We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel in idyllic surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Friendly and helpful management, clean rooms, good restaurant all made for a very pleasant off-season stay. Nothing was too much trouble - we were collected from the railway station and driven back on departure. Overall excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyoga101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 470 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

We only stayed 2 nights at this lovely hotel. Arrived very late at night due to getting totally lost in very stormy weather! We were made so welcome with a glass of wine to help us relax. The hotel is in a wonderful setting by the lake with a lovely view. Rooms are very comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful, also speak very good English.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SkiathosmanWSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurs2010, Proprietario at Hotel Kursaal Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay by us! We hope to meet you again in the future!

With our best regards!
Hotel Kursaal
Bruno and all the staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent over 2 weeks in this site, in the grounds of the hotel. The pitches are large and many front onto the lake which is spectacular, especially at sunset. Showers etc are spotless with plenty of space and pegs to keep clothes dry, water is hot. A dog washing facility (with hot water) came in handy after the dogs went swimming in the lake churned up by a storm. Wifi is available free of charge in the bar. Not absolutely perfect? No, the wifi needs to be available throughout the site, and a field at the side of the site could be made dog-friendly, dogs have to be exercised off site and the road outside is very busy and lacks pavements in places, making dog walking a rather dangerous procedure. I would give the site 4.5, however, the staff are friendly and helpful; we enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning some time.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Vall47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for two nights during our tour of Italy.
Bruno was very accommodating, lovely clean hotel, with beautiful views over the lake.
We had a lovely dinner in the restaurant, and the breakfast lady makes nice cuppachino's!!
Bruno gave us a great present when we left, a lovely bottle of local wine.
It's always so nice to receive more than what one expects.
Thank you Bruno and your team, if we are ever down your way again, we will stay with you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia_vintagerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurs2010, Proprietario at Hotel Kursaal Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank for you review! We wait you here in the future time for another cappuccino! We are happy that you had a pleasent stay by us!

With our warmest regards!
Bruno and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I came upon the Hotel Kursaal in an accidental way. While on a bicycle tour in Italy, my wife suffered a serious bicycle accident which resulted in a head injury. After 6 days in a hospital in Perugia, Italy, she was discharged with instructions not to travel more than 30 kilometers from the hospital for 3 weeks until another CT scan could be performed to assess her ability to fly back to our home in the United States without complications. Having no choice, we had to adapt to the situation and a colleague living in Italy found the hotel and booked us into it. My wife had strict doctor's instructions to rest and recuperate and Lake Trasimeno was the perfect place. The hotel itself is a wonderful and well maintained old building surrounded by a well maintained campground right on Lake Trasimeno, only abut 800 meters from downtown Passignano. The hotel owner, Bruni, and his efficient and sensitive staff recognized our unusual situation and graciously accommodated our somewhat compromised condition, given we were completely improvising our trip at that point. We were able to stay for 10 days at the Hotel Kursaal and it became a home base for my wife to recover from her trauma and disorientation, while I had my laptop computer shipped from the US and went to work during the day in Bruni's open and quiet breakfast room with a panoramic view of the lake. When not working or recuperating, we were able to easily access the cycle track that surrounds Lake Trasimeno for walks though local agricultural fields, vineyards ad orchards or walk into Passignano for banking, meals, or other necessities as we were "living" in Italy at that point, no longer on vacation. We also enjoyed an excellent breakfast buffet every day and really fine Italian cuisine and wine in the hotel's restaurant in the evening. The grounds also had a very nice pool, small beach area, a clothes washing machine and dryer, and an immaculately maintained shower and bathroom facility for the campers, not to mention the giant pine tress that really gave the place a great ambiance.

We were very lucky to find such a place with such an excellent staff to call home for 10 days. My wife made remarkable progress in her health during the stay and I was able to establish a base of operations. No less important was Bruni and his staff. His crew is really tight and they have customer service down to a fine art. The location, the staff, and the affordable price all combined to make this a highlight to our 2013 trip to Italy. I will definitely go back to Lake Trasimeno again when healthy and explore more of local area and Umbria. I would not stay anywhere else but the Hotel Kursaal.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side have lake views and a little larger terrace for about 4 more Euros per night. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Bruno,Carlos,Sharon and all the staff were excellent. Rooms clean and comfortable, view over the lake is breath taking. The restaurants food was very good and amenities were excellent. We all had a fabulous time and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurs2010, Proprietario at Hotel Kursaal Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thanks for your amazing review! We are happy to know that you enjoyed your "short" stay by us! We really hope to meet you again in the next future!

With our best regards!
Bruno, Carlo, Sharon and all the staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Fantastic place. Massively friendly staff, excellent pool and lakeside area, great breakfast and the bonus of free WiFi. Rooms are very good, selection of prices and different styles. The pool area was pretty much full when we were there in September - I would imagine that in peak summer when the adjoining campsite is full, it would all get fairly crowded... but despite that - highly recommended. On site restaurant has a strong menu and an excellent selection of local wines.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Reviewer101Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurs2010, Proprietario at Hotel Kursaal Umbria, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your review! We hope to see you again in the next future!

With our best regards.
Hotel Kursaal
Bruno and the staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Passignano Sul Trasimeno
4.3 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#2 of 6 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
686 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Vela
La Vela
#2 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#6 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Park Hotel Residence Montigeto
Park Hotel Residence Montigeto
#3 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
208 reviews
6.9 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 2 in Piazzano
778 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Trasimeno
Hotel Trasimeno
#5 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kursaal Umbria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kursaal Umbria

Address: Via Europa 24, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Price Range: $110 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kursaal Umbria 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kursaal is your opportunity for a pleasant holiday on the shores of Lake Trasimeno, surrounded by green hills, enjoying a warm welcome and delicious cuisine, a short stroll from the centre of the picturesque village of Passignano and close to the most important heritage cities of Umbria and Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kursaal Umbria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kursaal Umbria Italy/Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing