We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best place to stay!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Le Mirador

Spectacular views of the famous village and the across the valley from your own private roof terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular views of the famous village and the across the valley from your own private roof terrace
The house perched above the river with amazing views over the valley Le Mirador with its covered terrace and bedroom windown overlooking the Dordogne and La Roque Gageac
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Spectacular views of the famous village and the across the valley from your own private roof terrace
The house perched above the river with amazing views over the valley
Le Mirador with its covered terrace and bedroom windown overlooking the Dordogne and La Roque Gageac
Breakfast on the covered terrace while you watch the river glide by ... and the balloons!
The house's spectacular location overlooking the Dordogne
Looking from the covered terrace
The view from the lounge
The lounge/dining room opens onto a covered terrace looking over the Dordogne valley.
Lovely bedroom looking over the river to La Roque Gageac.
Looking along the vine-covered pergola form the covered terrace with steps up to the roof terrace.
Attic bedroom with twin beds glorious views.
The kitchen
The kitchen equiped with dishwasher and washing machine
Looking through the cypress trees in La Roque to Le Mirador
Hire a canoe a few hundred yards from the house
Looking back to the house from our favorite restaurant of 8 in the village
Castelnaud,taken from a boat trip a few yards downstream from the house.
Boat trips from the village sail past your holiday house.
Sarlat is only 6 miles away
Looking towards La Malartrie from La Roque
The world heritage site of the Vezere valley is around 15 miles away
The annual village fireworks from La Malartrie
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
La Roque-Gageac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Diniski15
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best place to stay!”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

we loved staying in La Malartie (which is the house attached to the Mirador). The owner was wonderful, very helpful. The accommodations were nice, offering s separate bedroom and bathroom for our college-aged daughter. The bathrooms were okay, nothing special but the rest of the place was lovely. The terrace and balcony could not be beat. Incredible views to the village and over the river. We had breakfast, lunch and happy hour every day on either the upper or lower terrace. Lovely village, close to many wonderful attractions. Crowded during the day but very peaceful mornings and evenings even in peak season.

Date of stay: August 2016
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2016
Great to hear you had a nice time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAJ72
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable house with outstanding view!”
Reviewed August 28, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Le Mirador for 4 nights in August 2015. The view is simply amazing. The house is very comfortable too - the beds are excellent. It has a well equipped kitchen which some of the photos on various websites don't really show off very well. Decent wifi access, and freesat TV giving access to UK channels was also helpful for the kids.

The only minor issue is parking. You can't park particularly close to the house and have to lug the luggage along a path to the house. But having said that, we visited in high season and we did find a place near the Chateau each time we needed to park.

Close to the river and with an easy 5 minute walk into Roque Gageac it really is an amazing place to stay. Quite expensive but it's worth it!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: Parking
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2015
Always nice to hear that someone has had a good holiday.
A note about parking; it is possible to park in front of the house but the ancient public path is really too narrow to happily do it all the time so we recommend that our guests park at either end of this path. At one end you are 50 yards from the front door at the other, below the chateau, you are about 200 yards. These 5 spaces are reserved for us and our neighbours (we only have one neighbour) and no others are allowed access. Parking is free.
Hope this helps.
David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quality of the accomodation & the view
Liked least: It rained for a couple of days but was still a great place to be.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Henry T
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A charming house with breath-taking views of La Roque-Gageac”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I had been to the area before, and will go again, but this time was particularly special.

We stayed for a week in Le Mirador in September, and had a wonderful time. By far the most impressive bit was the balcony and garden terrace, both of which have a panoramic view over the river, the village and the surrounding countryside. The balcony joins a small road by a vine-covered passage, which was dripping with grapes. We had some friends drop in to stay for a night and the garden terrace was perfect for a barbecue.

It's only a few hundred meters to the village. For those less lazy, there's canoeing, great cycle and walking routes and tennis courts, but we spent our time enjoying a few too many glasses of red wine in the restaurants and bars, and several too many pastries in the boulangerie/patisserie.

The house itself was clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed, with a modern kitchen and bathrooms. It was also bigger than we thought it would be from the pictures, which was a nice, and had some beautiful original features.

This is a unique house in a spectacular setting, and we'll definitely consider visiting again in the future.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very romantic house with amazing roof terrace”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

What an amazing place for a holiday in the Dordogne. The location was perfect and the house very comfortable. Best of all was the stunning roof terrace with incredible views of the beautiful village and indeed the whole valley... hard to tear yourself away to explore the many nearby sights. We swam from a lovely pebble beach close to the house and canoed past the house having only walked a few hundred yards to the hire base. We also enjoyed wandering along to the boulangerie in the mornings and eating in two wonderful restaurants in the village.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: roof terrace
Liked least: short walk to the car
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing