We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Santo Miramare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santo Miramare Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Perivolos
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at Santo Miramare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked a week at Santo Miramare due to a wedding in Santorini, and both the bride and the groom's families were staying here. The choice could not be better!

The staff are beyond helpful and friendly, very accomodating to our every need. They call taxis, book cars and ATVs and help with general information about the island. Our room was large and chilly at night (Good!), the breakfast was splendid (egg, bacon, feta, stuffed vine leaves, tomatoes and much more), pools were amazing and the pool bar staff took your orders at the beach or by the pool. You pretty much don't have to do a thing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanEkehaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    220
    63
    27
    14
See reviews for
154
298
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have been spending our annual holiday at the beautiful Santo Miramare Resort for several years now and we are never disappointed. We are always given a warm welcome from all the staff. The hotel is spotlessly clean throughout and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. This year we had a lovely room again overlooking the pool with plenty of space and a private balcony.

The food in the restaurant which is run by Giannis and his friendly team is always excellent with plenty of choice for breakfast, you can get dinner for 15 euros (not including drinks) and lunch can be bought at the pool bar which is also very good. In the evening the pool bar is open where Justin makes wonderful cocktails, try the Mojito and the Tequila Sunrise.

Nearby (to the left of the hotel entrance) is a small shop stocked with toiletries, food, drinks, and also a few gifts. If you turn left from the gate at the back entrance of the hotel there are several bars and restaurants. Try Charlina's run by Nick where you can get an excellent meal at a very reasonable price.

What makes our stay so special is the kindness of all the staff. A special thanks to Mondy who has been there every year, who works very hard and never fails to make us smile!

We've barely unpacked and are already thinking about next year. As soon as we have booked we will be counting down the days for our next trip to paradise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have recently returned from the Santo Miramare hotel and we have had a brilliant time. Not only is Santorini stunning but this hotel is exceptionally good. If we return to Santorini I would definately stay at the Santo Miramare again. The staff are friendly, the breakfast is good, the bar meals at lunchtime very reasonably priced. We did email in advance to request a room on a high floor and we were given one on the middle level with a pool view which was great. As for previous negative comments, we found the bathroom slightly dated but adequate, spotlessly clean though. As for the beds being hard, yes they are firm but we slept fine! I especially liked that there was not much 'reserving of sunbeds at dawn'. It is lovely that there is so much space around the pools, and if you prefer to go to the beach then the sunbeds there are free. The beach is very pebbly you will need shoes to get into the sea. We didn't stay half board we ate at a few restaurants to the right as you face the sea. Our favourite was afros who always give you free raki and watermelon after your meal, the house white is lovely too. Also go to the end of the road to Stavros who is very friendly and will teach you some greek. We went there for pre dinner drinks a few times.

There is lots to do for days out, we did one organised trip of the island which took us to small villages, wine tasting at Santo winery and then to Oia for 3 hours where we ate at a lovely smal restaurant called seagull which had a fantastic view over the caldera. We also caught the local bus to Thira, such a bargain 2 euros 20 each way, try to get the express bus back but be prepared its very busy!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenjaynecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay in Santo Miramare. We had room 206 (a slight upgrade to a suite) and it was brilliant. Large, quiet, spotlessly clean, made up every day and air con worked a treat! The whole hotel is exactly like the pictures & the staff were amazingly helpful (especially when the Greek Authorities went on strike and I was trying to rearrange connecting flights home!). You got clean beach towels for the beach every second day and if you were going on the boat tour (like us) the gave you extra clean towels to go with you. They arranged trips and quad bikes and helped us when we missed out bus back to the hotel by sending the driver back for us. The breakfast choice was huge and was always topped up and the bar meals were perfect size with even a delivery to you on the beach option! The whole resort is squeaky clean and no signs of "run-down" anywhere. Please, please don't be put off by some of the bad reviews here as we honestly have NO idea what they are talking about! Maybe they were exceptionally unlucky but I know we have plans to return and can't praise the staff or the resort high enough!

Room Tip: Higher rooms probably quieter & corner ones seem larger! Worth the upgrade to a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEFFIELD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Beautiful hotel, reception staff on arrival very welcoming, any questions were dealt with, with efficiency and politeness. Everywhere is spotless and clean, we fail to understand any criticism of the furnishings in the rooms, the beds and towels, ours were lovely. We had room 334 junior suite with a sea view, flat screen TV remote control air con. We would only point out that the wardrobe space was on the small side had we been a family of 3 (as we usually are) this would not have been adequate.
The pools are kept clean, the area jet washed and the small tables washed down with disinfectant on a regular basis.
Breakfast was really good and the evening meal catered for all tastes and appetites.
The beach furniture needs replacing.
As you turn left out of the back of the hotel and walk along past 3 or 4 bars you will come to the supermarket up the lane, this is quite well stocked and you can get an English newspaper, the owner is a very pleasant man, further along is a small souvenir shop again the owner most obliging .
If you opt for the Island tour (Secrets) from Thomson be aware this entails lots of walking, the guide Kim is very good, part of this is a visit to archeological dig but with no guide provided does not explain what this is all about.
Do go to Thira 18 euros each way in a taxi 20 mins or bus 4.60 euros 1 hour, this is so well worth a visit,spectacular, reminded us of Capri,
Overall my daughter and I had a fabulous holiday.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHEZVAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Have just returned from a Wedding in Santorini, we chose to stay in The Santo Miramare Resort
We were delighted with the service from Reception Staff to Management. Our Room (225) was on the second floor with lovely views from the balcony. We also read the reviews before we left and were a bit bemused when we arrived, I have never stayed at a hotel that all staff had time and made an effort to welcome and talk to you. The food was excellent with a great choice in the morning and at dinner in the evening. I must advise however it was the staff who made our holiday as each and every one of them were fantastic, even when we returned from our Wedding after midnight with plenty vino inside Mondy or Monoly was there to greet us from the taxi and take us to our room. There was plenty of choice at the Pool Bar with great Cocktails and International Drinks available. I would like to give a special mention to each of the following staff:

RECEPTION: Panagioti, Ion, Marilena & Monoly.

RESTAURANT: Yannis & Apostolij

POOL BAR: Ivan, Spiro (who we christened Sweet Cheeks), Julia, Edyta & Justin.

HOUSEKEEPER: Beti.

MANAGEMENT: Dhimitre (who was very approachable & made time to talk)

A great big THANK YOU to you all. We will recommend this hotel to all our friends who are visiting Santorini. Well done to Dhimitre for running a tight ship, all your staff gave you good remarks from being Fair and a good boss.

Catherine & The Whisky Ladies xx

Room Tip: Higher Rooms I would say are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Following a recent holiday to the Santo Miramare Resort, we would highly recommend a visit. We stayed (as a couple in our 20’s) for 1 week (2nd July to the 9th July) in room 138. The hotel itself is lovely; spotlessly clean, has a fantastic pool area and the reception staff are friendly, kind and very polite. The room itself, although not the biggest was very comfortable and following on with the trend of the hotel, spotlessly clean. Our room was a ground floor room with a terrace, which we found nice and very accessible. Be aware that the hairdryer isn’t the greatest, and the beds are hard!

We stayed on a half board basis and we are very glad we did as the food was of a very high standard. The breakfast was buffet style with lots of options including cereals, fruit, fried breakfast etc. In addition to this there was lots of variation for the evening meal, with different varieties of meats, salads, vegetables, soups, puddings etc which we thoroughly enjoyed - the service of the waiting staff is superb!! The only downside to the restaurant is if you sit outside be aware that some of the other guests will smoke (which personally as non smokers we found disgusting!). Additionally it is a very informal affair with shorts, vests and flip flops the norm (which again we found slightly strange, although with the heat understandable). The private beach is great, although it is black sand and a little pebbly in places - we didn’t see this as a problem. We survived without buying any beach shoes (just used flip flops) and regularly enjoyed a dip in the sea!

Santorini itself is a beautiful island (in pockets), the transfer however from the airport was a slightly nerve racking experience. After hearing and reading about Santorini being a ‘beautiful and spectacular island’, we were quite worried as the majority of the island (due to the climate) is desert like, with donkeys, horses and half built houses around every corner. Once we arrived at the hotel however, our nerves were settled. We explored the island using public transport which was fine although be aware that the buses come and go as they please and they can also get very busy - especially to Oia at peak times (i.e sunse). The pockets of beauty are certainly in the north of the island with Thira and Oia being especially beautiful although Oia does get VERY busy in an evening - we would recommend a sunset meal at Thira which is cheaper and alot less busy and hectic. The resort of Perivolos is quite quiet, although a stroll along the beach to Perrissa (25 minutes) is nice and is shrouded by bars, restaurants, supermarkets and the odd souvenir shop. Overall, a very enjoyable holiday and would recommend a visit!

P.s We travelled with Thomson and wouldn’t recommend attending the ‘Thomson Welcome meeting’, it is literally a 30 minute meeting in a hot conference room with the rep trying to sell Thomson tours. If you require any advice regarding the island speak to reception as they are most helpful and more knowledgeable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perivolos
2.6 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#4 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
4.9 mi away
El Greco
El Greco
#17 of 82 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aegean Plaza Hotel
Aegean Plaza Hotel
#27 of 77 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Notos Therme & Spa
Notos Therme & Spa
#1 of 1 in Vlychada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#4 of 40 in Perissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santo Miramare Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santo Miramare Resort

Property: Santo Miramare Resort
Address: Perivolos Emboriou, Perivolos 847 03, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perivolos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Perivolos
#2 Family Hotel in Perivolos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Perivolos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Perivolos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santo Miramare Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santo Miramare is a fine luxury resort next to the black sandy beach of Perivolos. The absolute destination for families, group of friends, honeymooners or anyone who desires a highly standard accommodation in a traditionally built resort that offers everything the world famous island of Santorini is promising for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santo Miramare Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santo Miramare Hotel Perivolos
Hotel Santo Miramare
Santo Miramare Resort Santorini/Perivolos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing