We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stay in Umbria”
Review of Villa Trasimeno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Trasimeno
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Along with another couple we just concluded a visit to B&B Villa Trasimeno that included 7 nights, 4 dinners and 4 tours hosted by Carmelo. Accommodations were excellent, but what makes this a unique place to stay especially for Americans is the fact that while both are native Italians,Carmelo and Luana spent 20 years in Cleveland, OH operating their own Italian restaurant. So, Carmelo is a master chef and they know and understand how to operate a service oriented business. Both Luana and Carmelo have excellent English language skills and this makes everything easier, especially the tours he hosts. Even Rick Stieeves could learn much from these two. Carmelo and Luana know what it takes to create a memorable stay and visit to this part of Italy!! They make you feel like you are part of their family. I would leave you with one final recommendation, be sure to have Carmelo and Luana cook for you when you stay.....you will not have a better meal in all of Italy.....guaranteed!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 105 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is our third time visiting Villa Trasimeno and we are already looking forward to our next visit. Carmelo, Luana and Aurora are the perfect hosts. Nothing is too much for them and they are willing to accomodate any request. We had dinner several nights at the Villa and they were the best meals that we had on our trip - Carmelo is an outstanding chef and the desserts that Luana made were to die for! Breakfast was always a treat as well - something different every day (no plain buffett here)!!! The rooms are large, beautifully decorated and immaculate and the view of the lake from the balcony is stunning. We enjoyed many bottles of Prosecco on the balcony enjoying that view! This is the perfect location as it is located on the Umbrian Tuscany border so it is very easy to get to many towns from the Villa. Carmelo and Luana are extremely knowledgeable about the area and provided us with many tips for our day trips. We also took a tour with Carmelo to Fattoria La Vialla which was outstanding. We were treated to many delights (wine, warm fresh cookies, etc) that we would have never experienced if it weren't for Carmelo. Great memories of a wonderful time at Villa Trasimeno!!!
Terri and John - Chicago, IL

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerriandJohn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Carmelo and Luana have done a great job of creating a a wonderful B & B at Lake Trasimeno near Perugia. This was our second time to visit and we were more impressed than the first time. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, the location is perfect and Carmelo and Luana are wonderful hosts. We had our one vehicle so transportation was not a problem, but they provide service all around the area. Their recommendations for local attractions and restaurants were perfect. The meal Carmelo prepared for us was excellent. The breakfasts were superb. When we return to this area, Villa Trasimeno will be first on our list.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albertdelgarbino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I took our first trip away from the children EVER last year, and we had the absolute pleasure of staying at Villa Trasimeno with Carmelo and Luana for two weeks. We were greeted at a late in the day at the train station by Carmelo, and a beautiful snack plate and prosecco awaited us upon arrival at the Villa. Our very late request for dinner was met with nothing but warm hospitality and an amazing meal.

I can't even begin to describe how wonderful the people and the villa are. The room itself was absolutely perfect, always kept immaculately by Luana. We had a stunning view of Lago Trasimeno, and a perfect balcony to enjoy it from. The location was excellent, we could easily walk into town and hang out, and a short drive brought us to larger centres if need be.

What stands out are the people. Carmelo and Luana are amazing hosts and just generally wonderful, kind and knowledgable people. Carmelo knows so much of the history of the local areas, and he's always happy to share by organizing tours and making very helpful suggestions and recommendations. Luana always let me tag along on day to day errands, and never seemed put off by my want to go along in the first place. Carmelo took us on a huge tour out to Porto Santo Stefano...above and beyond the call of duty...and even treated us to a most amazing dinner upon our return. No reasonable request was ever denied (even some unreasonable ones), and they did everything they could to make our stay perfect. It was. We wish everyday I was back there with them.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karolleca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our family took its first trip to Europe this June. There were nine of us, including four teenagers. Undoubtably, the highlight was the three days and nights we stayed @ Villa Trasimeno. The hospitality shown to us by Carmen and Luana was overwhelming, and his ability to cook and satisfy all of us was as incredible as his neverending recipe lists. He is a passionate and knowlegable travel guide that gives a background to the incredibly beautiful area. The wines we were served were fantastic. I also thought the Npa Valley area was heaven on earth, and it is beatiful, but it is second place compared to Umbria and Tuscany. Brunello wine has now replaced Cabernet as the best there is.
Please consider Villa Trasimeno if your plans include Central Italy. You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

My partner and I had such a wonderful time staying here. Everything was just perfect. The room was spacious, very clean and well decorated. The view to Lago Trasimeno was just magical. Our dinner was superb, cooked by Carmelo and he paired it with delicious local wines.

We really wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l_ma8456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

You cannot find better hosts than Carmelo and Luana who host and cook for guests. Carmelo is gifted in organizing tours and hosting them and cooking great dinners. A great location near Perugia and Luana is delightful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saltesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Passignano Sul Trasimeno
2.1 mi away
La Vela
La Vela
#2 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
233 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
#1 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
464 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#7 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Trasimeno
Hotel Trasimeno
#5 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
114 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Casa Sul Lago
La Casa Sul Lago
#1 of 2 in Torricella di Magione
159 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#6 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Trasimeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Trasimeno

Address: Via San Donato 21, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Price Range: $100 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property functions as an upscale Bed and Breakfast. Each room is beautifully decorated in a different theme. Four of the villa's rooms have breathtaking Lake views 2 facing Hill side. We offer private tours and excursions to the winery and to the nearby major cities. It's conveniently located near important cities such as: Assisi, Perugia, Gubbio, Todi, Florence, the Chianti region, Montepulciano, Rome, Siena, Montalcino, San Gimignano, Arezzo, Cortona, Orvieto. Both the immediate and surrounding areas have much to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Trasimeno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Trasimeno Italy/Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing