We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely property in great location with plenty to...”
other travelers have booked this property
Maison Doiseau in summer;  we have outside dining and loungers, BBQ and a large orchard garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Maison Doiseau in summer;  we have outside dining and loungers, BBQ and a large orchard garden
Dining area in large kitchen seats 6; enjoy a glass of wine with your family / friends while cooking Master bedroom also has cot, bathroom, shower room downstairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Maison Doiseau in summer;  we have outside dining and loungers, BBQ and a large orchard garden
Dining area in large kitchen seats 6; enjoy a glass of wine with your family / friends while cooking
Master bedroom also has cot, bathroom, shower room downstairs
Second master bedroom has a single bed so would suit a couple or two single people or children
The second bedroom has also a single bed will suit a couple and child, or two adults
view from the garden July 2016 - the garden is large with fruit and nut trees and swing for children
2 swings for the children at the end of the large and enclosed orchard garden
Walk to the vineyards! Our garden at Vrigny, Maison Doiseau seen far left
Vrigny cottages from the end of the garden which has 2 walnut trees, 2 hazelnuts and various plums
Maison Doiseau in sunny courtyard with table and sun loungers, BBQ quiet location near Chenonceau
Visit the Chateaux - we are only 5 minutes drive from Chenonceau or take a leisurely cycle ride
Loches market - we have wonderful local markets - somewhere each day of the week
Chateau from the lovely avenue;  this is a wonderful location on our doorstep
we have great markets in all the local towns, one for every day of your stay
Mediaeval Place Plumereau in nearby Tours 30 km drive by motorway
We are on the door step of the vineyards great for walking and cycling! Wine tasting next door!
Chenonceau is only 4 minutes drive from your cottage - or take a bike and cycle along the river
Tours Place Plumereau the historic centre half an hour by car/ train from Chissay, restaurants, bars
The Avenue at Chenonceau - quite beautiful! Stop for lunch in the Orangerie excellent cuisine
Chenonceau from the south bank you can walk along the river right past or take one of our bikes!
Vineyard in September - come for Vendange and taste the grape juice as it ferments! or just buy wine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Saint-Georges-sur-Cher, Loir-et-Cher, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sodthedog
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely property in great location with plenty to do or for just relaxing”
Reviewed September 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Three properties meant you got to chat to your neighbours, lovely property, great facilities and homely touches. NIce to make use of the boules and the bikes. Make sure you canoe on the river. lots of fab sites nearby.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2017
So pleased you have enjoyed your stay in our cottage which is situated in a quiet location close to the vineyards and only 4 minutes drive from the Chateau at Chenonceau. There are plenty of bikes here for everyone and excellent cycling routes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billymc20...
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed January 27, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Everything about the cottage was as advertised or better. The owner provided any and all information needed to make us comfortable. The cottage was very well equipped - electric heat and a wood stove (with an ample supply of split, dry wood), washer, drier, dishwasher, etc., etc.. Located in a very quiet small village, but an easy drive to shopping for groceries, wine and all the important stuff. We just drove around the countryside, visiting historical chateaus and wineries. Very pleasant and peaceful vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage construction and layout
Liked least: Nothing we didn't like
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2016
It is unusual for guests to come in winter, but we love it at this time of year. When it is cold the weather sparkles, and the chateaux are all open, quiet and full of pleasure. Our cottage is as you say well located for everything you need, just a short drive into town with its great restaurants and very good supermarkets. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we encourage more to come at this time of year! Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H
Goring-on Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Everything you could want in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Large, comfortable, well-heated house in a village surrounded by chateaux, interesting towns and good restaurants. Many pages of information were provided in English about the house and things to see and do in the area. A local woman checked with us to make sure everything was OK. Fireplace, TV and DVD players, lots of books and games - this was perfect for a Christmas break, but would also be great to see in the summer.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2015
Thank you so much we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay. We think a winter holiday in our lovely cottage with wood-burning stove - which ensures you will be cosy - is really great and we usually spend 2-3 weeks in January here. The chateaux are open all year as are some very good local restaurants and of course the wine growers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aecscott
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic homely cottage”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a wonderful time in Maison Doiseau for many reasons. On arrival we felt immediately at home as the house is equipped with everything you could think of needing. Ann had sent us such precise and detailed information about the property, the surrounding area and what to expect that we were at ease immediately. We had no questions and no problems as everything was so clear and straightforward. The kitchen has dried food stuffs in the cupboards so we had no need to panic about not having the basics for cooking. This was a real gam changer!

The house is excellently located and we had a wonderful time exploring the Loire valley. We made full use of the bicycles in the garage and this made for some lovely bike rides throng the vineyards. We would recommend visiting the winery of Antoine Simoneau very nearby for some fun wine tasting and for delicious white wine we went to Vouvray to Domaine Jean-Claude et Didier Aubert.

Although this house is fantastic, I feel I should explain my 4* rating. The decorations of the house is rather outdated. This did not affect our stay at all and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxed break either in a small group of friends (as we were) or a family, however, if you set looking for a modern newly renovated house then this is not the house. I would however say that when renting, it is rather nice not to have to worry about being somewhere pristine and characterless and walking around on tip toes so it was perfect for us!

Thank you Ann for such a fantastic trip. Our holiday wouldn't have been the same!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How homely the property was
Liked least: The outdated decoration
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2014
Thank you, so pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay in our lovely cottage. We know the decor is quaint, this is an old farm cottage and we have kept the beams and fireplace, the cottage is our home in France so will feel homely. The furnishing and carpet are new this year. We aim to make our guests feel welcome. There is a wood-burning stove for winter evenings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon S
Charente-Maritime, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well-Equipped Cottage with Charm”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The cottage was as advertised. We found it to be sparkling clean, with a very well-equipped kitchen. It was a bonus having two bathrooms, and by closing the shutters during the day, we were almost as comfortable in the hot weather as if we'd had AC. The beds were comfortable, and there was cozy seating space in the salon. The washer and dishwasher were practically new, and we made use of the bicycles, too. All in all, it exceeded our expectations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2014
Thank you we are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay in our cottage. You are correct about the machines, I think we replaced the dish washer in July! We hope you will tell your friends about our lovely cottage and look forward to coming again another year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScubaFami...
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family friendly base for relaxed castle viewing!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

As a family with three young kids finding somewhere child friendly is a must - Maison Doiseau was perfect with a large (safe) garden, toys, kids gear and most importantly sat-TV so cBeebies could be located when needed! Also a lovely well equipped and comfortable cottage for the adults and the perfect base for castle viewing and local markets. The owner sent great information before the stay and the cottage really need provide all we needed to end our trip around France. A wonderful few days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2014
Thank you, glad the information helped, and that you found the cottage a good base for chateau visits. The cottages are intentionally child friendly, we have 7 grand-children and they all come out to stay some time during the year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfauntie
Reviewed June 27, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the fact that it seemed so much a family home rather than a rental property. everything had been thought of. books, games, maps, guidebooks.
Liked least: it is only minor but sharing parking with several other cars could be tricky. there were three couples in adjoining property and they had three cars. I don' think this would be the norm though
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2014
Thank you for such a full and complimentary review! It is lovely in Vrigny, we go ourselves quite a lot and are so happy for our guests to enjoy our lovely cottages as much as we do. There are three cottages next door to each other and they would be great for several families / friends to come together. We are located centrally in the Loire Valley so within half an hour's drive of the main chateaux and vineyards. Our local chateau is Chenonceau just 4 minutes by car; our local viticulteur M Lacour makes great sauvignon and gamay and will willingly show you around!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing