We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the river”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel L'auberge des Platanes
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
San Leandro CA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great view of the river”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great location on the River, parking next to the bar and very inexpensive rooms. That said, when they saw our disappointment with the room they had selected for us, they offered to upgrade us for a reasonable price...the result was a very spacious room with a great balcony overlooking the river (see pic). The bar and restaurant downstairs were convenient and provided a comfortable place to relax, but with the balcony and a bottle of wine I didn't spend much time downstairs. We originally tried to book a room at the Hotel La Belle Etoile...unfortunately, they were full (this two months before we left the states). But we did manage to have one dinner there, and it was a wonderful experience..one of the best meals of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byoung3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    36
    17
    18
    28
See reviews for
30
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is just a review of the restaurant. We stopped for lunch on a canoeing trip & liked the look of the terrace. We hadn't checked the menu though & after we'd sat down found that there wasn't much that appealed to any of us.

The waiters were friendly but the food was awful! The only completely dud meal we experienced on this trip.

We all picked salads apart from my son who had a steak with salardaise potatoes. The steak was fine but the potatoes were cooked in old oil & were soggy & unpleasant.

I had a Gesier salad & really didn't want to eat it when it arrived just from looking at it. The gesiers had been ladled onto the lettuce with a dollop of grease that had congealed underneath. The salad ingedients were all old & bruised. My daughter's smoked salmon salad smelled of fish & not in a nice way. My wife had a salad Nicoise which should have been a safe bet but was again poor with a mean portion of tuna & chewy watery rice.

Not cheap either - yet it was packed! I'd always understood that the French wouldn't put up with this sort of thing too.

Don't go here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sidneycarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Roque-Gageac hotels

Dorset
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We arrived to find a friendly waiter immediately help us put our bicycles away - we were on a cycling holiday of the area. Our room was a little lacking - the light bulb in the toilet didn't work, the wall paper is peeling off the wall in places and the bed covers were old with ripped stitching, but it was clean. The first meal we had wasn't very pleasant - it was only a salad but it was 'watery' with poorly drained rice in a salad nicoise which shouldn't have rice. The next evening we did rather better with a set menu of 3 courses. I enjoyed the walnut cake but expect it was not made on site. The waitress each morning was very pleasant with a smile and always wanting to help.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southener57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I'm only reviewing the restaurant because we didn't stay at the hotel. We ate here every day when we stayed for a week in June, and thought it was fab. The food was great - we had quite a variety off the menu, eg the confit de canard, salad perigoud, delicious omlettes plus some of the yummy deserts (strawberry tart for example) and we enjoyed every mouthfull. It was a lovely place to eat too just overlooking the river, and the service was great. We had a very nice waiter who served us all week, and the staff (including monsieur le patron) were friendly and really welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliaread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This review is only for the restaurant.....DO NOT EAT HERE! Rude service; the food was literally not edible.....canned peas and carrots that were coated with a sugary sauce and meat that I could not chew and had to spit back out on my plate. No refund was given.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We only tried the restaurant - overprice and boring food and quite rude service. Luckily we didn't stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MADK100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLE
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

I reserved a room here for 2 nights 2 months in advance. At first glance the room seemed okay and we went out for the evening. When we got back, the owner came running after us and informed us we had to leave the night - it turns out an old friend was coming into town and he wanted to give his friend our room. As an alternative, he offered we could stay in his "house 400 meters down". We walked down the street and found ourselves a different hotel for the next night, but still stayed there that night.
Looking a little closer at the room, we saw tons of bugs swarming around the lights and lots of spiders on the ceiling. Instead of a pillowcase the bed sheet was folded over it, leaving the mattress exposed underneath.
We couldn't get out of their fast enough the next morning.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swimCle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Roque-Gageac
1.9 mi away
Hotel Le Perigord
Hotel Le Perigord
#2 of 4 in La Roque-Gageac
153 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Relais des Cinq Chateaux
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Clos Roussillon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance
1.6 mi away
Hotel L'Oustal de Vezac
1.6 mi away
La Treille
La Treille
#3 of 3 in Vitrac
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'auberge des Platanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'auberge des Platanes

Property: Hotel L'auberge des Platanes
Address: le Bourg, 24250 La Roque-Gageac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > La Roque-Gageac
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Roque-Gageac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel L'auberge des Platanes 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel L'auberge des Platanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Auberge Des Platanes La Roque-Gageac, France - Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing