We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, friendly hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, friendly hotel in great location”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel Kursaal in a four-person room with our two young children and were thoroughly impressed. The staff are utterly charming and go out of their way to be helpful and our children were made to feel very welcome, as were we. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean and a great size for a family of four - children slept in bunk beds (cleverly converted from a sofa) with the main bedroom separated by an arch. The food in the restaurant was really delicious and the children could run around happily on the grass outside between courses while we enjoyed a lovely meal. The swimming pool is big and clean and the water slide into the children's pool was a great success. The location by the lake is absolutely stunning and very convenient for trips into the town. All in all, a most enjoyable experience and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDN888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    107
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
119
240
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had some initial concerns about booking a hotel that was located in the middle of a campsite but it didn't spoil our enjoyment at all. The hotel was exceptionally clean and well maintained.

We booked the Junior suite which was spacious. However, if you do book this room make sure you give the age of your child as there was some confusion over pricing when we arrived. As it was a genuine misunderstanding it was dealt with immediately and we were offered a discount on the final price of our stay as a goodwill gesture.

All the staff were very friendly, helpful and efficent.

Breakfast was amazing and included really fresh bread and pastries and many other options. The food in the restaurant was also very good.

The pool was a good size and again this was kept really clean.

The Kursaal is located about a 15 minute walk out of the main town but as much of it is alongside the lake it is quite pleasant.

We would definitely choose to stay here again if we were ever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent 5 days at the Hotel Kursaal and have nothing but postive things to say about it. The sevice is friendly and all staff I encountered went out of their way to be helpful. Even to the extent that they picked my husband, my daughter and I up from the train station so we did not have to pay for a taxi and ran us back again when we left. The location was fantastic for us with a baby, just outside town so quiet and a nice walk along the lake to get to town.the hotel grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Everyday the pool and surrounding areas were cleaned. It was obvious to us that this hotel was very popular with guests and locals visiting the restaurant. We really enjoyed our stay here and would reccommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Even before we arrived at the hotel, Sharon made us feel really welcome by emailing us details of the room they had reserved for us. We booked late so missed out on the room with a balcony so we ended up in an attic room which was very romantic also. It was our fault as we booked too late really and its obvious that the hotel is very popular due to it being booked out. The room was quite spacious and more than enough room for us both, however it did seem to have a bit of a bug issue when we arrived. It also is near the room where the cleaners get their stuff so we were woken quite early with them shouting up and down the lift.

Our welcome was great and we checked in with ease and a lovely tour of the hotel and grounds by Bruno was given. We had an amazing lunch and I have to say being a Head of Food I am very fussy about my food but every meal we had was outstanding, especially the baked fish I had on the first night.

We had a lovely prosecco welcome before dinner and it started our holiday off perfectly. The sun shone and we visited Cortona, Florence and Perugia and we recommend them all especially Florence which is so romantic.

My only gripe about the whole week was not being able to sit by the pool. It seemed that most of the campers who had children were there at the crack of dawn every morning and so we were left to sit by the lake or on the grass which was a shame. And also that you had to pay 2 euros to use the jacuzzi which it forgot to mention on the website. However if you prefer a quiet holiday without children splashing you in the pool then maybe another hotel is for you.

However for us it was a perfect week with a perfect location. Do not visit the local Pizzeria in walking distance from the hotel however as we had a frosty reception and the food was poor and the service even worse. Also if your dining at the hotel at the weekends, ensure you book a table in advance which we didnt know about and we couldnt eat at the hotel on Sat night, which was annoying as my fiancee had to then drive into the town.

Breakfast is from 8-10am although they did accomodate our late arrival on the first day at 10.20am.

We would recommend that you hire a car to see the many sights of this great place! enjoy!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony. And not near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DONNA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvedon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were a party of 5 adults who stayed here for 4 nights whilst attending a wedding at a venue near by. We were very pleased with the clean and tidy rooms, and pleasantly decorated bar and restaurant areas. Yes, there were tents and camper vans in the grounds, but to be honest we did not really notice them. The grounds had lots of trees and flowery shrubs which hid the majority of campers. The views over the lake were lovely. The staff were exceptionally helpful, ordering taxi's for us, taking photos for us, booking restaurants, giving advice on walking into town etc. They spoke good English and were all very friendly. The pool was lovely and there were plenty of sun loungers, and parasols in the grounds and pool area to use.
We had breakfast included and these were fresh and tasty pastries, cereals, cheese and meats, boiled eggs, juices and tea or coffee. We also had 3 lunches there, and they happily catered for the vegetarian in our party, making a delicious and huge vegetarian antipasti dish.
We also had 1 evening meal which was also fabulous.
We would all happily stay here again.

Room Tip: We had rooms 104, 105 and 107 and all were good with air-conditioning and fans that worked well. Plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelvedonLocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel was old, but very well kept. The view of the lake from my room and balcony was simply wonderful. The staff could not have been any nicer or more accomodating. The food was excellent as well. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and we plan on going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Botels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Yes, this is a nice hotel - the staff are excellent, our room was good and the food was fine. However, the grounds were simply crammed with tents, caravans and motorhomes whilst we were there. Quite apart from parking difficulties, the grounds were not available to stroll around and hot & cold water for showers in the evening was in intermittent supply. There didn't seem to be facilities (eg sun loungers) set aside for exclusive use of hotel guests. The hotel website and brochure do not make clear that the gardens are a campsite. We had booked for 7 nights but left after 3. The manager completely understood why we cut short our stay, and did not appear himself to be happy with the situation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Passignano Sul Trasimeno
0.8 mi away
La Vela
La Vela
#2 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
4.3 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
3.7 mi away
Park Hotel Residence Montigeto
Park Hotel Residence Montigeto
#3 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Trasimeno
Hotel Trasimeno
#5 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#6 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il Gabbiano
Il Gabbiano
#7 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kursaal Umbria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kursaal Umbria

Property: Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Address: Via Europa 24, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kursaal Umbria 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kursaal is your opportunity for a pleasant holiday on the shores of Lake Trasimeno, surrounded by green hills, enjoying a warm welcome and delicious cuisine, a short stroll from the centre of the picturesque village of Passignano and close to the most important heritage cities of Umbria and Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Kursaal Umbria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kursaal Umbria Italy/Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing