We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real highlight of our trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Pierres d'Aurele
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

This winery B&B was recommended by several friends who had stayed here. The owner and his family were extremely friendly and devoted to our comfort. The location was excellent as most of the castles to be visited are within an hour's drive. Recommend a GPS as it is somewhat off the main road which also made it very quiet and relaxing. Wine produced here is of a very good quality and the owner does offer a tour and tasting. We stayed 6 nights and enjoyed tremendously.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTLclaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Les Pierres d'Aurele
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 173 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed for four nights at this B&B. We absolutely loved it and would sincerely recommend it.
The room was very clean and spacious, breakfast was great (especially for French standards) with different jams, cheeses and grape juices (white & red) they produce themselves, and their hospitality was exemplary. We have never been welcomed more kindly.
We also loved the location of this B&B, amidst the vinyards - it was very quiet and calm.
Another plus is that it's really well located to visit the chateaus in the area (especially Chenonceau is only 5 minutes away).
And also a plus for us was that we could get a short tour and information on the wines they produce and taste them (we particularly appreciated their sauvignon - Phillo).
They only thing we were not 100% convinced of, were some of the restaurants they recommended. But we had a lovely time and would surely return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

After 500 km drive was nice to be warmly welcomed with a glass of house fizz. Room very big for 2 ( sleeps a family) and sound advice on touristing. Leaving with 2 cartons of wine as well!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonHigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The website for this year-old winery/chambres d'hote was enchanting, and the reality lived up to the website. Owned and run by a young couple and the man's parents, equal attention is paid to the establishment of a family of vines and wine and the development of a warm and comfortable guesthouse. The four rooms are all absolutely beautiful, a combination of rustic and contemporary style, as elegant but relaxed as the photos promise, but it is the atmosphere of the house itself that is special. Lovely breakfasts, a beautiful dining room, lounge, and outdoor table area, wifi, books, etc., and planning help are all what one could wish, but the extras are what we will remember. All guests are offered a winery tour and wine tasting, but then each evening we were served a different wine from the estate and local cheese as an apertif at the tables outdoors, while watching the evening hot air balloons drift by. We had arranged for a table d'hotes for the first night, but the dinner was so magnificent that we asked for dinner again our other two nights. Situated right in the middle of chateaux country, Les Pierres d'Aurele is an affordable gem.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room named Chrysos, a two-room suite in which beds could be combined in a number of...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60811Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Booked based on positive reviews and we completely agree. Beautiful location in the countryside, in the middle of a vineyard. Very friendly staff that make you feel very welcome. Spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated room. Classic French feel in the room. Generous breakfast with delicious, homemade, fresh grape juice. Absolutely outstanding value for money. Shame we couldn't stay longer...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernhard l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We spent a night here on our long drive from Dordogne back to Paris. The b&b is located on a working vineyard, so the grounds were really nice. Rooms were also pretty nice, modern and spacious. We mostly interacted with the female owner, whose english was good enough that we were able to interact and get restaurant recommendations, though we had some awkward moments. I asked if we could chill a half bottle of champagne we had bought elsewhere since we were leaving France in two days and trying to finish it, and she said "oh we sell those here!" Umm...ok. The next morning we had breakfast and the couple next to us had some eggs which we didn't see on the buffet table, so my boyfriend asked for eggs. She made them, but then had her son (who speaks better English) come out to tell us they don't normally make eggs but the woman next to us was diabetic and couldn't eat the other stuff so they had made them. And also they found their last two eggs and made them for us. We felt bad because we didn't realize it was a special order (boyfriend is also diabetic actually) but it was just an awkward situation.

Otherwise it was a nice stay, very reasonably priced. We didn't try any of their wines since we couldn't buy bottles to take home, but we would have had we stayed longer. They also cook dinner for their guests but we had declined because we wanted to visit Chateau Chenonceau at night (which is located conveniently nearby). Other minor issues: we found some bugs in the room which we got rid of and they didn't come back (it's on a vineyard, what do you expect?), the A/C barely worked so we were quite warm throughout the night, and when we were leaving there was a strange septic tank smell coming from one of the rooms that was being cleaned (maybe a toilet backed up?). They do have wireless internet which worked well so that was good. Overall, we would recommend this place for a short stay in the area, or longer if you speak better French than we did.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank humela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

This was a very good place for a stopover on a journey south. The big family room was excellent, the hosts were extremely welcoming and did everything to make the stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David9261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Georges-sur-Cher
4.3 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
867 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chateau de Chissay
Chateau de Chissay
#1 of 2 in Chissay-en-Touraine
370 reviews
10.5 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Clair Cottage
Clair Cottage
#1 of 1 in Chisseaux
106 reviews
20.7 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
11.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Saint Aignan
Grand Hotel Saint Aignan
#3 of 3 in Saint-Aignan
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Pierres d'Aurele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Pierres d'Aurele

Address: 1 la Chauverie, 41400 Saint-Georges-sur-Cher, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Saint-Georges-sur-Cher
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Georges-sur-Cher
Price Range: $99 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Pierres d'Aurèle is situated in the Loire valley, making it easy to explore the region's many castles. Free parking is available to guests who arrive by car. Les Pierres d'Aurèle provides air-conditioned accommodation in a converted farmhouse with a pool and is surrounded by the vineyard. Each Pierres d'Aurèle room has a private bathroom and a view of the vineyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Les Pierres d'Aurele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Pierres D'Aurele France/Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing