We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect”
Review of Hotel Montemerlo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Montemerlo
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fetovaia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 28, 2013

As I can see from other reviews on this site, we were not the only ones who had a wonderful experience with Hotel Montemerlo. Nicola was beyond accommodating, helping us choose excellent restaurants and activities while we stayed on the island. The room was very comfortable and the hotel itself was beautiful - a sparkling swimming pool, lush plant life and a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere to enjoy after a day on the beach. I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Elba, which seems to be a secret respite off of the coast of Italy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 477 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

Nicola and his staff made us feel welcome guests from the moment we arrived. The room was bright and well furnished with a balcony which faced on to the swimming pool. We were particularly delighted by the ecologically friendly theme and could see that the family are making this the mainstay of the hotel. Nicola was always attentive and willing to give us guidance when we were looking for walks.to do. The menu was varied and the food was seldom less than delicious. We look forward to a further visit in the future. Lee and Simon

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leepybus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Hotel Montemerlo is a really wonderful hotel located 10 minutes walk from Fetovaia beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in Elba. The hotel is very nice and cozy, Nicola and his family are really friendly and helpful and would make their best to make you feel at home. The rooms are very clean and provided with every comfort. The hotel has a swimming pool but the sea itself is a swimming pool, with the clearest water I've ever seen. Montemerlo is surrounded by nature and it's eco-friendly: Nicola's commitment to turn his hotel into a place as nature-friendly as possible is really great. I'd recommend Hotel Montemerlo to all the people who want to spend some time in a beautiful, quiet place, dipped into nature, far (but not too far) from the "movida" that characterizes Elba during summer (especially in august), served and revered by friendly staff and with great typical Italian food (a lot of fresh fish).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manup253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

For Italian standards, this hotel should have an extra star. The client is at the centre of attention. The hotel clean, renewed, great food and cozy. We were with our two kids in the Casa del Banano and it was very comfortable. The owners are really nice. Sara and her husband Michele, who manages the Pino Solitario beach, are always careful at every single detail. Too bad we had to leave after a week for another place in Marina Di Campo... Excellent quality price ratio.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Fabio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We just came back from Hotel Montemerlo and I have to say one think – it was the best relax ever!
Montemerlo is a family run hotel in the very quiet part of Elba Island. It´s great for everyone who loves nature, doesn’t need a lot of shops, restaurants and bars.
Nicola and his family are very friendly and totally helpful (still on the phone to help you with everything). Hotel has excellent service, great local food and perfect location in the olive, banana and figs garden right above the see.
Pino Solitairo Beach (about 10 min walk) is very clean, perfectly blue but you have to pay for sunbed and umbrella about 20 euro a day – as a Montemerlo guest you have a 10 % discount for beach service and the great restaurant on the beach.
Perfectly clean hotel pool was situated right above our room (no.26) and it´s eco-pool which means no chlorine. The pool is a center of the hotel and you can enjoy it during the whole day except nap time (from 2 to 4 pm) which is the time for relax, the whole hotel is absolutely calm and you can just relax… Other great time was after the diner (local food, 3 course menu), when you can sit by the pool, have a drink and listen to the frogs singing.
I would definitely recommend Hotel Montemerlo and I will come back again. If you like nature and want to relax, this is definitely the best place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annabal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We spent a week in this fantastic hotel - and many thanks for the reviewers of TripAdvisor who rated it as the best hotel in Elba, they were absolutely right. Fetovaia is a small place with a small beach from which the hotel is a 10mins walk but the scene is breathtakingly beautiful - imagine a calm bay with the cleanest, blue sea you have ever seen.
The hotel is run by a nice family who really do everything for the guests' comfort. The rooms are simple but clean and tidy, equipped with AC. We also had dinner in the hotel every day which was really delicious, lots of fresh fish. We enjoyed our stay very much - even tried scuba diving for the first time which was amazing. I can only recommend this place, mostly if you are travelling with children.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvia0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I spent a few days at Montemerlo and was pleasantly suprised by the place, the cleanliness and the professionalism shown by all the staff. The hotel is quite large and has various options from classic rooms with a balcony to ground floor accommodation with access to communal gardens and a nice swimming pool. Food was good (and hopefully the level stays high even when the restaurant is full, which must happen on a daily basis in season) and the price of extras like wine or beer not particularly cheap but still reasonable; breakfast was ok, maybe a bit limited, but quite acceptable. The family that owns the hotel really makes an effort to keep their guests happy, and if you add to this that Elba is beautiful at all times, but absolutely stunning at low season (May and September October) you have all the ingredients for a great holiday. From the hotel it is only a short walk to the nearest beach.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guorlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fetovaia
6 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
447 reviews
12.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Elba International
9 mi away
Hotel Capo Sud
Hotel Capo Sud
#1 of 5 in Lacona
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Airone del Parco & delle Terme
7.6 mi away
Hotel Biodola
Hotel Biodola
#2 of 25 in Portoferraio
366 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montemerlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montemerlo

Address: Via del Canaletto 240, 57034 Fetovaia, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Fetovaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fetovaia
Price Range: $86 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montemerlo 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EcoHotel which includes four buildings. It is like a small village in a large Mediterranean garden.Hotel Montemerlo is located in a quiet countryside in the heart of the Gulf of Fetovaia, about 400 meters from the famous white sand beach away.The rooms that have been recently renovated are equipped with modern amenities.Award for “one of the 7 best eco-hotels in Italy”, Rome 2010 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Hotel Montemerlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montemerlo Elba Island/Fetovaia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing