We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity & Beauty Awaiting You Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Slow Life Umbria - Relais de charme
Reviewed October 17, 2013

As other reviewers have said, Bruno, Carol and their family are exceptional hosts. This is a lovely getaway from the real world. You will never tire of the wonderful views and the calm, quiet and serene atmosphere. We left our window open each night and enjoyed cool fresh air and silence.

Breakfast was slow and leisurely. Each day there was a generous portion of fresh fruits, with surprises included like figs picked directly from their trees. Yogurt with muesli, muffins or croissants and the most delicious soft robiola cheese were all provided. Spread a little cheese on a fresh strawberry, close your eyes and take a bite – oh, heaven! If you wanted, Bruno would also make eggs so there was plenty of food available to satisfy any appetite.

The pool was a bit cold since it was October, but we enjoyed lounging in the sun near it and overlooking the surrounding area. There are many rosemary, lavender and other aromatic plants to also engage your sense of smell.

In the nearby town of Magione there is a small grocery store where we picked up some inexpensive, but very good quality wines. They also carry many other excellent foods such as meats, cheeses, olives, crusty bread and some wonderful chocolate cannolis. We were able to have a picnic dinner on the private patio off the green room. Carol and Bruno provided all the items we needed like dinner plates, wine glasses, corkscrew and paring knife.

Best of all was Carol’s warm smile and greeting of “good morning, how are you?” at breakfast. Such a pleasant way to start the day. We were genuinely sad to leave and hope we have the opportunity to return for another visit in the future.

Room Tip: The green room has a private patio, a huge shower and natural lighting in the bathroom. Its position...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 83 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was my fourth trip to SLU and it just keeps getting better and better. I love the fact that we can travel to so many interesting historical towns within an hour and use it as our base camp for the day or evenings. It has an incredible swimming pool nestled among the rolling forested hills and olive orchards. Its a warm, relaxing and luxurious place to call home away from home. The dinner menu's are superb. Truly world class and incredibly fresh. The owners are genuine and warm. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The upper rooms (facing North) have quicker access to the pool (but also have south facing windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank djc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Slow Life Umbria is a fantastic place. The location, rooms and swimming pool are beautiful. It's an incredibly relaxing and peaceful place. Bruno and his family are wonderfully helpful and kind. We thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is truly a magical place: we were greeted by stunning vistas, clean new rooms, a beautiful property with vanishing edge pool, gardens with wafts of rosemary and lavender, and wonderful food--but above all, gracious hospitality from owners Carole and Bruno. We did two different local walks, up the hills and through olive groves, including a 90 minute walk up to the charming village of Castel Rigone where we had a beer and panini before heading back. So much to do in the area: in addition to touring around Spello, Cortona, and Perugia, one day Bruno arranged for us a guided tour of Etruscan ruins, and we were amazed by their 'hollow walks' and tombs. We alternated between eating dinners at Slow Life and eating out, but our best meals (and best wines) were at Slow Life. There is WiFi in the main building, but no cell service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Forced to find a hotel in Umbria at short notice we picked Slow Life Umbria for its location and design aesthetic, without somehow realising (despite its name!) that there would be no wifi, TV etc. and that we'd be be miles off road. Our alarm dissipated immediately with Bruno and Carol's welcome, and we wholeheartedly enjoyed the experience. We were the only guests for 3 nights and had the luxury of Bruno's excellent cooking to ourselves, with menus designed to our tastes. He uses simple but absolutely delicious local ingredients and we ended up pinching at least one of his family recipes. The breakfasts are fabulous and so big you don't need to eat lunch. The swimming pool is huge and retains the sun until late, which was much appreciated after days exploring the area. Bruno recommended that we visit Spello and Cortona in addition to the more well-known local destinations of Assisi, Perugia and Orvieto, and both were well worth visiting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is DEFINITELY something special. The week I was staying here was by all means exceptional. Slow life only has 12 rooms, (all of which doubles) so you really get to kenow the those who run it, which adds a very special felling to it. breakfast is served from 7 to 9. Each morning you indulge in granola whole fat yogurt fruit bread scrambled eggs and locally sourced Umbrian jam. Then I recommend going on day trips to nearby towns Cortona and Perugia are my favorites.

Room Tip: Every room at slow life is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safarimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

A magic place, without traffic, phones, Internet, in the middle of the woods, with the smell of Rosmarin and Lavendel, and - in particular - with two charming owners who slow you down to the nice path of life. Nothing appears to be urgent, nothing is more important than your "inner" voice, and nothing is more relevant than the present moment. This type of slow life widely opens your minds and you recreate wonderfully.
It was a great please to be there and to enjoy the hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VoglerLudwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Passignano Sul Trasimeno hotels
4.4 mi away
Villa Paradiso Village
Villa Paradiso Village
#4 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
533 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
#1 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
470 reviews
4.3 mi away
La Vela
La Vela
#2 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#7 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
123 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Cavalieri
Hotel Cavalieri
#10 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
540 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villaggio Albergo Il Gabbiano
Villaggio Albergo Il Gabbiano
#8 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slow Life Umbria - Relais de charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slow Life Umbria - Relais de charme

Address: Loc. Castel Rigone Campagna 32, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Price Range: $194 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slow life Umbria means to live according to the rhythm of nature, to rediscover moments of serenity and harmony with nature and within ourselves.Slow life Umbria is an antique stone house situated in the heart of Umbria surrounded by woods and olive groves. ( From the buzz of the bees to the sound of the wind touching the plants, under a sun that enhances colours and heats the skin…) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Slow Life Umbria - Relais de charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slow Life Umbria - Relais De Charme Italy/Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing