We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service and Accommodation”
Review of Villa Trasimeno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Trasimeno
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This B&B exceeded all our expectations. Carmelo & Luana were extremely welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. The room was very spacious (Foresta) and cleaned daily. Wonderful private balcony with panoramic view of Lake Trasimeno. Guests have access to a fridge to store own food or drinks, plus it was stocked with wine, beer and other beverages. Breakfast always consisted of at least one freshly made product, plus juice, coffee, yogurt, cereal and a platter of various other goodies. Also had dinner 3 nights at the B&B; these meals were exceptional and the best we had in our 4 week trip to Italy, plus very reasonably priced. Location is good for traveling throughout Umbria and Tuscany.

Best B&B we have ever stayed in. Carmelo and Luana certainly understand the concept of excellent service. We truly did not want to leave.

Elaine & Bobb
Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 106 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2011

All we can say is ditto to every single rave revue written on this site! Our seven-day stay at Villa Trasimeno was and continues to be beyond memorable and certainly a highlight of our month in Italy! Carmelo and Luana were the perfect hosts - with their friendliness, attention to every detail, and fabulous cooking! We had planned to eat dinner at the Villa only the first night - but after our first dinner, we arranged to return from whatever we were doing each the day so as not to miss a dinner at the Villa!! Every meal was superb! We highly recommend Villa Trasimeno. We would also recommend anyone joining Carmelo for daily tours of the Tuscany/Umbria area. He's not only a wealth of information, but a joy to be with! Our only regret was ....leaving!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ghogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Gorgeous Villa Trasimeno is difficult to properly describe in terms of how exceptionally beautiful it is and how exceptionally personable Carmelo and Luana are. The pictures on the website are quite amazing but hardly do this wonderful B&B justice. Staying at Villa Trasimeno is perfect for so many reasons, so whether you intend to just get away or to use it as a base from which to explore the surrounding area, forget looking elsewhere! Villa Trasimeno is where you want to stay!

Carmelo and Luana are wonderful hosts who go out of their way to make guests feel welcome and right at home. It was a real pleasure to speak with and get to know them throughout our days at the villa, and their impressive service began right from the moment we let go of our bags in our amazingly beautiful room. Carmelo and Luana brought snacks and wine to our room right after we arrived, all of which was a welcome treat from a lengthy day of sightseeing and driving. They prepare fabulous breakfasts, even caring to cater to our specific tastes when they didn't have to... they noticed that we didn't eat too many of the sweets on the table our first morning there (The rest of the delicious breakfast had disappeared and was quite satisfying!), so the next morning they prepared egg sandwiches for us instead along with many other delicious goodies. The attention to detail and extra effort were extremely considerate and almost overwhelming!

The grounds themselves are gorgeous, and the views of the lake from our balcony were quite a sight to behold. The room was luxurious and beautiful, with charm in every detail from the light fixtures and the chairs to the doors and bed frames. The bed was amazingly comfortable and gave us three fabulous nights of sleep. The bathroom was spacious and like a picture you'd find in some sort of a rich-and-famous lifestyle magazine. Again, the website pictures are indeed stunning, but nothing will prepare you for actually stepping foot into Villa Trasimeno. Every standard of cleanliness and comfort was surpassed and topped off by a whopping dose of incredible elegance.

We used Villa Trasimeno as a base from which to explore the surrounding area, including Siena and Assisi. I would return to Villa Trasimeno in a heartbeat just to enjoy the wonderful setting and the hospitality of Carmelo and Luana, though! Don't bother looking further if you intend on staying in the area... Villa Trasimeno is perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turkeysammich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

My three adult daughters and I spent five wonderful days at this quiet,beautiful place in the Umbrian hills. The owners, Carmelo and Luanna were the perfect hosts. The rooms were clean and comfortable,, the view of Lake Trasimeno spectacular. The private guided tours with Carmelo as our guide were exceptional with his amazing knowledge of the history of the various cities and historic sites we visited. We would highly recommend this wonderful villa to anyone and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyMeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

This was the find of of a 5 week trip. After 4 weeks of travelling around Italy it was the perfect, decision free place to go and relax. Its far enough out of the town to feel rural and the view of the lake is stunning. Make sure you book a room with a view.
We were lucky enough that we could get a room here at short notice, emailing frantically from Florence with 2 days notice. Carmelo was speedy in his confirmation of our room and gave us all the instructions we needed as to what train to catch, the timetable and what station to disembark. How wonderful to have Luana and Aurora their little girl meet us at the station. From then on we were totally in their capable hands.
If you don't have a car but want to sightsee, It is possible to negotiate with Carmelo to take you out to places. He will base his personal tours on your interests It helps if there are other guests who want to do the same thing this will reduce cost. Initially for us $100 euro each (we tagged onto planned trips another couple had arranged) seemed expensive, but you are driven from door back to door, wi,when we did a tourist bus excursion out of Forence to Sienna and a winery, it cost the same with 40 people. Here the maximum is about 6 people and he is very flexible.
The villa is modern but the decor is country rustic chic. Without a car, you can be reliant on Carmelo and Louella who will almost embarrassingly go out of their way to accommodate dropping you off or picking you up in town etc around their daughter's school drop off and pick up and their preparations for dinner. The local town of Tresimeno does not have any taxis as all the hotels and villas will their guests around. You can walk to the villa from the town. It takes about 30-40 min and is a very pleasant walk along the lake. If you are into track walks there are many in the the area and there is a great map they provide that shows where the tracks are and level of difficulty. Carmelo will also cook an amazing 3 course meal every night for 30 euros each which includes a bottle of wine per couple. As he is a great chef this is a bargain for the quality of the food and pretty easy after a day of sightseeing. Better than anything in town.
Because this italian family lived in the US and established a restaurant clientele there, the guests can be a bit american centric. We had two couples staying at the same time. One of the couples came just for his cooking. While we all had differing views on life, it was a wonderful, pleasant experience to share meals together (you don't have to eat communally) and the odd sightseeing trip and we parted vowing to be facebook friends. We loved the family, the villa and the town of Trasimeno and would go back in a flash. 30 min. away from Perugia and 90 minutes from Florence by train. They will pick you up or drop you off at Rome if you want them to. Its about 2-3 hours away by car. Only about 2 hours by train. I can't measure them any higher than absolutely brilliant.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sydneyswans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Beautiful Louana & handsome Carmelo - such a lovely friendly couple who made our stay so comfortable. The meals were fabulous, the advice on things to see was impeccable; & the accommodation was fit for royalty. Thank you both so much

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Carmelo Villa owner, chef and tour guide was superb. The Villa is meticulously clean, updated, in a beautiful location and very pleasing to the eyes. Our best meal in Italy by far was served at Villa Trasimeno. Carmelo is a well versed tour guide and a pleasure to spend the day with. I would definitely stay there again. What a beautifully operated/owned familly business.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Passignano Sul Trasimeno hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
Hotel Kursaal Umbria
#1 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
470 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Vela
La Vela
#2 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
234 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Paradiso Village
Villa Paradiso Village
#4 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#7 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
123 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Cavalieri
Hotel Cavalieri
#10 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
540 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villaggio Albergo Il Gabbiano
Villaggio Albergo Il Gabbiano
#8 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Trasimeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Trasimeno

Address: Via San Donato 21, 06065 Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
Price Range: $138 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property functions as an upscale Bed and Breakfast. Each room is beautifully decorated in a different theme. Four of the villa's rooms have breathtaking Lake views 2 facing Hill side. We offer private tours and excursions to the winery and to the nearby major cities. It's conveniently located near important cities such as: Assisi, Perugia, Gubbio, Todi, Florence, the Chianti region, Montepulciano, Rome, Siena, Montalcino, San Gimignano, Arezzo, Cortona, Orvieto. Both the immediate and surrounding areas have much to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Trasimeno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Trasimeno Italy/Passignano Sul Trasimeno, Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing