We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Review Highlights
amazing experience with this canoe company on the Dordogne River

My college-aged son, husband and I rented a three-person canoe from Dordogne Canoes and had a great... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
stacyo349
,
Urbandale
Make sure you canoe the Dordogne River

We were in St Cyprien for 7 days and did and saw some great things. One of, if not the best thing... read more

Reviewed October 4, 2018
Bartlettforpresident
,
Perth, Australia
Read all 84 reviews
  
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
59
16
2
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
59
16
2
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews starting point three bridges les milandes picnic lunch life jackets the river nature paddling container canoe company km equipment stretch hour scenery dordogne
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 84 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2018

Loved this canoe trip. It was an easy paddle for about 2 hours through lovely towns, chateaus, and farms. The guys working there could be a little more friendly, but they were efficient. They picked us up right on time.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank yoshewhiteboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

A couple of days ago we set off from just upstream of Roque-Gageac to the stop point opposite Les Milandes. What a way to spend a morning! Drifting down the fast-growing Dordogne with only the odd dab of a paddle for steering was all that was required. About an hour and a half admiring the scenery on a cloudless day - then wait for a bus ride back - fantastic!
The guys at Canoe Dordogne are very helpful. A must-do!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank andall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

Having heard my son and his wife talk about their experience my husband and I just had to try it for ourselves as we were on holiday in France. La Roque-Gageac is very picturesque and where we started our canoeing experience. Parking was free and the young man who sold us our tickets spoke perfect English and explained how it all works. For 17 euros each we had the canoe, life jacket and a large waterproof container to keep our bits and pieces in. The distance we could row was 9 km but we could take as long as we wanted - stop and have a picnic or swim and at the end there was a regular shuttle mini bus to take us back to the starting point. The scenery was amazing and we loved the whole experience. Just a word of warning. The public loos in La Roque-Gageac are unisex and the urinals are in full view right next to toilets with doors!!!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

We have just finished 7 hours canoeing down the Dordogne. We stopped many times to swim and have lunch and snacks whilst enjoying the most amazing views along the way. If you are staying in the area I strongly recommend a day on the river.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank ants27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

We were looking for a canoe place we had previously booked but couldn’t find it, but instead stumbled across this company.

Actually by coincidence I had emailed them days earlier asking about trips but didn’t get a reply. That’s my first tip; don’t bother emailing them.

We parked and went to the reception. We just wanted the basic paddling around that area package, which, after a bit of pushy up selling by the lady there, was all arranged.

All went well from there. We got some advice about where to go, picked up our paddles, life vests and waterproof container and headed for the canoes. There we were sorted out for canoes and off we went - simple as that. It’s a very pretty stretch of the river but also very busy. Other canoes as well as motor boats are everywhere.

Good fun and recommended.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank AnthonyD280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews