We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest View & Heavy on the Charm!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Roque-Gageac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Belle Etoile
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Greatest View & Heavy on the Charm!!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this great little hotel for 3 nites in May 2013. I specifically requested a double facing the river and that is exactly what I got - total Charm with a Capital C! We ate at the restaurant (make reservations by the day before-- at the very least) one night - it was superb. Our room had a huge bathroom with a large bathtub - always a plus with me. This hotel is on the street that parallels the river and cannot be in a better location. The employees were all very friendly and helpful - from the check in to the restaurant. Room was cleaned every day and minimal english on tv.

We had considered staying in Sarlat, which is much bigger than LaRoque-Gageac. We were so glad to have chosen this little town as it provided a brief respite from all the hubbub of a slightly bigger 'medieval town'.

This hotel is old world but somewhat renovated - no elevator. The locale is the biggest plus. Try to take a walk up the steps by the post office to check out the church higher up the 'cliff'. The caves are now closed so you won't be able to see them (Troglodyte Fort at La Roque Gageac). Parking is free - once you register with the hotel they will give you a paper for the dash so you can come and go for free. This is definitely a benefit as parking is at a premium in this little town.

We also rented a canoe for 3 hours and floated down the Dordogne - which we highly recommend if you have time. We booked with the company right across the street - approximately 38 euros. We floated down the river and they picked us up on the hour later.

We used this hotel as our base in order to visit Chateaunaud and Lascaux II Caves at Montignac.

Room Tip: request a room facing the river - well worth the extra expense if you can do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    51
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
18
140
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights here. The hotel is charming and comfortable, with everything you need. We loved the outlook over the Dordogne. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We had dinner - the 31 euro menu- and it was remarkable value for an elegant, beautifully prepared set of dishes, served in a very pretty dining room. The dessert, the iced soufflé, was as good as anything we have had on our travels. La belle etoile is a great place to stay to explore this part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RubyHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
296 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spent a total of 6 nights at this hotel. Our room was a great value at 55 EUR per night. The room was large-ish, the bed comfortable, and the staff very professional. The walls are thin and we heard sounds from the ajacent room but it was not a problem for us.

From this location we visited Sartat, Les Eyzies, Beynac, Montignac, Lascaux II, and other small villages in the region. On a day trip from here we also saw St. Cirq Lapopie and Grotte du Pech Merle.

We had a lovely dinner in the restaurant one night--the staff in the restaurant is excellent and hard-working. We ate breakfast at the hotel one morning but for other days we opted for pastry and coffee at a local boulangerie down the street.

We would recommend this hotel and stay here on a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have now stayed here three times in four years. It was encouraging, after the first time, to be remembered by the staff, who are really friendly and helpful. Our room was unremarkable but large and comfortable and had everything we needed. It also had a lovely view of the river Dordogne. The restaurant is superb!! We enjoyed delicious food in elegant surroundings with excellent service. We live for a part of the year in France and so, happily, we can continue to visit Hotel La Belle Etoile at regular intervals. Glad to see the hotel now has 3 stars. I could enthuse some more but Michael D has said it all in his review!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river is favourite. The hotel "begins" one floor up from the pavem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, Ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel is just the best we have experienced in France outside Paris ( we are not speaking about the ultra expensive category ) and an amazing bargain and value in every way. The hotel is owned and managed by a husband and wife team. The hotel is located on the one main street and one parks in the large public lot. The hotel gives you a parking permit for the lot. The wife of the team meets you at the desk and manages the hotel proper. The service is quite good. The rooms, especially the suite, are large for a two star and all overlook the wonderful Dordogne River, and are quite nice, clean, larger than the usual two star, with good bathroom, etc. There is a perfect terrace area between the two sections of the hotel to have an afternoon cocktail or wine with cheese etc and watch the riverboats go by. The topper, however, is the restaurant. The ambience is one of a very expensive French restaurant, with nice tablecloth, paintings on the walls, and just an atmosphere of very high quality. The food was outstanding and at least when we were there the service by our young waiter was perfect. The husband owner is the chef, and one will sometimes meet him as he comes by to check on things for you. Then you get the check and find out this amazing French restaurant 4 course meal in a great atmosphere came to 30 euro ( sans the wine ) !! To conclude, I can only say that this is an absolute must for any traveler to the Dordogne and even for just one night and dinner it would be a real high point of any trip to France. The village of course is gorgeous and doing a canoe trip together plus the hotel experience makes for just a perfect 24 hr event in that area.

Mike and Paula D
Sacramento, Ca

Room Tip: The suite is easily worth the small extra cost, although all the rooms I believe overlook the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had the suite over the dining room, which was very comfortable and well worth the reasonable price premium. The hotel is beautifully situated, clean and well-serviced by the staff. The dining room is exquisite, and is matched by the quality of the food. Breakfast is unexceptional - a standard French buffet. Overall, highly recommended.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tardx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Can't believe this hotel is only rated as a 2 star. We stayed 3 nights and at the prices quoted decided to stay in the suite. The room was enormous (especially by French standards), it was more like 2 rooms. It was clean and comfortable and even though the hotel is by the road, there wasn't any noise. The service friendly and relaxed and make sure you eat at the restaurant, the food was sensational (we also noticed the kitchen was absolutely spotless).

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie6362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Roque-Gageac
3.2 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
197 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel l'Esplanade
Hotel l'Esplanade
#1 of 3 in Domme
272 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Perigord
Hotel Le Perigord
#2 of 4 in La Roque-Gageac
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
558 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance
4.8 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Belle Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Belle Etoile

Property: Hotel La Belle Etoile
Address: le Bourg, 24250 La Roque-Gageac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > La Roque-Gageac
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Belle Etoile 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
La Belle Etoile Hotel
Hotel La Belle Etoile La Roque-Gageac, France - Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing