We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Slow Life Umbria - Relais de charme
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at Slow life for 4 nights, but could easily have stayed here longer. It is a great place to either use for a short relaxing trip, or, like we did, combine it with Firenze, Rome, or other busy places. You"ll be able to relax here, but at the same time there's lots of smaller towns within an hours driving distance to visit. It's nice to go for a hike early in the morning, before it gets too warm in the summer. There's a nice size pool to work on your tan on a lazy day as well. The place looks great and is a nice combination of the old style farms mixed with relaxed modern design. The beds are super!(which is always a pluss, since this is not the case at most places). And then there's Bruno, Carol and children who really enjoy what they're doing....and it shows. Bruno's food is great, nice healthy breakfasts with nice bread(uncommon at a lot of places), fresh juice, fruit and "eggs-on-demand" :-) Dinner is nice honest food, using mainly local produce...if you hint early in the morning what you desire, it might actually end up on your plate at night! And the views are great, if you're into photography there's lots to capture. We'll definitely come back sometime, until then I hope lots of other people will enjoy this lovely place and Bruno's food! If there's anything negative to mention; one mysterious bird sounding like a car-alarm decided to have his residence in the tree right outside our window:-) And for those that are afraid that they can't be online: in the reception-area you can hook up. Ciao!

Room Tip: Room nr.13 has a great view from the window....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plien-Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    15
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I and another couple spent 5 nights here recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is exquisitely designed and finished. Its location nestled among olive trees on the hillside makes for a thoroughly relaxing stay. Some days we spent going for walks, hanging out at the pool. Other days we were hardcore tourists going to Cortona, Assissi and Perugia, all just a short drive away. We appreciated the tips we got from the owners to find off the beaten track recommendations for hikes, sites and food. We can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aichen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Booking a really last gasp escape from the awful British weather, Slow Life was a risk, having discovered it by chance as one of Tablet's newbies. Any concerns were immediately dispelled; perhaps the accuracy of the directions, Carol's genuine, warm welcome, possibly the quality of the simple, honest accommodation, the tranquility of the setting, or maybe the potent scent of rosemary, jasmine, and genista. And then breakfast...here come the boys; Bruno's much vaunted wizardry perfectly accompanied by the antics of young Zachary, the family puppy who you'd forgive anything. Dinner was equally memorable, from the excellent aperitivos, through the outstanding food and perfectly accompanied wines, to the firefly ballet bringing each evening to a close.

In summary a fantastic discovery; the place, the people;
-the dogs.

Room Tip: No spa or fitness centre, but the pool was very well thought out; very sheltered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickeywhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Slow Life is a beautiful restoration run by a wonderful family. It is located in an incredible valley, off-the-beaten track where one can relax with only the quiet jingle of cattle bells as company. The infinity pool is gorgeous, the view immaculate.  The best part, though, is Bruno's (the owner) ability in the kitchen.  The man is a genius and the food is the best we had in Italy.  Breakfast is hearty and dinner is a culinary masterclass in the use of simple, fresh ingredients to create wonderful Umbrian dishes.  We thoroughly recommend Slow Life to anyone who wants to get away from it all and enjoy a true slice of heaven. It was a fantastic way to start our honeymoon.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jameschilvers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERTH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We loved our stay at Slow Life Umbria for many reasons. The comfort and luxury was superb. The hosts were lovely people who were very helpful and welcoming. The accomodations and surrounding beauty was magnifisent. The cuisine was also incredible. Freshly squeezed juices, sumptuous pastas, locally grown organic produce. It was really special. The other big thing we liked was the proximity to many historic towns which were excellent day trips. We really discovered italy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

There are lots of beautiful places in Italy, but I haven't found many that combine the natural beauty, stylish accommodation, lovely food and gracious personality of Slow Life Umbria. We stayed for several days on the recommendation of a friend, and had a really good time. Bruno and Carol were wonderful hosts, friendly, generous, and fun to chat with. They know a lot about food, wine, and the surrounding area too. Through the stable where she keeps her own horse, Carol arranged a fantastic trail riding experience that took us through the Umbrian hills with great views of Lake Trasimeno. Another afternoon when we arrived back from sightseeing in nearby Perugia, Bruno and his friend, a local chef, showed us how to make fresh tagliatelle, incorporating the wild mushrooms we had purchased at a roadside stand into an impromptu meal. Delicious! The rooms were beautiful too, with top notch furniture and linens, and nice views. I can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAR604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

I have visited Umbria and Tuscany several times but Bruno and Carol (the folks that run this small, beautiful boutique hotel) really opened my eyes to this place like never before. In addition to providing a luxury hotel experience, nestled among olive groves, they helped us find experiences that I'm sure most tourists miss out on.

One day, Bruno took us to a bustling lunch spot near San Savino that was filled with locals, several of whom greeted him warmly. Another day it was sort of street fair in one of the nearby villages where local families and their kids were playing games, local artists displayed their work and all sorts of home cooking/baking was available. Again, thanks to Bruno, we had interesting conversations with folks that live there.

Until he told us about it, I had missed an amazing Franciscan monestary, quite litterly hidden for hundreds of years in the in a canyon, in the nearby hills. Its a gem.

Being a lover of great food, I can't say enough good things about the hotel resturant. Bruno is a fantastic chef but he also invite local chefs to make meals in the local cusine. I even was able to get one of these local chefs to teach me how she prepares wild boar. We don't have much opportunity to prepare wild board here in Seattle but it was a great memory.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that has a portch where one of Carol's cats suns herself in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Passignano Sul Trasimeno
22.1 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
3.7 mi away
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
#1 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
4.3 mi away
La Vela
La Vela
#2 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Relais Borgo Torale
Relais Borgo Torale
#1 of 7 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Paradiso Village
Villa Paradiso Village
#4 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa Trasimeno
Villa Trasimeno
#2 of 7 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slow Life Umbria - Relais de charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slow Life Umbria - Relais de charme

Property: Slow Life Umbria - Relais de charme
Address: Loc. Castel Rigone Campagna 32, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slow life Umbria means to live according to the rhythm of nature, to rediscover moments of serenity and harmony with nature and within ourselves.Slow life Umbria is an antique stone house situated in the heart of Umbria surrounded by woods and olive groves. ( From the buzz of the bees to the sound of the wind touching the plants, under a sun that enhances colours and heats the skin…) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Slow Life Umbria - Relais de charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slow Life Umbria - Relais De Charme Italy/Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing