Trasimeno
#5 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
113 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Hotel Residence Montigeto
Park Hotel Residence Montigeto
#3 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Paradiso Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Paradiso Village

Address: Via Fratelli Rosselli 5, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Price Range: $65 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Paradiso Village 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Paradiso Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Paradiso Village Italy/Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing