We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Ristorante la Campanella
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Bettolle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
282 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is a very unique restaurant because while being in the heart of Tuscany it's specialty is seafood. And that is excellent despite the location in meat country. Probably the meat is quite good because Antonio takes care with everything but we never got to try the meat because we really enjoyed all his seafood. In particular were the large shrimps in orange sauce. May sound odd but it is fantastic because the sauce isn't orange in the sweet way it may sound. Also had one of the best pasta with those great little clams famous in Italy (vongole). Same for his wife's pasta with those clams and mussels. He likes to use a little extra spice which we like. Prices were an absolute bargain. He speaks fine English and has a wonderful personality. He likes dogs (we were traveling with ours). We ate there 3 times in 5 days while visiting the area. The restaurant is located very close to the highway, in what looks like a shopping center but is just the restaurant and a large showroom. If you are close by, just do it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank getgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    138
    42
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent and inexpensive”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great place. Went there based on recommendations here and were not disappointed. In fact, we were so impressed that returned the next day. Bistecca alla florentina was very good, all seafood dishes were excellent. Value for money is fantastic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leonidbrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely fresh seafood”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We loved this little restaurant with the lovely fresh seafood it offered! it was a very nice place to visit - very unpretencious and very good service. We ordered the mixed seafood platter (barbequed) as main and were not disappointed! its rare to find seafood in Tuscany but this wonderful place served fresh catches.

Very good service - I would definitely recommend to seafood lovers!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sammy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Definatly a local gem”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

If you like delecasie you will not regret it. Food is deliciouse, enough said :)
Ask for affogato and you will not even remeber what you just eat :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tuscan perfection in the most unlikeliest of places”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My friend was driving us from Rome to Florence and knew this "little fish place" on the drive and suggested it for lunch. A few seconds of the A1 in Uscita, La Campanella set the standard for all the meals we would have in Italy for the next week.

The bruschetta was amazing with the tastiest tomatoes. BTW, don't be surprised that your bread is unsalted as this is a Tuscan tradition.

My wife got a very generous helping of the tastiest mussels over pasta. My daughter had a traditional spaghetti with a boar meat sauce which was out of this world (and not to be missed whilst in Tuscany). My meal was spaghetti with clams and salted and pressed tuna eggs - something you don't see too often in the US and perfect in every way: portion size, flavor, al dente pasta. Our friend had the pici with the boar sauce and frankly, all of us had clean plates.

In our week in Florence and Rome, this was the ONLY place where we ordered the tiramisu. That might have been the last time I'll ever order it, it was that good.

This was a great place with a very nice wine list as well. It wasn't crowded at all on a weekday for a late, lazy lunch and the prices were fine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante la Campanella also viewed

 
Sinalunga, Province of Siena
La Fratta, Sinalunga
 

Been to Ristorante la Campanella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing